We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 949: English reviews
Westville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant at the Emerald hotel offers excellent, affordable buffet meals suitable for families or special occasions. Tables can be booked in advance and the restaurant also has a large deck with tables and chairs overlooking the gardens. There is a wide variety of food on offer consisting of a variety of starters and salads; hot vegetable dishes accompanied by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fransiolemtru P
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Fransiolemtru P Thank you for your wonderful review, it’s very appreciated and we’re pleased that you enjoyed most of the food on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for more.

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place to go ad relax take things of your mind game drive to view animals my kids really enjoyed the stay over something different i wish i could stay abit longer my next will be the hotel. thank u

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mobien
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Mobien Thank you for the great review. Our Game Drives are certainly a very popular attraction and we’re very pleased that you and your kids had a great time. Yes please do try one of our other accommodation offers on your next visit, we’d welcome your feedback!

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Place needs an upgrade. Bathrooms are dirty and old. baths are full of scratches and brown. Showers have shower curtains. Kitchen unit doors are all uneven. Floors are dirty along the walls and skirting boards. Skirting boards not painted. Lounge couches are dirty and torn. Long ques at reception with only one assistant in peak periods.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skA9305EW
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello skA9305EW We apologise that some of the chalets are not up to standard, we are aware and are activating ongoing maintenance around the property, but due to the size of the property this happens in stages. We’re confident that you’ll notice the changes on your next visit.

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an absolutely fantastic time. I was very impressed with the life guards and the overall friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. it was unbelievable peaceful with no noise at the chalets which was excellent to unwind and relax.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank insaafd2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello insaafd2017 We’re so pleased you had such a relaxing break and thank you for your feedback. We will pass your compliments on to the various teams involved. All the best for 2017 and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Will not recommend it to anyone. Chalets needs an upgrade and also need to be maintained. Bedrooms are big but bathrooms needs lots of attention.Some of the Kitchen accessories need to be replaced and lounge furniture needs a good wash!!!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 739pf
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 739pf Thank you for your review and feedback. I apologise that your experience at River Resort did not live up to your expectations or our normal high standards. Please be assured that the chalets are undergoing gradual and continued renovations but on a property the size of ours, it has to happen over time. I would like to invite...

Sasolburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent as always with outstanding service from the time you check in to the time you check out. Only disappointment is leaving the hotel and the friendly staff. Keep up the good service and quality

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaliesham
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello kaliesham Happy New Year! Thank you for your review and rating Emerald Resort & Casino the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor. It is always great to read these reviews that compliment our staff, as they too appreciate the feedback. Never feel disappointed when you leave as it only brings you closer to the time that you can visit us...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing place to stay at, loved the peace and tranquillity, great place to just relax and just chill out. Great facilities for the kids, has the most amazing breakfast. Family and I just Love Emerald.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 17evej
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 17evej Happy New Year! Thank you for your review and rating Emerald Resort & Casino so highly on TripAdvisor. We loved having you and the family here at the Resort. 'Tranquil' is one of the words that our reviewers seem to use fairly often when referring and describing their stay at Emerald Resort & Casino. It is probably because...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i have a nice stay i will definitely come back some where before winter, i get lost around the hotel outside in the street because advert board are not visible my appeal to the hotel mamanager is to make a big advert board to attract people and good direction indication. i have been to Sun city and other casinos but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 984nm
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 984nm Happy New Year! Thank you for your review and rating us the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you and the family had such a good time with us and apologise for the road, we have plans in place to fix it but the rain (although extremely welcome) is hampering plans. We look forward to...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It would be much more clean and comfortable if the rooms has actual stand in showers and not bath tub showers as those are very uncomfortable. Also the rooms should be checked and cleaned regulary as i seen webs and spiders in the corners of the chalet

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2810PQaa
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello U2810PQaa Happy New Year! Thank you for your review and rating Emerald Resort & Casino so highly on TripAdvisor. Your comments and feedback are appreciated. I will take your comments up with the River Resort manager to see if we can implement and correct. We look forward to your return in the near future. Adventure Awaits!

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The chalets are beautiful: the animals are just adorable and overall a very pleasant experience: We will definitely be going again soon. Very relaxing, clean and peaceful: the Aquadome was really full and crowded, however understandably because it was festive season, maybe off season it will be less busy

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fh2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello fh2017 Happy New Year! Thank you for your review and rating us the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor. As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal we certainly cater to the entire family and I'm pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much. Aquadome is always in high demand and can sometimes feel somewhat crowded, but I can...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
227 reviews
12.8 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Vanderbijlpark
46 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 23 in Vanderbijlpark
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 072 - R1 153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sorry, I did not stay in the hotel. I was a day visitor to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles FransiolemtruP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms close to the pool is a much bette option. It gives you a stunning view of the suuroundings”
 of 5 bubbles Megans2112, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I can only vouch for bush lodges as I haven't stayed at hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 812mjacobs, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“look at other establishments in the area - couldnt be worse ...”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwi_Dave_B, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“really great for family holiday. the aquadome is a gem for kids.”
 of 5 bubbles 191rememberr, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay