We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$84*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Emerald Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1 022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,015: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed at the Emerald and it lived up to our high expectations. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and there is plenty of common areas to relax. We ate at both the Breeze and High Stakes restaurants again and every meal was excellent. We were especially impressed by the quality of very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Kevin S Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. You have nailed it on the head! Just a mere 45 minutes from Johannesburg and you enter the adventure filled world of Emerald Resort & Casino. I am pleased, that once again, your expectations of what's on offer at the Resort did not...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Had a very relaxing 2 hour boat cruise with well prepared and tasty buffet lunch, good service plus singing entertainer. Will definitely recommend the Liquid Lounge boat cruise, which is inside the Emerald resort, but operate totally independant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judim965
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Thank you judim965 As you mentioned Liquid Lounge is an independent business that operates from our property on the Vaal River. We are pleased that you enjoyed it! We hope see you at Emerald Resort & Casino soon. Adventure Awaits!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Emerald Resort and Casino was absolutely amazing! The hotel and facilities were excellent, the staff were extremely helpful and the ambiance was relaxed! I would highly recommend anyone to take their whole family to the Resort. The aquadome was brilliant - please take your family and have a wonderful holiday!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath-kameleon
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello kath-kameleon Thank you for your review and rating us the full 5 stars on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for highlighting our good points and your recommendations, we really appreciate it! I’m pleased you had a great time and that our staff were available and friendly whenever you needed them. I hope that you managed to go for a...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The streets need to be fixed, especially the ones heading towards the animal world and the safari resort. The potholes are extremely unbearable. You should also consider having a restaurant at the resort.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 266jpm
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 266jpm Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Your comments are noted. I apologise that certain sections of the road leading to and within the property are a bit worn. Although very welcome, the rain has not helped, but the internal road will be upgraded soon. There are many restaurants and fast food takeaways located at the...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Chalet bathrooms needs some improvement, their condition is bad especially the bath and the shower. Out going door that bottom pin that suppose to hold the other side of the door from opening when is looked was broken

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bsn2017
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback is always appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations or our normal high standards, thank you for alerting me. The chalets are in the process of being upgraded, but due to the size of the resort and all the recent rain, this is taking longer than expected....

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We had a good stay. Rooms are really lovely and had everything we needed. But I was not very impressed with the breakfast - haddock was served and I am sure that there was something wrong with it - it ruined breakfast for me!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N6598UZmd
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello N6598UZmd Thank you for your review and rating us the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Emerald Resort & Casino. Please rest assured that the quality of food served at Emerald Resort & Casino has passed the highest standards in quality control. I apologise if you found the haddock not to...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The accommodation was absolutely disgusting. Floors were dirty. Maintenance is obviously non-existent! Toilet was leaking. Bathroom sink was leaking. Tiles were cracked, broken and filthy. I couldn’t wait to get out of there! Really was such a disappointing weekend away! We need to get away so desperately too as it was a year exactly following the passing away of my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 805kn
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello 805kn Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations or our normal high standards. Please be assured that we will take this review to management to implement corrective action. River Resort is currently in the process of receiving a facelift, but due to the size of the property this...

Johannesurg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I wonder if the ruling party is responsible for the administration of Emerald. The roads are hazardous, the cottages are tired and need an up grade. It would appear that the owners or shareholders don't re-invest into the resort. how sad this use to be a very nice resort. I will not return and I will not recommend the resort.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcom R
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Malcom R Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations or our normal high standards. We are aware that the roads are in need of attention and we can assure you we are doing everything we can to improve them and have already begun the process, but recent rains...

Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Nice and excellent place to relax. Excellent staff service. WiFi cool. I always stay at the resort anytime I am visiting the vaal for the past four years. I must say the recent renovations are very welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephenstiga
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Stephenstiga Thank you for your review and rating us the maximum 5 stars on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Emerald Resort & Casino. It has always been a pleasure hosting you over the past four years. Thank you so much for highlighting our good points, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Wanted a nice comfortable upmarket place to stay for 2 nights with my 10yo son while he was racing in VNG and at R1000 per night this should have hit the mark. This reminded me of a cheap rate holiday camp in the UK in the 70s. Grotty, no facilities, not even a sachet of coffee or bin bag provided...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7685TNtimb
Laurent P, Manager at Emerald Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Hello Malcom R Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations or our normal high standards, thank you for alerting me. Please may I ask that should any of our guests not receive perfect service that they approach our managers on duty. They are enabled to assist and will happily...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vanderbijlpark
11.2 km away
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
#3 of 4 in Vereeniging
244 reviews
5.6 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
11.4 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
0.4 km away
Aark Guest Lodge
Aark Guest Lodge
#1 of 8 in Vanderbijlpark
59 reviews
3.8 km away
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
12 on Vaal Drive B&B
#1 of 24 in Vanderbijlpark
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Frikkie Meyer Blvd, Vanderbijlpark 1900, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vanderbijlpark
Price Range: R1 005 - R1 476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Safari Hotel Vanderbijlpark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always check with the hotel booking staff on pricing which may at times be subjected to change.”
sivajig2017, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is the rating based on the resort not Hotel”
daphnyl2013, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room”
475santoshp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask if the chalets you have booked have been refurbished!”
lesleyb405, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“312 - views are amazing!”
kath-kameleon, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$84* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$87
PricelineUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$84
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates