We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Corner Fifth And Alice Streets Sandton, Sandton 2196 South Africa
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$165
Hotels.comUS$164
TravelocityUS$164
PricelineUS$165
Orbitz.comUS$164
eDreamsUS$165
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (503)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (58)

About

#7 of 83 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1430Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 833
  • 405
  • 124
  • 40
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nutim wrote a review 03 Aug
National Harbor, Maryland3 contributions
Checked in after a trip in Kenya, with several days to unwind before a scheduled group tour began July 8. From our first arrival, all staff were welcoming, helpful, and friendly. The food was excellent, especially the extensive breakfast buffet. Special recognition is deserved for Nkosi, Thapelo, and Bruce who served us so well, but also took an interest in who we are as people, not just guests. Highest ratings are deserved, and it must reflect a priority of top management to train staff so well. It will be our top choice for the next time we're in Jo-burg.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floors put distance from the open area on 6th floor, but rooms were well sound-insulated.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that you found it to be a memorable experience and we will certainly share your kind words with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Regards
Read more
Ian M wrote a review Jul 2022
Dereham, null, United Kingdom110 contributions51 helpful votes
Stayed here for work. The room was huge, very comfy and with everything you need as a traveler. I stayed on the 18th floor and the view across the city was brilliant. The food but in terms of breakfast and evening meals was very good and the service provided was attentive, friendly and very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Values Guest Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions. Best regards
Read more
Ron H wrote a review Jun 2022
California110 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights while in Johannesburg. We were originally on the 11th floor but moved to 19th right away due to music or loud noise from a neighbor. They were very good about moving us immediately. Room's were identical and both very nice and well equipped with electric outlets for US, EU, S.Africa and USB's, coffee and whatever is needed. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, menu of cooked items, must be among the best. Nicest part was the staff who let me keep the room until 3 as my flight was not until that evening. That made it much easier for us to visit the mall and return to the room and seemed very nice and respectful. Hotel can be loud in the atrium and when the door was opened but it must be well sound proofed as we did not hear if from the room. Suggest requesting a higher room though as it may be quieter.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: High room might be quiter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest I am pleased that our staff had a personal impact on your time here . Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun. We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
neilkjackson wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
Despite it being not only being a last minute reservation, plus a need for a medium sized conference room the service and welcome was first rate. Each member of staff, from chambermaids through to management ensured we were happy with our stay without being intrusive . Service was spot on and when needs must, room service was amongst the most efficient I have ever experienced . Congratulations to the manager, I believe it is Rob Jasper, for overseeing such a well oiled hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Neil Jackson I am pleased that our staff had a personal impact on your time here and I will ensure that they are recognised for this. Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun. We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best regards
Read more
SandysSafaris wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia33 contributions17 helpful votes
The Sandton Sum is perfectly located for business & leisure travellers. Check in is extremely efficient & friendly. The hotel is physically connected by walkway to the Sandton shopping mall and very close to many good restaurants. The Sandton Sun's in house bar, restaurant & 24hr room service are all fantastic offering delicious food and excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We really appreciate the good feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards
Read more
LondonViaWorld wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom185 contributions107 helpful votes
+1
Lovely big rooms, great food. Had a burger and a salad over 2 nights. Lovely staff. Definitely 80s tastic, but really fun to stay. Got a bit of height nerves looking over the rooms walkway 17 floors up tho. Not good if afraid I’d heights, but was great for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Connects directly to shopping centre shopping mall. Guards on all entrances. Very covid safe.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for this wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Kind regards
Read more
Sol L wrote a review May 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel121 contributions132 helpful votes
A big old-fashioned hotel that knew good days. The reception staff are very kind and professional - a pleasure. The cleaning services in the rooms and in the public areas are good Most service providers in public areas are not encouraged to come to the hotel, there are very notable exceptions. Slow, unresponsive, say okay about requests but do what is normal or comfortable to do. Unfortunately I remembered a very good hotel that something in his service consciousness had disappeared
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: most of the rooms, regardless of their standard, offer the same views of the city
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.
Read more
Neil F wrote a review May 2022
14 contributions7 helpful votes
This is not a five star hotel but more like a three star. There are no branded toiletries the shower gel was like Washington washing up liquid and breakfast order was continually wrong every day of our stay. We didn’t eat in the hotel on an evening so cannot comment on the quality of the food. The bar area is nice but be aware that prostitutes frequent the bar. For a one night stop over it’s fine but any longer look elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I would recommend eating in Nelson Mandela square where there is plenty of good restaurants
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Neil F Thank you for your feedback and for advising us of your experience during your stay with us. Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun. I would therefore like to use this opportunity to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us. Best regards
Read more
Mohammad Reza S wrote a review May 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates453 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
What I Liked : Very well located hotel with spacious lobby and fantastic restaurant. The hotel is a bit old but well maintain. The bathroom was neat and clean. Beds are supper relaxing and provide you a memorable sleep quality. The bath water pressure is one of a kind that I never experienced in any other hotel! You should try. Breakfast is served Ala-Cart by order but with fantastic variety and very generous. Hotel staff, specially front desk and room service are very cooperative and supportive. Specially I should appreciate and be thankful to the front desk manager and her team for helping us to have our rooms as per our trip requirement and changes. What I Disliked: The front desk team are vey cooperative and welcoming, but check-in and any request from the reception is very time taking. We wait lot of time to have our rooms although it was 2 PM , which is a standard check in time. The Business center service is very week. No one there to assist and if you face any problem in the middle of your meeting, you should go all around hotel to find some one! It was the only bad experience we had there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There is no special view for this hotel since it is in the middle of the city
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer. We hope to have you stay again in the near future. Best regards
Read more
199cate wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom97 contributions68 helpful votes
I think if they rated the hotel more realistically it would manage expectations. When you have ever stayed in a 5 star hotel that doesn’t have an iron in every room? It usually takes up to one hour to receive an iron after you have to call for one. Then five minutes after you get it you’re called constantly asking if you’ve finished using it yet. It’s a ridiculous thing for the poor staff to have to deal with, they have to spend so much time chasing irons to take to other guests when this time could be spent more wisely. The room decor is very tacky and clinical and the lighting is bright white like being at the dentist. The ‘mood lighting’ is bright white LED strip lighting, surely someone at this hotel has some idea about ambience and vibes? What some warm soft light bulbs be that difficult to install? The toiletries are unbranded and filled up from giant containers of cheap products. Great for the environment but that’s about it. The shower gel is like washing up liquid, just really bad quality all round. The rooms are always very clean and the coffee machines are good. The room service is good and most staff are really helpful. There are always the most beautiful fresh lilies in the lobby and corridors but maybe they could hold off on the flowers for a while and invest in some basic amenities such as irons!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Jasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun recently and for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back. warm regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$156 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandton sun hotel sandton, sun hotel sandton
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
326
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandton Sun
Which popular attractions are close to Sandton Sun?
Nearby attractions include Jack Friedman Sandton City (0.3 km), Sandton City Shopping Centre (0.1 km), and Auto & General Theatre On The Square (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandton Sun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sandton Sun?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sandton Sun?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandton Sun?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandton Sun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery, Hard Rock Cafe, and The Big Mouth.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandton Sun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sandton Sun have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sandton Sun offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Sandton Sun have airport transportation?
Yes, Sandton Sun offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandton Sun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sandton Sun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.