Premier Hotel Quatermain

Traveller (208)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (18)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
R 1 260
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#26 of 72 hotels in Sandton
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Just 2 km from Sandton City, this hotel features a courtyard with a swimming pool and an award-winning restaurant. All rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a satellite LCD TV. Including free Wi-Fi, all accommodations at Qautermain Hotel in Sandton, Morningside comes with extra long beds and an electronic laptop safe. Some of the rooms and suites have a private balcony. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and on the courtyard terrace with its green parasols. While visitors exercise in the fitness centre, the 24-hour staff can arrange airport shuttles to O.R. Tambo Airport, 27 km away. Free parking is available on site.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

60 West South Road, Sandton 2196 South Africa
377Reviews4Q+A84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 146
  • 53
  • 13
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
VasilyMalygin wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Petersburg, Russia1,146 contribution413 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been to Faircity a year ago, but still remember the place as it was one of the highlights of my whole SA trip.

Given the notorious reputation of the Johannesburg city center we obvously looked for the hotel in one of the suburb. We new close to nothing about the surroundings and frankly did not plan to walk around in the evening, so one of the top criterias of our choise was various public areas of the hotel and walls around it. Faircity has several drawing rooms, library, restaurant, gym, pool and even its own garden. We were at the hotel by 18:00 every day and spent evnings relaxing in one of the places listed above.

The room was quite spacious, and very causy. I can not say it was luxerious - this is not what we was looking to, but it was very nice to be in, to rest in and to prepare yourself for the day in the city.

I liked the attitude of the staff very much. We were welcomed with smiles, tald about the establisment and acompanied to the room (this is need - we would probably get lost trying to find our room for the fist time). All the way we felt personal touch but did not feel annoed.

The price was more then reasanable and I would glaldy re-visit this hotel if ever return to Johannesburg again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMQuat, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear VasilyMalygin, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such great experiences. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ravinder K wrote a review Feb 2020
New Delhi, India3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great property at great location along with a lot of green space, very much relaxing..... Very supportive staff. Confirmable and clean rooms..... Over all if you visit Johannesburg don't miss to stay at this hotel....
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Davidson, Owner at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 09 Mar 2022
Dear Alan, Many thanks for the feedback and for taking the time to let us know, it is so very much appreciated. The positive feedback is vital to us and helps reinforce our endeavours to deliver exceptional customer service. I would however appreciate your feedback on where we fell short on achieving the perfect score and your help in pointing us in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little Oasis in Morningside very soon Peter Davidson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clinton M wrote a review Sept 2021
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was last here in 2008! The Quatermain is still a magnificent hotel - excellent service, beautiful setting and unmatched hospitality. We were only here for 1 night and loved every moment of it. It's a peaceful and serene setting in the hustle and bustle of the Rivona area but it still manages to feel as though you are outside the city. Would definitely return again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Davidson, Owner at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 09 Mar 2022
Dear ClintonM, Many thanks for the feedback and for taking the time to let us know, it is so very much appreciated. The positive feedback is vital to us and helps reinforce our endeavours to deliver exceptional customer service. I would however appreciate your feedback on where we fell short on achieving the perfect score and your help in pointing us in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little Oasis in Morningside very soon Peter Davidson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChrisB wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While the hotel itself is very nice and our stay was pleasant, the experience was let down by very poor back office support.

Unfortunately the website did not send a booking confirmation, leading to a duplicate booking and a double charge on my bank. Six weeks later and I'm still awaiting a refund. Emails to resolve the query get ignored or generic responses are sent.

We actually booked to stay at the Falstaff Hotel and were told, on arrival, that this was shut and we had been moved toe the Quatermain hotel. Not the worst, but disappointing not to have been told.

Wifi is the room in non-existent and the aircon in our room was in desperate need of a service. Shower leaked and the mini bar was broken as well.

