WeStay Westpoint Apartments

89 Grayston Drive cnr West Road, Sandton 2196 South Africa
Traveller (95)
Penthouse View - 12th Floor
Room & Suite (42)
Dining Room (Penthouse)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
R 1 215
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#27 of 72 hotels in Sandton
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Boasting a prime location in the heart of Sandton's business district, WeStay Westpoint is just steps away from Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square, The Gautrain Station and Sandton Convention Centre. With 50 spacious serviced apartment suites, our apartments provide both the business and leisure traveller with a comfortable and affordable, home away from home, with all the conveniences one would expect in an up market hotel, at a fraction of the price. Each of our fully furnished apartments are equipped with a 32-inch LCD TV, with DSTV and WIFI. Our apartments each boast a stunning view of the city, flowing out onto a balcony. Every kitchen is fully equipped, down to the washing machine and dryer, to accommodate any and all self-catering needs. Our Spacious Urban Garden boasts a 25 metre swimming pool and fantastic gas barbequing facilities which are available to all guests staying a week or longer. We have become the "home" for many business executives, families and leisure travellers who visit the affluent city of Johannesburg. At WeStay Westpoint it can be said that we offer "The Best of Both Worlds", the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids stay free
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Microwave
Oven
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
364Reviews11Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 120
  • 48
  • 13
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shekar C wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Altos, California66 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed for one full day and one night. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, and we were a party of 10 people, so we got three 3 bedrooms.

What we liked in this place:
1. The apartment is centrally located in a safe neighborhood. It is also modern part of JoBurg.
2. It's walking distance to Nelson Mandela Square, which is a good place to visit.
3. The apartment is very comfortable, clean, with beds, towels and toileteries.
4. The personnel at the front are friendly as well.
5. The security is pretty good, and one must use biometric credentials to get in.
6. The room has washer and dryer, which we found useful, given that it was raining on that day JoBurg and had to dry our drenched clothes :-)

What could be better?
Actually we didn't find anything negative, but then the question might pop as to why I have rated only a 4 star instead of 5.

The only reason is that the apartment is not a 5 star accommodation, and the expectation for a 5 star accommodation may be a bit more. What was promised was delivered consistently.

We did not use the A/c etc, as the weather was beautiful at JoBurg. Overall, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Shekar, Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad G wrote a review Mar 2020
Durban, South Africa146 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The access system with fingerprints was down which made arriving and leaving a bit cumbersome but the staff were quite helpful and I was only delayed on a couple of the many occasions coming in and out. A four night stay meant the extra space particularly the living area and balcony definitely made the experience in Sandton a better one. Benmore shopping centre down the road conveniently has all your grocery requirements available, as well as a wide selection of restaurants and take aways.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lolo Nyasha, Marketing at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Brad G, Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on all the issues you mentioned. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nombuso S wrote a review Mar 2020
Sandton, South Africa4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Westpoint for a week and the hospitality was first grade. The views are absolutely stunning makes you forget that your staying at the heart of Sandton. You actually think you somewhere in Cape Town

My only problem was the Wi-Fi it was sometimes on and off. But besides that everything about the place was great
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lolo Nyasha, Marketing at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Nombuso, Thank you for the kind words! We’re so happy your stay at WeStay Apartments-Westpoint went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gyan2021 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worse apartment I ever stayed.
Very dirty and most unfriendly staff especially the manageress.

Towels are never changed, you are told you use your dirty towel as there is nothing they can do, they don’t have a set to replace.

You can’t smoke in the apartment yet you booked a smoking apartment.

The sofas are very old and torn.

Utensils are dirty and old, tin opener so blunt.

