We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 19 January 2017

the place is great... Receptionist very friendly. Restaurant food is very nice. its a nice break away for family. Kids have a lot to do. we are hoping to go back very soon. company team building sessions would also be done perfectly

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bn2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello bn2017 Thank you for your review and the compliments. It is appreciated. I am very pleased that you and the family had a particularly good time away at Emerald Resort & Casino. Thank you too for making mention of our receptionist, we will pass along your comments to the entire department. There is certainly many entertainment options available for...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Your tarred road is finished, there's no more tarred road. Please fix it because your resort is on my top priorities. If the Municipality is involved, make us have imputs. A booklet where we write in might help.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 960nsm
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 960nsm Thank you for your review and rating us so highly. I am very pleased that Emerald Resort & Casino is at the top of your priorities. I apologise that certain sections of the road leading to and within the property are a bit worn. The internal road will be upgraded soon and we have reported the external road...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Emerald is a very nice place; must say me & my family enjoyed our stay. Its a perfect place fir family outing; my kids loved everything from Animal Planet; Game Drive & Aquadome. Well done Emerald for making our stay a memorable family outing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 676ym
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 676ym Thank you so much for your kind words, I’m so pleased you all had a great time at Aquadome and Animal World, our very own zoo. The Game Drives are always spectacular when paired with our knowledgeable guides and of course Aquadome is a world of fun on its own. Thank you so much for sharing your adventure...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Safari-like atmosphere. Peace and tranquility a stones throw away from the busy Johannesburg life. A place for the whole family. This is definitely not must last visit. Friendly staff from the security gate, reception, cleaning personnel and general maintenance staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinhP9362VN
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello martinhP9362VN Thank you so much for highlighting our good points, we really appreciate it! I’m pleased you had a great time and that our staff were available and friendly whenever you needed them. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Overall a good experience. We will return. My only complaint is that another guest was offered a better rate per night when checking in for the same package. I booked online on the Emerald website. Other than that we had a great time - wish we stayed longer to take advantage of all the activities .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cobusr2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello cobusr2017 You may have received a slightly different rate as there are a few different accommodation specials and deals running at the same time, we’re pleased you had a great experience with us. It’s a great idea to spend a bit more time with us because we do have so much on offer – great thinking! We will be...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Positives: The facilities cater to all age groups. It is close to JHB. Very good variety of activities for everyone. Negatives: Bad roads on the premises. Would like it if people were not allowed to drink alcohol IN the pools. Some Halaal food options would be nice Overall a very good experience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank r00kshanac
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello r00kshanac Thanks for your great feedback. We will soon be upgrading our section of the road within our property but unfortunately the outside road belongs to the municipality. We agree that alcohol should not be allowed to be drunk within the pools, we’ll manage this internally. In terms of Halaal food we are more than willing to assist –...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My family enjoyed every moment Real value for money!!! The game drive was amazing as the eland followed the vehicle, and all the animals were visible. We will certainly visit again and again. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 411annelier
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 411annelier Our Game Drives are absolutely spectacular aren’t they? It sounds like you had great luck with good animal sightings. We are also constantly complemented on the quality of our guides who undoubtedly make the experience extra special. There’s lots more to see and do at our Resort so we hope that your next visit isn’t too far away!

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Excellent service from the staff, the shuttles service is excellent, we stayed in room 16 needs a bit of better cleaning as the basin in the toilet at the bottom was dirty, the toilet was also not working properly. On the whole the problems were too few to really complain we had a wonderful time will come back again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 838ba
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 838ba Thank you so much for your honest feedback. Please know that no request is too big or too small and we’d have happily called our maintenance and cleaning team to come and assist. If you are not satisfied with any part of your stay please do call upon one of our team members to assist – we are...

Midrand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

A lovely clean accommodation. Shuttle services on time. So many things to do at the resort itself so little time. Excellent family holiday, relaxed time away. Great place! Love it! Will definitely be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sivmaist
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello sivmaist We’re so glad that you and the family had time to refresh and revive as that’s one of our main aims for any visitor to the Resort. On your next visit I’m sure you’ll explore those leisure activities that you may not have had time for on your last visit. We hope that we will see you and...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 16 January 2017

It has been a very interesting stay for my family at the river resort. Being to the animal world has been an awesome experiences for my family when watching the different kinds of animal. Wonderful!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7920WWmm
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello M7920WWmm Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that you and the family enjoyed yourselves so much at Emerald Resort & Casino. Animal World is indeed a popular destination for many of our guests as there aren't too many resorts (locally) that can boast their very own game farm and...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
234 reviews
12.8 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 8 in Vanderbijlpark
47 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 24 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 049 - R1 468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalet rooms are great:)”
 of 5 bubbles yaseenb2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If i were staying again I would stay in the Hotel itself”
 of 5 bubbles bandbhappy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For Couples wanting to be near reception Chalet 004 is perfect”
  • Chalet 004
 of 5 bubbles NAZ312578, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sorry, I did not stay in the hotel. I was a day visitor to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles FransiolemtruP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms close to the pool is a much bette option. It gives you a stunning view of the suuroundings”
 of 5 bubbles Megans2112, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5