We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (472)
Room & Suite (168)
Dining (56)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#24 of 72 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1,289Review30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 376
  • 562
  • 219
  • 71
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Hugh J wrote a review 08 Apr
Vienna, Austria17 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is situated in an excellent location and is clean with friendly staff. It can get loud at nights around the pool so maybe avoid the ground floor. I stayed here before and I have the same type of problem. If you have booking or billing query it's impossible to reach the department involved. I called and mailed but no lifts the phone or mails an acknowledgement. Its very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. It is always encouraging to hear feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the management team as a way of improving guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Andrea Hunter guestrelations@balalaika.co.za
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kdeli wrote a review Mar 2024
Agia Paraskevi, Greece1658 contributions186 helpful votes
+1
A very nice Hotel, located 15 minutes walking from Mandela Square (mall).There is a shutlte bus service every half hour from hotel to the center, and vice versa, where is a mall. The sugestion from the people from the hotel was to avoid go there walking, because it is a little bit dangerous. The hotel was one of the cleanest that visited during our trip to the South Africa. The breakfast and the dinner were very satisfying and delicious.The stuff very polite and serviceable. Rooms were comfortable It was really a 4star++ Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: USE THE SHUTLLE BUS TO MOVE IN THE DOWN TOWN
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the management team as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Andrea Hunter guestrelations@balalaika.co.za
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Southmansion wrote a review Mar 2024
Saint Louis, Missouri187 contributions149 helpful votes
Convenient location in Sandton. The hotel is a bit dated. The staff was helpful. Our room was about as far away from the lobby as it could get (this is a much larger hotel than you might imagine). The air conditioner in our room could not keep up so it was a very warm stay. The courtyard/pool area looks lovely, although we didn't have time to enjoy. If you're looking for a budget stay in Sandton, this place is fine.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 12 Mar 2024
Dear Southmansion, We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continually strive to improve our services. Please know that we are actively addressing the issues with the room's condition and the air conditioning to ensure that future guests do not encounter similar problems. We would love the opportunity to make it right for you. If your travels bring you back to the area, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team directly, and we will do our best to provide you with a much-improved experience. Your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us. Thank you for sharing your concerns. Kind Regards Emmah Makgoba Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cuba_304 wrote a review Feb 2024
Windhoek, Namibia29 contributions5 helpful votes
Terrible experience at this hotel after only allowed to check in after 19h00 without being able to provide a reason. Had to wait in lobby for hours and was not even offered a drink. Avoid this unwelcoming place and rather go stay at one of the other, better hotels nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 08 Mar 2024
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review us regarding your previous stay, id like to send my apologies for the inconvenience experienced as I can see this had a negative impact on your stay however I believe that you were not informed about the arrange that was made, It is not our usually practice for arriving guests to be able to only check in after 7pm , however when the enquiry for the accommodation was made the organizer was informed that we can only assist with accommodation if the delegates are will to only check in after 7pm which is when the rooms will be available, these term were accepted by the organizer who made the booking on your behalf I hope this clarifies why you had to check in after 7pm We do look forward to seeing and hosting your at our hotel in the future Kind regards Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tusethom wrote a review Feb 2024
Mpanda, Tanzania8 contributions
The hotel was close to center that means near everything like clubs, resteurants and mall.good staff with full of hospitality make me feels am at home. Room was clean with 24 hours of services so you can order anytime if you want something, they provide two botlles of water per day for free. Car parking was for free too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 14 Mar 2024
Dear tusethom, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It's always our goal to provide exceptional service and create a memorable experience for all our guests, and we're thrilled that we were able to achieve that during your visit. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. Kind Regards Emmah Makgoba Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew B wrote a review Jan 2024
Warriewood, Australia158 contributions91 helpful votes
