We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DaVinci Hotel And Suites

Corner Maude And 5th Street, Sandton 2128 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (395)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (341)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 72 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
868Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 507
  • 258
  • 57
  • 24
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ariani50 wrote a review 20 Apr
Iran62 contributions40 helpful votes
It was a very pleasant and relaxing hotel. My wife and daughter and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in March 2024. The staff were very friendly. The food was very tasty and hearty. Everything was perfect. The pool was small but cozy. We could sit next to it and study.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded yesterday
Dear ariani50, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and your wonderful review will definitely be shared with all the staff. May you have a great day further and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel and Suites in the near future. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nomad774973 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
My stay was absolutely amazing. The staff were brilliant, the food was amazing. The room had all the bells and whistles I will be back, Nespresso coffee machine, robes, slippers and Charlotte Rhys products. Great linen and lovely fluffy pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nomad774973, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and your wonderful review will definitely be shared with all the staff. May you have a great day further and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future for another memorable experience. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Misstea wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
We are staying here at the mooment and really not impressed. Booked a superior room and requested twin beds. When we checked in we were given a standard and told that all superiors were king-size. Why weren't we informed when we booked. They wrte happy to take our money for a room that doesn't exist. No refund fir the difference given. In addition we got back at 7.30 pm from a day out. Room not serviced so now nearly an hour later are sitting in reception waiting whilethey clean it. Not even offered refreshments of any sort which is the very least they can do.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Asha0241063, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor as well. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests as it assists us in improving our service offering to our guests. Please accept my sincere apology for the negative experience you have had with us thus far. We have had a look at your reservation and found that you had booked a standard twin room via a third party. We do sincerely apologize the fact that no refreshments were offered to you whilst waiting for your room to be cleaned. There was a delay in service as your was extended and on a different name. My apology once again and should there be anything that we can do to make the rest of your stay and pleasant and enjoyable one, please feel free to contact our team. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peita D wrote a review Mar 2024
Emerald Beach, Australia86 contributions58 helpful votes
We stayed at da Vinci home for two nights on our way to cape town. The location was great, being inside the shopping centre meant we were able to walk around and go to restaurants etc. a visit to the Nelson Mandela square was a highlight. Rooms clean and nice, beds comfy and room quiet. Breakfast was also great!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 04 Mar 2024
Dear Peita D, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and I am delighted to hear that we could give you a memorable experience. Your wonderful review will definitely be shared with all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex L wrote a review Feb 2024
Moscow, Russia354 contributions172 helpful votes
Well located , well managed hotel . Friendly hospitable staff . Good breakfast , great gym , big and spacious suites . All you need for a business trip . Things to improve : would love more generous approach on supply of amenities . Abit more high flow pressure in showers , sink and toilet . Great personal , great city )
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 08 Feb 2024
Dear Alex_leonov, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests as it assists us in improving our service offering to our guests. Your comments regarding the supply of amenities and the water pressure is appreciated and will be shared with the relevant management for consideration. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us and your wonderful comments regarding the staff will definitely be shared with all. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
karen g wrote a review Jan 2024
Palo Alto, California, USA5 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is very well equipped, very comfortable rooms with everything you need. Parking is free and easy. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was location. It’s hard to walk anywhere further than a block or two due to a combination of lack of pavements (it’s like America and people drive everywhere, though we sense that’s the way of life here ) and frankly safety. There is a huge underground shopping mall beneath the hotel so the easiest way to eat and drink is to stay within this subterranean city. Coming from London, where you walk everywhere, use public transport easily, Johannesburg is a big change that takes getting used to. But again, within this context, the hotel is very good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear 892kareng892, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and your wonderful review will definitely be shared with all the staff. May you have a great day further and we look forward to welcoming you back to DAVINCI, Hotel and Suites, in the near future. Kind regards Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hansina v wrote a review Dec 2023
