We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside

Save
Share
Corner Hill & Rivonia Roads Morningside, Sandton 2146 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/23
Priceline
US$85
US$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/23
getaroom.comUS$85
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 80 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This hotel has a restaurant on the property and is across the road from Morningside Clinic. It is close to a gym and 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square. The convenience of this hotel is reinforced by its close proximity to the M1 motorway and the 30 minute drive from the OR Tambo International airport. We are 2km from the Gautrain Station.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
105Reviews2Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 45
  • 21
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Kuda N wrote a review Jan 2020
Harare, Zimbabwe28 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in January 2020. Travelled with my wife and two kids. The kids shared a room next to ours. Very clean hotel, friendly staff, efficient check-in and check-out. Arrived late around 11 pm but had phoned ahead and the check-in was smooth. Checked out at 4 am because we needed an early start on the day, and again the service was impeccable at those wee hours. Unfortunately didn't get to taste their cuisine as we tended to wake up late and then spent the day away. Nevertheless managed to make use of their swimming pool which was lovely. I recommend staying at this hotel if you need a nice, peaceful and secure place from which you can visit the various areas in Joburg whilst on vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Bill B wrote a review Sep 2019
16 contributions23 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay here. We were attending an international convention of Jehovah's Witnesses at the FNB stadium. Many delegates from around the world were staying at this hotel, so they were very busy. Despite the number of guests the hotel staff treated us with kindness and always served us with a smile. They cooperated fully with our organisers and made every guest feel welcomed. The staff were excellent. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Read more
Carel wrote a review Jun 2019
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions
I've been in and out of City lodge for the past 4 years, at least 1 month of the year and must say I love this hotel. The rooms are cozy- don't need anything more, the breakfast is excellent, but most of all are the people. The service is exceptional, at arrival the front desk staff is the best in the business, consistent throughout my visits for 3 years. The bar and restaurant staff is very friendly and always looking to make sure you are looked after. I highly recommend this hotel, it is the only place I will stop over if i'm in the Sandton/ Rosebank area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Responded 20 Jun 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Godfrey P wrote a review Jun 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa6 contributions4 helpful votes
I stay here quite often. It's improved a lot over the years, is convenient, good value and generally works well. The front desk staff are great - friendly and helpful. But during the day the staff in the #Cafe lobby restaurant is non-existent. There is simply nobody managing #Cafe, and the staff hang out in the kitchen rather than wait tables. Because of the hotel location, you are forced to use their restaurant as there is nothing in walking distance. The food isn't great (it seems to be mainly Woolworths ready-meals), but it's good value. At night the service is fine, but during the day the staff can not be bothered. I have on several occasions in the past regretted sitting down in #Cafe in the expectation of a quick bite, only to endure endless frustrations trying to get service. On my stay last week I sat in the restaurant for 20 minutes before someone responded to my waving hands and asked if she could help. I said I'd like to order something to eat, could I see a menu. She walked off, never to return. Note that there was only one other person in the restaurant area - it's not that they were busy. No staff were visible at all, but there was plenty of loud conversation in the kitchen. After 20 more minutes I got up and went to the kitchen and said I want to order, show me a menu. I was now running out of time, so ordered a toasted cheese sandwich, thinking it would be quick. Half an hour later it had still not arrived, despite my repeat visit to the kitchen. I was told to be patient, it's coming. 10 minutes later (one hour and 10 minutes after sitting down) it arrived and I asked immediately for the bill as I was now late. It didn't come. The lady suddenly decided she was going to pay attention to six people who had just walked in. She took her time over giving them menus and taking their order, delivering their drinks and conspicuously ignoring me. When the bill came (R90) I gave her R100, determined not to tip her. She went off to get change. Five minutes later she was back saying there was no change available... I may stay at the City Lodge again, but I won't be eating there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Responded 07 Jun 2019
We apologise to hear of this service you received and will be looking into it. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Pgaulke wrote a review Mar 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota45 contributions10 helpful votes
Overall it was a good Hotel but not great. We did like the staff who were very helpful with restaurant ideas. They also helped us with the City Lodge at the airport. Our hotel was a little inconvenient since there is not elevators so doing luggage was hard. The room was small and not special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
city lodge - sandton/morningside hotel sandton, city hotel sandton morningside
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Which popular attractions are close to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Nearby attractions include The Diamond Ring By GC Manufacturing Jewellery (0.9 km), Sandton City Mall (1.1 km), and Mushroom Park (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bull Run Restaurant, The Codfather Restaurant, and Tashas The Marc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside have an airport shuttle?
Yes, City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (6.1 km).
Is City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.