My family and I had a very memorable 6 night stay at the fabulous Balalaika. This country style hotel in the heart of Sandton has been around since the mid 1940's and has outlasted so many establishments in Johannesburg. Having recently undergone a refurbishment, the rooms were really well furnished, and overall, the hotel looked light and bright and refreshed, and having breakfast in the gorgeous garden setting was a real treat. I wanted to say a huge thank you to Kalika McAlpine, Shannon Blyth, and the team at Balalaika, for the warm welcome they arrange - to arrive in our rooms and find the treats that had been arranged was such a lovely and unexpected touch. From the time we have arrived, the Balalaika team were awesome. - from the always prompt responses to all the emails and questions I had prior to our trip, to the warm welcome and continued service excellence we received at the hotel. THANK YOU for making this trip a memorable one. We will definitely be back when we visit South Africa again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear B Andrew, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are thrilled to hear that your six-night stay was a memorable one. It's our goal to provide a positive and memorable experience for all our guests, and we're delighted to know that we succeeded during your visit. We truly appreciate your choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable experience in the future. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Once again, thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Best regards, Emmah Makgoba Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hidden Colors wrote a review Jan 2024
Illinois28 contributions7 helpful votes
When I arrived at this particular establishment-Protea Hotel in sandton, johannesburg, I informed them that I'd had recent bad experiences at other hotels regarding Noise and other guest causing intentional sound, noise disturbances. And what a coincidence, whether it was the housekeeping rolling their cleaning carts continuously on the ceramic hallway floor during the daytime which is where my room was situated(or pre-arranged by a conspiring front desk), or the constant dog barking all night or their own security slamming the doors and dropping heavy items in or right outside of unoccupied rooms at 1 and 4 in the morning, my experience at Protea balalaika was HORRIBLE and unacceptable!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay due to noise disturbances. Our team takes guest satisfaction seriously, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations in this regard. Please rest assured that we are actively addressing the issue to identify the source of the noise and implementing measures to prevent its recurrence. Our goal is to create a peaceful and enjoyable environment for all our guests, and we appreciate your patience as we work towards achieving this. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and a comfortable stay, and we are committed to ensuring that your next visit with us exceeds your expectations. If your travels bring you back to our area, we would be honored to have the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us improve our services. Kind regards, Emmah Makgoba Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denver B wrote a review Jan 2024
San Francisco, California22 contributions2 helpful votes
One of the best Marriot Hotels i have stayed at, in terms of Service and in terms of how welcoming and friendly every single member of staff is. We truly felt like valued and appreciated guests and most of all felt welcomed. Will absolutely and deliberately stay here again for this reason alone, not to mention the incredible location!! Well done to the team for making our experience and stay a phenomenal and memorable one! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear Denver, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a nice stay. Providing our guests with a positive and enjoyable experience is our top priority, and we're glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more pleasant, please don't hesitate to reach out. Once again, thank you for your kind words, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Best regards, Emmah Makgoba Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ZooMan wrote a review Nov 2023
6 contributions
I attended a training workshop at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, from the reservation stage, to arranging airport transfers and during the stay. The meeting room presented the perfect training environment. The meals were very nice with a nice presentation. The room was nice, quiet and clean. The complimentary shuttle to the city center every half hour was an icing on the cake.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear Dorcasz, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a nice stay. Providing our guests with a positive and enjoyable experience is our top priority, and we're glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more pleasant, please don't hesitate to reach out. Once again, thank you for your kind words, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Best regards, Emmah Makgoba Guest Relation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maps56278207029 wrote a review Oct 2023
Geneva, Switzerland1 contribution
Got room with a connecting door, even though I didn’t want to. I could literally hear the guy in the other room talk, sneeze, use the toilet, watch tv… one hears everything from the other rooms. Not okay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,336 - R 1,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
protea hotel johannesburg, balalaika hotel, protea hotel balalaika, sandton hotel balalaika
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
330
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PROTEA HOTEL JOHANNESBURG BALALAIKA SANDTON - Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Nearby attractions include Nelson Mandela Square (0.5 km), Onyx (0.5 km), and 24 Central Mall (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piccolo Mondo, The Bull Run Restaurant, and Tashas The Marc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton have airport transportation?
Yes, Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.