We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1 022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,015: English reviews
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Emerald is not what it used to be. there is alot that needs to be done at the chalets with regards to appearance.the roads are of the poorest quality The beds and aircon are really good. views are good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 590sk
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 590sk We are very aware that the roads both inside and outside of our property are in need of attention and we can assure you we are doing everything we can to improve them. We are working closely with the local municipality on the outside road and have already begun the process of improving the internal road. This is...

Reviewed 30 January 2017

The rooms are really nice, spacious and well maintained. The service is however, is shocking. Apart from 1 lady, Lydia whom went out of her way to assist with my booking, nobody else really seemed to care, let alone provide any level of service. Staff talking on the phone ignoring you, barman not knowing what products they serve and lets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Leslie H Thank you for review and feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I apologise for the experience that you had at our resort. This is certainly not the normal way in which the staff conduct themselves. We believe that you, our customer and guest, are our most important asset. I will take your comments to the various department heads...

Midrand
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Place was excellent with good service and environment. An ideal place to relax with a variety of facilities. Maintenance and upkeep is very good.This relates to hotel only. Chalets need maintenance and update.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 349jn
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 349jn Thank you for your review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to host you and I'm pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much at the hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your complimentary Passport to Leisure and breakfast? The chalets are in the process of being upgraded, but due to the size of...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Excellent self-catering, with so many facilities to keep you busy the whole time. Game drives. Zoo. Water slides. Rock climbing. Putt putt. Tenpin bowling. Casino. Dam. Walks. Plenty restaurants. Day spa

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100sjs
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 100sjs Thank you for your review and rating us so highly. You've nailed the experience in one sentence! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Adventure Awaits!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We had an awesome stay everything was as expected, the place is very beautiful and the shuttle service is very efficient. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff are all friendly.Will recommend this place to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 219zanelem
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 219zanelem Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to host you. Thank you too for your complimentary mentions of the staff and facilities, I will pass your comments onto them as they too appreciate all the feedback. I...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 28 January 2017

The overall experience from booking , checking in/out , suttle service and bush lodge facilities were great.My children had fun at the aquadome and zoo.The bushlodge lodge environment was tranquil and relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomafa
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Nomafa Thank you for your review and rating Emerald Resort & Casino the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that you and the kids had a wonderful experience at Emerald Resort & Casino. As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal, we certainly cater to the entire family. Our Bush Lodges are indeed the ultimate in...

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The stay was not bad overall , the passport to leisure offers good value especially for the kids with the Animal world and the Aquadome was fun. A few problems with the unit . No place to braai if it rains , only one parking bay for a 4 sleeper . Our TV and remote also not great. But all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcdv2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello jcdv2017 Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased that you and the family had a pleasant experience at Emerald Resort & Casino and felt like you received good value for your money. In future, should you require additional parking, we ask that you contact reception as they will be able to arrange and look after all...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We really enjoyed our weekend at emerald and will definately be back. The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to help you. It is afforadable with all the extras they give to you. If you get a chance take a shittle with them as the drivers are very friendly and eager to help you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbC1389SG
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello cbC1389SG Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal we certainly cater to the entire family. Thank you too for making mention of the staff and their friendly service, I will certainly pass your compliments on to them. The complimentary shuttle is always...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 24 January 2017

It is a beautiful, relaxed place just for family time. I will definitely be visiting soon. The parking something has to be done about it, it is very awkward when pulling in and out. Best place because it is not to far.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 872vs
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 872vs Thank you for rating Emerald Resort & Casino the maximum on TripAdvisor. If on your future visit you require alternate parking please do contact our reception staff and they’d be happy to assist. We pride ourselves on being able to cater to the entire family and offer so much for everyone to see and experience. I hope that...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I was not pleased with the presentation of the chalet at river resort upon entrance and after cleaning on Saturday morning. the floors in the corners were absolutely dusty and the couches were torn. This is not the service expected when paying R1580 per night. Expected satisfaction on cleanliness is vital. The Breeze restaurant had absolutely appalling service from the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shivarm2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello shivarm2017 Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback is appreciated. I apologise that the chalets and Breeze Restaurant did not meet your expectations or our normal high standards. Your comments will be passed on to the responsible management teams and each item will be addressed. I do hope that we will see you again soon and that...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
244 reviews
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.4 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 8 in Vanderbijlpark
58 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 24 in Vanderbijlpark
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 013 - R1 539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always check with the hotel booking staff on pricing which may at times be subjected to change.”
sivajig2017, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is the rating based on the resort not Hotel”
daphnyl2013, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room”
475santoshp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask if the chalets you have booked have been refurbished!”
lesleyb405, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“312 - views are amazing!”
kath-kameleon, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5