We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emerald Resort & Casino

Share
Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (23)
Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (12)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
When you come to the Emerald Resort & Casino - part of the world famous Caesars Entertainment Group based in Las Vegas - you come on an adventure. Situated on a lush private estate on the banks of the Vaal River, just 45 minutes drive from OR Tambo International Airport, perfect for short breaks, finest dining and the up-close drama of a game drive at our Animal World. Our conference facility is the only venue in the area with the ability to seamlessly host sessions for anywhere between 3 and 3000, the only venue to be trusted to host an event for the United Nations. Our magnificent estate gives us the ability to offer and deliver an unrivalled range of three and four star accommodation and teambuilding activities. We are your premier entertainment and business destination in the Vaal.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Casino and Gambling
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
O.R.Tambo Intl Airport78 km
Lanseria Airport78 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (1 144)
Filter reviews
1 137 results
Traveller rating
461
365
170
80
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
461
365
170
80
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal world aqua dome bush lodge adventure golf ten pin bowling putt putt animal park wall climbing shuttle service high stakes the river self catering enjoyed my stay aquadome animals kids game
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1 137 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Everything was excellent- from the show ( Vusi Nova and other guests who performed )to the food, accommodation etc.Really-really enjoyed my stay will definitely make use of Emerald again :)Thank you once again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adventure32407355789
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the beautiful casino's which is based around the Vaal River.It has a lot of water features, which are exciting for everyone especially for children Aquadome being the place of attraction.Down side is that it has fewer restaurants, Wimpy being the commonly known one.Their...More

1  Thank Themba M
Response from Laurent_Pacariz, General Manager at Emerald Resort & CasinoResponded 6 days ago

Hello Themba M Thank you so much for your complimentary review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Aquadome is certainly a great attraction for many of the visitors to Emerald Resort & Casino and there is so more too! Putt Putt, Animal World, Game...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor service and surly staff made the stay less enjoyable. The hotel especially the thatch roof could do with maintenance. The bed was very comfortable and our room nice and quiet with a nice hot shower and good garden accessMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tour20954082709
Response from Laurent_Pacariz, General Manager at Emerald Resort & CasinoResponded 6 days ago

Hello Tour20954082709 Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback is always appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations. Rest assured I will pass on your feedback to the relevant managers but I'm confident that the lack of service was...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome stay ....great game drive staff very accomodaing and knowledgeable , casino staff equally friendly unfortunately didn't have enough time to visit aquadome..... will definitely be back soon thoughMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KAVLIN N
Response from Laurent_Pacariz, General Manager at Emerald Resort & CasinoResponded 1 week ago

Hello KAVLIN N Thank you so much for your complimentary review and rating us so highly on TripAdvisor As the premier leisure and business destination in the Vaal we certainly do cater to everyone. I’m pleased you had a great time at the Resort, everything...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was expecting more from the venue. Our room was the first room from the reception area and the noise of other guests and visitors was overwhelming. The cold water tap in the shower did not work and after numerous attempts I almost ended up...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Odyssey40911485807
Response from Laurent_Pacariz, General Manager at Emerald Resort & CasinoResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Odyssey40911485807 Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback is always appreciated. I apologise that your experience did not match your expectations. Please may I ask that should any of our guests not receive perfect service, or if anything is wrong with their...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hermanus B
5 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Laurent_Pacariz | Property representative |
Hello, yes, day visitors are welcome and we do not charge an entry fee.
1
Vote
selvaganthievijaym
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Laurent_Pacariz | Property representative |
Hello selvaganthievijaym Thank you for the question. The reviews on TripAdvisor are from a personal perspective and experience. Although there are some negative reviews (as all service orientated organisations have), the... More
1
Vote
GeoffG828
6 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Laurent_Pacariz | Property representative |
Hello Geoff, unfortunately, due to health and safety, we do not allow pets at the Resort.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a room facing the river. Rooms on upper level are better as they have a nice view on the river."
Micaplus
23 Jul 2018
Read review
"The Chalets were fit for purpose if you have a bigger family you can request an interlinking chalet."
845natashav
02 Jul 2018
Read review
"The lodge is very quiet, safe and really enjoyable. However, mosquitos thrive in this environment and take..."
abcdef493
29 Dec 2017
Read review
"Try to get a room at the rear overlooking the park down to the river."
tedhands
12 Dec 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$32 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
emerald safari hotel vanderbijlpark
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengVanderbijlpark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing