We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
Brakpan, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is awesome and very affordably, neat and presentable. The staff is friendly, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon... weekend made.. The River Resort caters for everyone, the braai area is in a perfect location and pool. No regrets at all.. Lettie Dhlamini

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lettiedhlamini
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello lettiedhlamini Thank you for your wonderful review and 5 star rating. The River Resort is such a popular destination with our guests because as you point out, the chalets are very comfortable and have a great braai area for relaxing with family and friends. We also have hotel and Bush Lodge accommodation available which perhaps you can try on...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service all round! Family had loads of fun. Room was clean and spotless. Just a pitty restaurants don't really accommodate on a Sunday. Animal world and Aqua dome was true fun and my little girl loved it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I484MXmp
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello I484MXmp Thank you for the great feedback and 5 star rating. Thank you too for the compliments on how the room was presented to you. I’m not sure what you mean by restaurants not accommodating on a Sunday as all our eateries are fully open every Sunday – perhaps on your next visit you could revisit them. So glad...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although it is a nice place, I think the river resort could do with some touch ups.the floors we're in a very bad state aswell as the bathrooms.also it would be nice for there to be another pool......

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank spD9183LM
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello spD9183LM You’re absolutely right and we are currently undergoing various renovations and upgrades around our property, including the River Resort accommodation. We’re sure you’ll notice a big difference on your next visit and we’d love to have your feedback again. See you soon.

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the weekend was awesome, We were at home away from home, Thank you for warming up out stay, we will definitely visit again. I would love to receive your specials via email address that I have provided

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 626pn
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 626pn We will be happy to keep you informed of our ongoing activities and events which we’d be happy to send you via email or SMS. Please also stay in touch through our website, Facebook page and Twitter account which always has our latest news for your convenience. See you soon!

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall the chalet was neat, only for the toilet and one of the bedroom lights was not working , reported it to reception and it was never fixed. Other then that, would go again and refer it to others.thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanam2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello leanam2017 Thank you for your feedback although we’re disappointed that the lights were not fixed when reported. We will follow this up with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. Apart from that we’re very happy you had a good time and that you’ll pass on your referral to friends and family – thank you so much and we hope to...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Emerald is not what it used to be. there is alot that needs to be done at the chalets with regards to appearance.the roads are of the poorest quality The beds and aircon are really good. views are good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 590sk
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 590sk We are very aware that the roads both inside and outside of our property are in need of attention and we can assure you we are doing everything we can to improve them. We are working closely with the local municipality on the outside road and have already begun the process of improving the internal road. This is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are really nice, spacious and well maintained. The service is however, is shocking. Apart from 1 lady, Lydia whom went out of her way to assist with my booking, nobody else really seemed to care, let alone provide any level of service. Staff talking on the phone ignoring you, barman not knowing what products they serve and lets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Leslie H Thank you for review and feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I apologise for the experience that you had at our resort. This is certainly not the normal way in which the staff conduct themselves. We believe that you, our customer and guest, are our most important asset. I will take your comments to the various department heads...

Midrand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Place was excellent with good service and environment. An ideal place to relax with a variety of facilities. Maintenance and upkeep is very good.This relates to hotel only. Chalets need maintenance and update.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 349jn
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 349jn Thank you for your review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to host you and I'm pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much at the hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your complimentary Passport to Leisure and breakfast? The chalets are in the process of being upgraded, but due to the size of...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent self-catering, with so many facilities to keep you busy the whole time. Game drives. Zoo. Water slides. Rock climbing. Putt putt. Tenpin bowling. Casino. Dam. Walks. Plenty restaurants. Day spa

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100sjs
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 100sjs Thank you for your review and rating us so highly. You've nailed the experience in one sentence! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Adventure Awaits!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an awesome stay everything was as expected, the place is very beautiful and the shuttle service is very efficient. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff are all friendly.Will recommend this place to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 219zanelem
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 219zanelem Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to host you. Thank you too for your complimentary mentions of the staff and facilities, I will pass your comments onto them as they too appreciate all the feedback. I...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
234 reviews
12.8 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 8 in Vanderbijlpark
48 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 24 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 049 - R1 468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalet rooms are great:)”
 of 5 bubbles yaseenb2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If i were staying again I would stay in the Hotel itself”
 of 5 bubbles bandbhappy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For Couples wanting to be near reception Chalet 004 is perfect”
  • Chalet 004
 of 5 bubbles NAZ312578, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sorry, I did not stay in the hotel. I was a day visitor to the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles FransiolemtruP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms close to the pool is a much bette option. It gives you a stunning view of the suuroundings”
 of 5 bubbles Megans2112, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5