Seattle, Washington1 contribution
I stayed at the Da Vinci on several occasions over a few years (last stay in 2019). I kept choosing this hotel systematically each time I come to Johannesburg, without even looking at other available hotels, whether I came on family vacation or for business, because of the consistently great experience (room and services), which is what I did this time too. However I was very disappointed with the service, which was incomparable from what I had experienced all the previous times: - The reaction when my key card just got deactivated and had to be reactivated; - On the 2nd day and morning that we left, there was no shower gel for us to use - probably removed but not replaced. - The breakfast was quite appalling: The choice and quality of food is nothing like what it was up until 2019. I stayed one night in a basic holiday inn in SA and the choice and quality of the breakfast buffet was 10 times what you now offer. We had to wait for a table. The service is very slow for something as basic as hot chocolate, and even longer for eggs. - On the last day we needed to leave the hotel at 7.00 to take our flight. We were told breakfast started at 6.30 but actually at 6.30 the buffet was still being set up, the "hot" dishes were entirely cold with no heat under the hot plates which were lit up close to 7.00, no juice until we left, we could not choose a table because they were still mopping the floor and asked us not to go in that area... All this was quite disappointing. For me, the Da Vinci was THE hotel to go to in Johannesburg and I have recommended it to many friends and colleagues. But not anymore. The only sign of the level of service I knew the Da Vinci hotel for was the concierge staff on the ground floor when we left. But other than that it was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The room with the balcony overseeing the pool is nice however it gets noisy at night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Dear hansinav, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor as well. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests as it assists us in improving our service offering to our guests. I would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience that you had with us and can assure you that it is most definitely not the service standard that we pride ourselves on. Your comments will be shared with all the relevant management and further investigations will be done to ensure the lack of service is addressed with the relevant staff. Thank you again for your detailed review. I completely understand that nothing I say can change this experience, but I truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to give you the true DAVINCI experience. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WineTimeashland wrote a review Nov 2023
Orlando, Florida66 contributions33 helpful votes
From A to Z a 5 star experience @ DaVinci! Our reception was flawless, service throughout the property was exemplary, & the food @ Maxmillien’s was superb. The staff, inclusive of chef, was impeccable, & their friendliness & willingness to satisfy every customer’s experience should be an example for others! Our accommodations were spotless & comfortable, & the location was perfect. With shopping & restaurants galore to choose from, it was an excellent choice for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy everything about your stay here! It will be unparalleled!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Dear WineTimeashland, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and I am delighted to hear that we could give you a memorable experience. Your wonderful review will definitely be shared with all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J. Ali wrote a review Nov 2023
Atlanta, Georgia34 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
I travel to Johannesburg several times per year, every year and have always stayed at the same hotel, however at the recommendation of friends that live in JoBurg, I took a chance and stayed at The DaVinci, also recommending that my Brother and his Wife who would be on the trip with me, also stay there; by far the biggest mistake I could’ve made. This hotel is nowhere near the standard of a 5-Star property. Upon arrival, I noticed that there was a lot of odd traffic of people in/out of the front of the building and lobby areas. The elevators are open to the public so a lot of the Sandton Mall foot traffic is found in the hotel lobby all times of the day and night, didn’t feel secure. My check-in didn’t meet my expectations as I was not offered a room upgrade nor told if an upgrade was/wasn’t available. After a 16-hour flight, I arrived to my room to find significant amounts of mold on the walls of the shower (see attached pictures). I made the Front Desk Staff aware of the concern and was initially told that I’d need to speak with the Staff in the morning. Upon going to the front desk the next day, I met the Benedict to make him aware of my concerns, he was very smug and simply replied with “Okay, do you want us to clean it?” I advised that YES, while the room/shower needs to be cleaned, I do not want to stay in a room with very visible mold in the shower. Benedict immediately seemed irritated that I was requesting