The general amenities are great and it seems like a very pretty hotel, overall, but we won't be coming back in a hurry.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simbu Gainer, General Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 03 Feb 2023
Dear Ms Beadle, Please accept my sincerest apologies for the delay in responding to you as I have been away. My team has advised me of the inconvenience you have experienced with regards to a refund due to you. This is very disappointing and is certainly not the standard we aspire to deliver on. Rest assured that I am addressing the relevant department accordingly. I have been notified that the refund was completed. Kindly confirm that the refund was received. The above will be cold comfort to you and for this I would humbly ask that you please accept my sincere apologies on this complete lack of customer centricity. Should you be travelling to Johannesburg in the near future, please feel free to contact me It will be our pleasure to extend to you a one complimentary bed and breakfast stay with us. Sincerely, Simbu Gainer | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim R wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a luxury hostel with dorms and not a four star property. Two chairs by the pool lol and no manager ! Room service is out of chicken and no internet except the lobby. At least i did not have bugs in ny room. The pictures are misleading. The location is very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I don’t know what to tell you in that area. I will book with Marriott Protas hotels next time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RalphGlasgow66 wrote a review Nov 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom105 contributions81 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have recently stayed here for about 16 nights. The room I was allocated was a normal room right at the end of the corridor so it was wonderfully quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room is quite large as is the bathroom and furnished in a fairly traditionally clean and acceptable manner. However one of the problems is that nearly all rooms are quite dark because the of the trees situated immediately outside the window. This makes day occupancy of the room a little depressing and even more so when there is an electricity cut. This happened on a number of occasions during my stay, the hotel claims it is not usually informed and I am inclined to believe them. Government agencies in Johannesburg are not famous for being helpful or efficient. There were also water cuts on occasion. The hotel has a lovely library and lounge bar area in which to relax but unfortunately they decided to clean the carpets in both of those areas one weekend, leaving no where for the residents to relax outside their dark bedrooms. I would have thought that cleaning the carpets in one of the rooms one weekend and in the other room the next weekend, thus leaving one free in which to relax, would have been the normal common sense thing to do but according to the hotel staff, this had never crossed their minds!
The restaurant offers excellent dinner choices and average breakfast service and the hotel has a very helpful shuttle service to safe shopping zones nearby. The staff throughout the hotel are utterly charming and most helpful. Television service is not good, the usual moronic news channels including CNN and lots of low class channels showing action movies suitable for one brain-celled guests. I believe there is a pleasant gym?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jaco S, Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 31 Dec 2014
Dear RalphSingapore66, Thank you very much for providing us such detailed feedback on TripAdvisor, we really do appreciate this. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our quiet and comfortable rooms, being in the peaceful suburb of Morningside we enjoy a relaxed environment. Please accept our apologies for the light in the room not being to your liking, We are very happy to now say electricity cuts will no longer effect your stay due to our newly installed back-up generators. We are sorry the cleaning of our carpets affected your enjoyment of our library and lounge areas, We will address your comments with the affected department. We are also thrilled you enjoyed our restaurant as well as our shuttle service and our friendly staff. We do have a small gym on the property with basic training equipment, If you would like to enjoy a more elaborate array of equipment we will be very happy to arrange your transport to a nearby fully equipped gym. Yours in hospitality Michael M.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yuri M wrote a review Aug 2017
Kenosha, Wisconsin37 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was my fourth stay at the Faircity Quatermain Hotel and all four were great - wonderful service, convenient and safe location, great shuttle service to almost anywhere you want to go, excellent restaurant and bar - cozy and reasonable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaun0010, General Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 17 Aug 2017
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of the Faircity Quatermain Hotel, your comments and feedback are highly appreciated. It is pleasing to note that you always enjoy staying at our hotel. we are delighted to read your wonderful comments about the safe location of our hotel, the excellent service, the great shuttle service as well as the restaurant and bar. I have shared your feedback with the entire team, we look forward to hosting you again when you next visit Sandton. Yours in hospitalty Shaun Wheeler General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CathrynSouthAfrica wrote a review Nov 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa228 contributions147 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I only go to this hotel if I have to - work function or show happening there ( dinner time stories) because it really is awful. Facilities are tired - toilets run, hot plates don’t work etc - but it’s mainly the really lazy awful staff. Arriving for a spectacular show today and the welcome drinks had run out - staff too busy chatting to notice of course. Have to ask rude barman what’s happening - comes back with leftovers and not what was on the menu for the show - crazy - was almost too much effort to get up and so rude. Last time was breakfast and no serving cutlery - won’t ever host a work do there again - it’s embarrassing. No idea how they landed something as lovely as dinner time stories - who fortunately use their own crew and management it seems
