We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The rooms were neat and tidy, friendly housekeeping service. We had an all over good stay except for loud neighbors. Had to phone security twice and later phone reception with our complain before we got response for security.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S S
MarkinSA, Public Relations Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello S S Thank you for reviewing our property and specifically the River Resort Chalets. We appreciate you rating the location, sleep quality and cleanliness as highly favourable. We are disappointed that ‘noisy neighbours’ spoiled the tranquil environment for you. This is a challenge we do have especially on weekends. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address this...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 24 February 2015

For a quick weekend away this is fine, the only thing that worries me is the security as while we were there 2 vehicles were stolen and Security at the gate does not seem to really worry about who comes in and what their details are to try prevent this from happening, The casino is very old school and needs...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
MarkinSA, Public Relations Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Stacey R Thank you for reviewing our property. It is great to learn that you had a fun time at the bowling alley. We are equally delighted that you rated our sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service as highly favourable. Thank you. It is regrettable that you found our security not up to standard. However, it must be said...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2015

I really enjoy staying at the Emerald, it is relaxing and close to nature. only problem is i heard the other guest walking and talking outside the room. next i will ask for a quiter room ;). thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jl P
MarkinSA, Public Relations Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello JI P It is always great to receive feedback from our guests. Thank you. The River Resort lends itself to a family, self-catering environment with stand-alone chalets set in a tranquil location on the banks of the Vaal River. On occasions we do have guests walking to their chalets after a late night in our casino or after dining...

Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We held our conference at The Emerald Hotel. The service we received was excellent and the Banqueting Admin Manager, Marguerite Gelderman, was very helpful and assisted us with all the requirements of the delegates. We will definitely consider The Emerald Hotel for upcoming events.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IRoos4884
MarkinSA, Public Relations Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello IRoos4884 Thank you for this positive review on Tripadvisor. Marguerite is an example of the service ‘Gold Standard’ that we set for all of our staff. I am very happy to pass along your compliment to Marguerite and hope to be of service again when you choose us to host your next conference. Greg Soutter Operations Executive

Reviewed 20 February 2015

Thanks to every member of your staff who made a strainous period seem simple. Special thanks to Ellen,Moses +3 others and Craig. I drove you crazy most of times but you responded calmly . I cannot remember every name of people that made my work simpler from porters, reception, the guy at the swimming pool allowed me to relax longer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morufe
MarkinSA, Public Relations Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Morufe Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Emerald Resort & Casino. I’m pleased that your planning session went so well. Our staff are there to make your life easier and to ensure that all events are well managed and happen seamlessly. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff...

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We had the best time. The staff was friendly. The chalet was very clean. I can recommend the River Resort to any one. There is a lot to do for the Adults and the Kiddies and some adults turn into kids again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W B
MarkinSA, General Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello W B Thank you for this Tripadvisor review. We appreciate the feedback. We pride ourselves on the numerous activities available to the entire family at the Resort. Yes, we understand that sometimes even adults can feel like kids going on an adventure. Greg Soutter Operations Executive

Sasolburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2015

A big thank you to Cel-Marie & Ellen for always going out of their way to accommodate us, your Resort & hotel is really value for money & the customer service received from the ladies is out of this world. THANK YOU

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VanHeerden123
MarkinSA, General Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello VanHeerden123 Thank you for this review, we appreciate compliments and feedback. This is the type of service that all of our staff at Emerald Resort & Casino aim for. We will certainly pass along your compliment to Cel-Marie and Ellen. Greg Soutter Operations Executive

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 29 January 2015

I travelled down from Johannesburg for a day visit to the Emerald Restort and Casino not expeting much but was I surpised. It has been a long time since I have experienced service like that. The restaurant was perfectly run, the food excellent and the service from the staff was exceptional. I do wish I had more time to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ettken01
MarkinSA, General Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Ettken01 Many thanks for the complimentary review that you posted with regard to your trip to Emerald Resort & Casino. We look forward to you spending some additional downtime with us. Greg Soutter Operations Executive

Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2015

My wife and I just love traveling... We try and spend every weekend away... What an AMAZING weekend we have just lived at The Emerald Resort !!! Whilst it may not have the Glitz of Sun City... The Resort and Entertainment Offered are more than one could wish for... The Game drive, The Aquadome, The Games Area, The Vaal River...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick E
MarkinSA, General Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Rick Thank you for taking the time to post this review to TripAdvisor. This is the service Gold Standard that we set for ourselves and are heartened when our visitors recognise and appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again. Greg Soutter Operations Executive

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2015

I would like to thank the Emerald Resort & Casino's Banqueting team and staff, for a wonderful and exceptional experience we received this weekend. My daughter's 13th Birthday was a HUGE success thanks to the cleanliness of the outside area, toilet facility's being clean, security keeping a watchful eye over the children near the river, the Boma and the Bonfire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordynmo
MarkinSA, General Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Clive & Cerise Thank you for the positive feedback. This is appreciated. Greg Soutter Operations Executive

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
234 reviews
12.8 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 8 in Vanderbijlpark
47 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 24 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 049 - R1 468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalet rooms are great:)”
 of 5 bubbles yaseenb2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If i were staying again I would stay in the Hotel itself”
 of 5 bubbles bandbhappy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For Couples wanting to be near reception Chalet 004 is perfect”
  • Chalet 004
 of 5 bubbles NAZ312578, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sorry, I did not stay in the hotel. I was a day visitor to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles FransiolemtruP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms close to the pool is a much bette option. It gives you a stunning view of the suuroundings”
 of 5 bubbles Megans2112, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5