an alternate solution, very unprofessional. He offered me another room which had its bathroom (literally) in the middle of the floor offering no privacy. After walking back/forth to this room (no staff from the hotel was sent to assist with the review of the rooms) I advised that I didn’t want that room either. He then stated “Well, I can offer you an upgraded room which has a balcony”, again I was never offered an upgrade when I checked in and in-essence, the room that was being offered was in fact smaller than the corner executive room (with mold) that I booked. Nevertheless, I had a full day of events planned so I didn’t have the time to engage any further with Benedict’s unprofessional, disregard, lack of empathy, and dismissive behavior. I was forced to repack all of my belongings, move them from the 7th floor (room with mold) to the 6th floor (new room). The bed in the room was horrible and terribly uncomfortable! The bed is a spring mattress which is relatively thin. The sheets, duvet and pillow case all had stains on them, I requested that the bed linens be changed. Also as the days went on during my 4-day stay, I could smell heavy cigarette smoke coming through the vents in my room as the HVAC was on. In addition, the Housekeeping staff used so much furniture polish on all of the wood, that 2 of my shirts got stained when sitting at the desk as I didn’t realize the polish was so heavy. Finally, the breakfast that the hotel offered was terrible. It is not a buffet, as bowls of fruit, plates of meat, cheese, etc. are placed on a table in the middle of the restaurant with no covers. I watched as children and adults casually walked up the various bowls and plates taking what he/she wanted, with their hands and/or forks, etc. very unsanitary and not appealing. Needless to say, I didn’t partake in the daily breakfast and am very upset that I paid to have breakfast included in my nightly rate. I would however, like to give a very big thank you to both Solley, Guest Services/Bellman and Sticks, Restaurant Waiter. Both of these gentleman were consistently kind, friendly, professional, always willing to help and genuinely tried to make things better. I will never stay at this terrible hotel again and will never recommend that any of my contacts which also regularly visit Johannesburg stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 06 Nov 2023
Dear jali326 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor as well. As mentioned, we truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests as it assists us in improving our service offering. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. I can assure you that your comments were shared with all the relevant management and the necessary corrective action will be taken as a matter of urgency. The safety of our guests are of utmost importance to us and even though the hotel is situated inside a shopping mall, it is completely separate elevators that would need to be taken to get to the hotel rooms. There is always Security present on the Reception level and each hotel room floor is secured with a glass door that can only be accessed using your room key, provided your room is on that actual floor. I would also like to apologize for the fact that we could not offer you a complimentary upgrade for your stay - we do our best to assist Expedia Premium VIP guests with complimentary upgrades, but it is unfortunately not always possible due to the high occupancy in the hotel. I have asked our Executive Housekeeper to also have a look at the mattress in the 6th floor room as all the mattresses in the hotel are exactly the same and were replaced not too long ago. Please accept my apologies again for your stay and the treatment you received. It is definitely not the standard we pride ourselves on or are known for. Your feedback is valued and the items mentioned will be addressed. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Boipelo S wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
I had a wonderful experience at Davinci hotel and suites. The customer service and every staff member I encountered was outstanding and eager to help. Hotel has modern rooms, and impeccable facilities
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew van Hasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Responded 08 Oct 2023
Dear boipelos480, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor as well. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and your wonderful comments will definitely be shared with all the staff. It is always nice to hear that our guests had a memorable time with us. May you have a great day further and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future. Kind regards, Andrew van Hasselt General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,588 - R 4,790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
davinci hotel sandton
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAVINCI HOTEL AND SUITES - Now R 3 168 (Was R̶ ̶5̶ ̶8̶7̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sandton, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DaVinci Hotel And Suites
Which popular attractions are close to DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Nearby attractions include Jack Friedman Sandton City (0.2 km), Nelson Mandela Square (0.2 km), and Sandton City Shopping Centre (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery, The Big Mouth, and Hard Rock Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does DaVinci Hotel And Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, DaVinci Hotel And Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DaVinci Hotel And Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DaVinci Hotel And Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.