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMQuat, General Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 18 Nov 2019
Dear CathrynSouthAfrica Thank you for taking time to share with us your displeasure, I apologise for any inconvenience caused, and assure you of my utmost attention to your concerns. We pride ourselves on service delivery and we may not get it right all the time, I am pleased we get it right most of the time. My Duty Manager has shared with me what transpired yesterday, and I am sure there are many ways this can be avoided in the future. Dinner Time Stories staff and team will be advised and together we will ensure that the service from the lounge to the venue will always be impeccable. I agree with your sentiments in relation to the property looking tired, this is a focus point for 2020, as we have been bought out by Premier Hotels and budget will be provided to do so. Once again our sincere apologies for your poor arrival experience, we are pleased you enjoyed the lunch. Kind Regards Jerod Flaum General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark wrote a review Oct 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa34 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel staff are well trained and I think this hotel offers very good value in a convenient location; rooms are standard but larger than normal. A regular choice for me when in Jhb. Breakfast is good and safe off street parking helps round off the offering
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMQuat, General Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 02 Dec 2019
Dear Valued Guest, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your wonderful review, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards Jerod Flaum General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patel12 wrote a review Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom37 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for a business trip visiting a client in Johannesburg. This hotel would be described as a colonial hotel. The beds in the rooms were comfortable. The staff were always friendly. The breakfast was very good - with a person making eggs for you and a lot of selection of breads, fresh fruit and a variety of juices. A full English breakfast buffet is available. The shuttle service offered by the hotel was really good and staff friendly. It was a good hotel for a business trip to Johannesburg. They had a person named Nelson at the travel desk who took us for a trip around Johannesburg for an additional fee which was very good and informative.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaun0010, General Manager at Premier Hotel Quatermain
Responded 15 Jul 2018
Dear Valued Guest, It's wonderful you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We strive for excellence so we're thrilled you appreciated not only our spacious room and outstanding service, but also our prime location! Your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We have shared your wonderful comments with Nelson our tour operator. We can't wait to host you again soon for another amazing experience! Have a stellar day! Kind Regards Shaun Wheeler General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from LOUISESouthAfrica
SOUTH AFRICA44 contributions15 helpful votes
It is centrally located in the Sandton area. Johannesburg is not a safe area so I suggest you ask the hotel to assist with your sight seeing plans. Another tip is to get the hotel to collect you from the airport. There is a charge but safer to be collected by a reputable company.
Answer from general
Sandton, South Africa
Good Day Kuda N, Thank you for your valued inquiry, we do not have inter-leading rooms but depending on the ages of the children we can place two single beds in one of our suites which are very spacious in the living room. Please advise if you are happy with this. Thank you Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
Мила В asked a question Sept 2014
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Предоставляют ли в отеле переходник для розетки?
Answer from Jaco S
Umhlanga, South Africa17 contributions12 helpful votes
Спасибо за Ваш запрос. Да мы действительно обеспечивают адаптеры в наших комнатах. Пожалуйста, просто просить для адаптера на прилавке регистрации отеля.
Krupa N wrote a tip Feb 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa31 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid it at all costs"
Read full review
Jim R wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don’t know what to tell you in that area. I will book with Marriott Protas hotels next time."
Read full review
Sherrin Davie wrote a tip Dec 2019
Cape Town, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are spacious, however book the Deluxe room if you can."
Read full review
tonio109 wrote a tip Nov 2019
Rustenburg16 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The public rooms & areas are delightfully upmarket & beautifully furnished while the bar is cosy and the outdoor area is idyllic."
Read full review
Bruce G wrote a tip Oct 2019
Moscow, Russia306 contributions106 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I do not think there are 'bad' rooms, but I asked for a central, without too far to walk and received it!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,046 - R 1,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER HOTEL QUATERMAIN - Now R 1 151 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶3̶0̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sandton, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Hotel Quatermain
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Nearby attractions include Roma Jewellers (1.0 km), Ster-Kinekor's Cine Prestige (0.5 km), and Jenna Clifford Designs (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Conveniently located restaurants include Signature Restaurant, The Green Peppercorn, and Pomodoro Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Premier Hotel Quatermain have airport transportation?
Yes, Premier Hotel Quatermain offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Premier Hotel Quatermain offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Premier Hotel Quatermain?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Sandton HotelsSandton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SandtonHotels near Premier Hotel Quatermain
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire