We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Catalyst Hotel

100 Pretoria Avenue Wierda Valley, Sandton 2196 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#45 of 71 hotels in Sandton
Location
Service
Value
The Catalyst Hotel welcomes you with art deco inspired furnishings alongside distinctive amenities. Expect to find a myriad of modern business and leisure facilities including a fully-equipped conference centre, gym and spa. The lavishly-appointed rooms replete with deluxe bathroom finishes and top-class in-room conveniences. This grandiose hotel is positioned close to the Gautrain station.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Spa
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
32Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Venture59870065396 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Worst service I've ever It has the look and feel of a 5star hotel but the staff's attitudes are of a 1 star rating. I could only check in at 2 and then get told I need to pay an additional fee to get my room quicker after I get my key and that's me standing around 2 and a half hours. I made a few attempts to try and speed up the process. I saw 3 bookings go ahead of me during this time which led me to believe that my money worth it - I know now that stay at the Raddison seems to be worth more weight in gold. Asking for lunch I needed to get up and walk to the bar area and hand in my order while the team stood around talking to one another Camera footage can be seen at around 14hoo - chap in the blue shirt. Again - I'm confused at my choice ' it looks like a 5 star establishment but handled by a 1 star attitude. Very sad to see but be warned - spend your money elsewhere Yours truly The first and the last
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't do it - false advertising
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JJ J wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
I enjoyed my stay with The Catalyst Hotel. i stayed over with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the experience was just wonderful. the staff was amazing and the food was good. they made my stay enjoyable. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LeftFork wrote a review Oct 2023
Gernsheim, Germany107 contributions44 helpful votes
This is a very nice hotel for a reasonable rates and good staff. I would return and highly recommend it. The food in the restaurant was also very good. If TripAdvisor always forces me to write a minimum amount I will probably stop leaving reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anita A wrote a review Sept 2023
11 contributions2 helpful votes
What you see is what you get and then some. The staff are so polite and keen to assist; the rooms are spacious and very clean; and the breakfast has quite some variety. The location is very central within the Sandton area which makes moving around pretty easy especially since they provide shuttle services to and from the Sandton city mall.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Always make your reservation well in advance because it’s pretty popular and gets fully booked.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Portia P wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
The service and food has gone do n in this place. There is a lot of improvements required. The a la carte menu takes long for food to be prepared. There is a need to consider buffet for dinner to please your guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Companion02134332209 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
The carpet in the room was wet due to the rain. The sheets were not clean, they still had make up stains from previous guests. You can hear noises from your neighbours and also noise when they use water facilities I.e showers and toilets
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Simon wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions
My work team booked a week at this hotel. Several of us stayed in the hotel, while the rest opted to travel into Sandton to attend our workshops. Two team members got food poisoning, while I am still battling with a mild case of diarrhea. The food was terrible from day one, and seemed to be be on a downward sliding scale as each day progressed. Every meal was grossly overcooked - the crumbed chicken on the last day was even burned black on the edges and practically inedible. For a hotel that cost so much money to build in a prime spot in Sandton, and with seemingly so many raving reviews, this is unacceptable, and I need other people to be aware of the dangers of this place. I don't know if it was purely the food, or if there is a general lack of hygiene, but this place needs to pick up its socks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Chifunyise, General Manager at The Catalyst Hotel
Responded 06 Mar 2023
Dear Simon Thank you for your feedback. We do sincerely regret that you had an unpleasant dining experience. I can however assure you, that our hotel and restaurant prides itself in maintaining the highest levels of hygiene. We also endeavor to ensure that the food/ingredients sourced from our suppliers, is also of a quality standard. That said, your feedback is taken quite seriously and is being attended to by our Food & Bev management head. This most certainly is an exception to our usual high-quality restaurant and hotel service and experience, enjoyed by our clients! We appreciate your feedback, and again our sincere apologies for your experience! We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back and rectify our mistakes. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zola Nkonki wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
+1
I went for a Spa treatment at the Catalyst Hotel with my sister. The staff was amazing ...friendly and so professional. The Manager there Zintle was amazing ....welcomed us with open arms ....My 85 year old Mom and my daughter were treated well in a relaxing room....I have already referred a couple of my friends...what an experience... Keep up the good work ladies.. You made us proud with your absolutely amazing work ethic. Zola Nkonki 0835389524
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Chifunyise, General Manager at The Catalyst Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Good morning Zola Thank you for choosing to stay at The Catalyst Hotel, and for taking the time to write a review and rating us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also delighted to hear that both your mom and daughter had a great experience at Sanctuary spa. I will pass on your kind remarks to the team. We look forward to welcoming your friends and thank you for the referral. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards The Catalyst Hotel Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sascha M wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
I had my doubts due to some negative reviews by guests, but decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. Upon arrival, after a very long day of traveling, I was told that my room was not ready. This was at 17:30 in the afternoon! I went for dinner as I had no choice, but no concession was made ie. Have a glas of wine on the house while you wait…. Nothing! The next morning I was told that my booking did not include breakfast, but it did. They sorted it out but the way in which they told me in front of other guests, made me feel like a criminal who was trying to steal breakfast! I left after 5 days and on my day of departure, I was sitting in the lobby at 5am waiting for my Uber. 3 girls who looked like prozzies were sitting on the couch drinking champagne out of the bottle, high as kites, while 5 men were busy booking rooms for them. At 5am! Nah sorry, not my kind of hotel. If you want to be upmarket then also, do not allow dodgy people to party it up in your lobby at 5am.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Chifunyise, General Manager at The Catalyst Hotel
Responded 06 Dec 2022
Dear Sasha Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the constructive feedback. I am extremely disappointed to see that your stay with us was not up to standard, and everything seems to have gone wrong. We have been trying to reach you to see how we can rectify our short comings and to apologise to you directly, but we have had no luck in that regard. Please feel free to contact us should you want to engage about your feedback. I have discussed your review with the management team, and we will make the necessary changes and make sure that other guests to not have the same bad experience. Sincerely Robert General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roam16001287934 wrote a review Oct 2022
The staff is super friendly. Very luxurious look. Exactly what I saw from the website. I loved the porter carrying my luggage to my room, the products used in the bathroom are of good brands. Super clean linen, I just didn’t like the iron because it broken and also not strong to make clothes flat even at high temperature. The breakfast was amazing, it was a wonderful stay. Will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool is not private, The people at the restaurant can see you. The time I also went there the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 983 - R 1,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CATALYST HOTEL - Now R 1 002 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶6̶4̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sandton, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Catalyst Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Catalyst Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jack Friedman Sandton City (1.1 km), Sandton City Shopping Centre (1.1 km), and Sandton City Mall (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Catalyst Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Catalyst Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Catalyst Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Catalyst Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery, The Big Mouth, and Hard Rock Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Catalyst Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Catalyst Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (4.4 km), L. Ron Hubbard - Linksfield Ridge House (7.4 km), and Kilimanjaro Travel Sa (3.3 km).