We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The overall experience from booking , checking in/out , suttle service and bush lodge facilities were great.My children had fun at the aquadome and zoo.The bushlodge lodge environment was tranquil and relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomafa
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Nomafa Thank you for your review and rating Emerald Resort & Casino the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that you and the kids had a wonderful experience at Emerald Resort & Casino. As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal, we certainly cater to the entire family. Our Bush Lodges are indeed the ultimate in...

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay was not bad overall , the passport to leisure offers good value especially for the kids with the Animal world and the Aquadome was fun. A few problems with the unit . No place to braai if it rains , only one parking bay for a 4 sleeper . Our TV and remote also not great. But all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcdv2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello jcdv2017 Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are pleased that you and the family had a pleasant experience at Emerald Resort & Casino and felt like you received good value for your money. In future, should you require additional parking, we ask that you contact reception as they will be able to arrange and look after all...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our weekend at emerald and will definately be back. The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to help you. It is afforadable with all the extras they give to you. If you get a chance take a shittle with them as the drivers are very friendly and eager to help you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbC1389SG
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello cbC1389SG Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal we certainly cater to the entire family. Thank you too for making mention of the staff and their friendly service, I will certainly pass your compliments on to them. The complimentary shuttle is always...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a beautiful, relaxed place just for family time. I will definitely be visiting soon. The parking something has to be done about it, it is very awkward when pulling in and out. Best place because it is not to far.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 872vs
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 872vs Thank you for rating Emerald Resort & Casino the maximum on TripAdvisor. If on your future visit you require alternate parking please do contact our reception staff and they’d be happy to assist. We pride ourselves on being able to cater to the entire family and offer so much for everyone to see and experience. I hope that...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was not pleased with the presentation of the chalet at river resort upon entrance and after cleaning on Saturday morning. the floors in the corners were absolutely dusty and the couches were torn. This is not the service expected when paying R1580 per night. Expected satisfaction on cleanliness is vital. The Breeze restaurant had absolutely appalling service from the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shivarm2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello shivarm2017 Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback is appreciated. I apologise that the chalets and Breeze Restaurant did not meet your expectations or our normal high standards. Your comments will be passed on to the responsible management teams and each item will be addressed. I do hope that we will see you again soon and that...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Will recommend this place to friends there's is just two thing they should think about is a smoking area because you can't smoke in the house also when you braai it rained when we where there and it wasn't nice to braai in that weather

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 574med
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 574med Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. Thank you too for your recommendation to your friends, we're sure that they will enjoy themselves. Unfortunately, smoking is prohibited in certain areas, however there are many places at the Resort where one is able to smoke without inconveniencing guests that do not smoke....

Germiston, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really good weekend away, next time will be longer so we can definately see all the facilities. Aquadome was too full and just seemed to be hectic 24/7 Definately a great weekend getaway I would reccommend the venue

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank csN2210TW
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello csN2210TW Thank you for your review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had a great weekend away at Emerald Resort & Casino, we appreciate your feedback and recommendations. Aquadome is indeed a popular destination for locals and 'out of towners' and weekends can seem to be busy but safety, however, is always forefront...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the River Resort for 6 nights...out of season. Peace & tranquillity. My hubby & I stayed at the resort from 14 - 19 January. Excellent service from entering at the boom gates to reception. The drivers of the Shuttles are extremely friendly....I must mention David & Tebogo. We stayed in the 1 bedroom chalet - No. 004. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAZ312578
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello NAZ312578 Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to host you and your husband and I'm pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much at River Resort. I can assure you that your own pots and pans are never needed with us as we like to believe that we...

Kroonstad
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Need to checklist condition of accommodatiion before guests arrive and before they leave and charge for damages and abuse. Chalets beginning to look shabby inside. Need to fix roads....they are ghastly at some places, particularly going to the chalets, big potholes like dongas!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pm794
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello pm794 Thank you for your review and feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I will take your concerns and comments to the chalet management in order for them to be addressed. Please rest assured that we will soon be fixing the roads, but due to the heavy rains the process has been delayed. I would like to invite you back...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Satisfied , family enjoyed the trip and will come again. good price , value, food , entertainment, such a pleasure at the venue. will recommend to all family members. thank you for a lovely fun fulling experience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NishalLochan
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello NishalLochan Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you and the family enjoyed your trip to Emerald Resort & Casino. Thank you so much for highlighting our good points, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon! Adventure Awaits!

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
234 reviews
12.8 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 8 in Vanderbijlpark
47 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 24 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 049 - R1 468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalet rooms are great:)”
 of 5 bubbles yaseenb2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If i were staying again I would stay in the Hotel itself”
 of 5 bubbles bandbhappy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For Couples wanting to be near reception Chalet 004 is perfect”
  • Chalet 004
 of 5 bubbles NAZ312578, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sorry, I did not stay in the hotel. I was a day visitor to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles FransiolemtruP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms close to the pool is a much bette option. It gives you a stunning view of the suuroundings”
 of 5 bubbles Megans2112, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5