Will never recommend Westay Westpoint Apartment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorraine Nyasha Mhandu, Marketing at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Dear Maharaj Gyan, Thank you so much for your review.. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on all the issues you mentioned. All of our rooms are NON SMOKING as outlined on your Expedia booking confirmation. All smoking can be done on the balcony and other designated areas. We have basic,standard and premium rooms available.You booked the cheapest basic option available .Please feel free to book the premium units for a 5 star experience. Housekeeping services have been limited due to CVID 19 and towels are changed as per request.Our hotel has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being at home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery. We take our guests and their wellbeing seriously and hope to meet all our guest’s expectations. We apologise for all the problems you encountered during your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mmulal333750 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have enjoyed staying at West at West point Appartements that I discovered in visiting a friend who was accommodated there. It is a very convenient accommodation especially if you have activities in Sandton CBD. I would recommend this accommodation to any friend who travels to Johannesburg.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorraine Nyasha Mhandu, Guest Services / Front Office at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Thank you for the kind words! We’re so happy your stay at WeStay Apartments-Westpoint went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lmmatibini wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Refurbish your premises so that customers will come to a place which is comparable their homes. On the review, please do not make the ninimum contribution two hundred characterms because it is time consuming. Your Apartments is located in a good area but the problem is the amenities inside the rooms. Carpets in the bedroom were terrible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorraine Nyasha Mhandu, Guest Services / Front Office at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 10 May 2023
Dear Immatibini, Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on all the issues you mentioned. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dlungi863052 wrote a review May 2023
Mbabane, Eswatini (Swaziland)1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Westpoint Apartments consistently deliver good value for money. The location is very convenient and within easy access of Sandton City. The adverse impacts of load shedding are not felt due to the on-site back up power supply which works like clockwork. Friendly staff is an added bonus.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorraine Nyasha Mhandu, Guest Services / Front Office at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 24 May 2023
Dear Dlungi863052, Thank you for the kind words! We’re so happy your stay at WeStay Apartments-Westpoint went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Volantiana R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Messages sent from the booking step are very reassuring.
The team is open to WhatsApp discussion, and very rapid in replying. Mrs. Nyana was very kind.
The security system is good. Parking is very good.
The apartments are good in general.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorraine Nyasha Mhandu, Guest Services / Front Office at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 07 Mar 2024
Thank you for the kind words! We’re so happy your stay at WeStay Apartments-Westpoint went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mtembo265936 wrote a review Jan 2020
Harare, Zimbabwe1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment are very executive and so comfortable. Maintenance is excellent. Great location and very nice swimming pool area and gym. Wifi services perfect. The cleaning staff are excellent, clean linen and towels changed. Kitchen has all you need for self catering
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Mtembo, Thank you for the great review! We’re so happy you loved our service and we can’t wait to have you back at WeStay Westpoint Apartments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manqoba wrote a review Jul 2020
Sea Point, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place, great location and friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone who likes a peace of mind. Really enjoyed my stay. Spacious apartments, clean pool and surrounding also close to amenities like shopping centers and restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gail Hamilton-Brown, General Manager at WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Thanks for the great review and rating of WeStay Westpoint Apartments, I will be sure to pass the feedback on to our staff. The pool is a wonderful feature. It is quite special to find such spacious grounds, pool and entertainment area right in the heart of Sandton Central! We hope to host you again soon. Remember to contact our friendly onsite staff to make your direct booking.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Pamela1Niemand
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
Hi, We never request for passport details unless you provide them to us so we can type out a letter for your visa application process.
Leverne M asked a question Sept 2018
Mendham, New Jersey8 contributions6 helpful votes
Are the bedrooms accessible without stairs? I’m traveling with elderly parents.
Answer from Kamal K
Dubai, United Arab Emirates88 contributions38 helpful votes
We were on the ground level from the reception, but if you want to go to marina/ pool, you can take the lift, then you would need take atleast 5-6 steps...otherwise stairs are avoidable.
Answer from Kamal K
Dubai, United Arab Emirates88 contributions38 helpful votes
We had a friend picking us up, so won't have any idea.
Answer from ViestursZ
London, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
Gautrain from the airport to Sandton station is about R150 per person. Uber/Taxify from the station to the hotel shouldn't be more than R50. But do read my review of the hotel before you book.
Answer from Hechtkrebs
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi George, i booked a single and was assigned a double, so for me there was no price difference.
diVinci wrote a tip May 2019
Johannesburg6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher floors are definitely quieter. Loading and offloading luggage is much easier if your parking spot is not in the basement."
Read full review
LaurenL wrote a tip Apr 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you check out the place before you pay."
Read full review
Innocent C wrote a tip Mar 2019
Harare, Zimbabwe6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most of the rooms are facing the road and balcony facing the pool a lot of sunshine in the evening"
Read full review
cassandra m wrote a tip Oct 2018
Kokstad, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"More plug points in the rooms please "
Read full review
Masche13 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe31 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors give excellent views of the pool, and maybe of the Sandton and Joburg skyline."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 989 - R 1,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Westpoint Executive Suites
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WESTAY WESTPOINT APARTMENTS - Now R 1 161 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶2̶5̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Sandton, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Jack Friedman Sandton City (1.2 km), Nelson Mandela Square (0.9 km), and Sandton City Shopping Centre (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery, The Big Mouth, and Hard Rock Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to WeStay Westpoint Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (5.5 km) and Kilimanjaro Travel Sa (4.7 km).
Does WeStay Westpoint Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Sandton HotelsSandton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SandtonHotels near WeStay Westpoint Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire