We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Traveller (609)
Room & Suite (217)
Dining (83)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#23 of 72 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton Johannesburg is in the heart of the city's upscale business district, and within walking distance of Gautrain Station, which connects to Johannesburg and the OR Tambo International Airport. Whilst staying here, take advantage of this prime location only minutes from attractions such as Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City shopping center and many restaurants. Additionally, business travelers are only 900 meters from the The Sandton Convention Center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
1,733Review19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 682
  • 603
  • 245
  • 106
  • 97
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Aimee wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
I recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Sandton with my boyfriends company for a function and one disappointment after another. We got there at 11.40 and we're told the rooms would be ready at 14.30 and not at 11.30 like previously communicated with the company. They told us to head up to the pool for lunch. We did, only to be told they are not open. Eventually after asking what must we do now? no room, no lunch, no drinks they eventually served us drinks. We then went down at 14.45 and the rooms were still not ready, keeping in mind we had a function to attend that evening and needed to get ready and some still had some work to do. After speaking to managers, FOH staff some of us eventually for rooms, and not the rooms we reserved but it was something. The staff just shrugged their shoulders and said there is nothing they can do due to a previous group checking out late. So it's not their problem, which infuriated some of the people in our group. Also the company had booked about 40 rooms for that evening. 3 of the couples were asked to share the penthouse suit only for one of their wives to get locked into her bedroom after the door jammed. The staff took 20min to get there and after 1 hour her husband had to literally break the door down to get her out, we were now running late for our function. Our room also only had 1 coffee pod, 1 milk, 1 robe... it was a king room ment for 2 people. We then asked for a free shuttle that the hotel provides within a 5km radius from the hotel. At reception they said we didn't need to book, just head down to the entrance and ask. We did this and 4 shuttle drivers were sitting there refusing to take us. Said reception didn't know what they were talking about and they showed us they has taken a permanent marker and blacked out the "5" and said they changed the free shuttle served from 5km radius to 1km. So they won't take us. I showed them on the hotels website it says 5km, they shouted and said no it's 1km. So we stopped arguing as we were already late and called an Uber They were promised a fixed door on return. Well apon returning that evening, not only did their room key not work, their door had not been replaced and they had to move to another room on another floor, this all at 11.30 the evening. No apologies or anything from the staff. The next morning when checking out, I asked if a drink we ordered from room service could be taken off our bill as we didn't open it. The lady at the counters response was "No sorry, but YAY we can drink it now" needless to say I went back to fetch the drink. The FOH staff have no customer skills what so ever! Pathetic service from the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gil B wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
This is my second visit to the hotel. Great location and friendly hospitality. The hotel is five minutes drive from Sandton mall. The breakfast was rich with many great options. Definitely, I'm looking forward to my next visit
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Dear gilbarnatan, Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton as your hotel of choice. We strive on 100% satisfaction and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay - I will make sure to pass your message of compliments onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton. Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the very near future. Kind Regards, Radisson Blu Sandton
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traveler of the world wrote a review Feb 2024
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa16 contributions3 helpful votes
Air conditioning was not working throughout our stay. Requested a fan several times kept being told none were available. Saw an employee taking a fan upto a room but we were still told none available. Upon requesting a compensation for the trouble we went through a fan miraculously appeared when it was almost time to check out
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
YolChitsaka wrote a review Feb 2024
9 contributions
Room size is nice. The aircon in the room did not work. The room was extremely warm and we could not sleep. We asked for a fan and could not get one. Breakfast buffet was decent. We won't be returning to this hotel. The heat was simply too much and made the stay unpleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AudaciousAussie wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom65 contributions30 helpful votes
This hotel inexplicably made a mistake on our 5 night pre-booked PRE-PAID stay. Security turns up on the door middle of the night demanding to know why we are in the room and trying to get us to leave when our checkout was the next morning. No apology, claimed a "system glitch" changed our booking (that's actually NOT how the system works), no correction to the booking. Created a new reservation in my name without my permission to try to cover their mistake. 2 weeks later they still haven't sent a correct invoice despite multiple emails. Oh, and they keep mis-gendering me as Mr despite knowing I'm female and being reminded of this. One of the pillows was dirty and it took multiple asks before the sheets were changed and a clean pillow provided. Avoid this hotel like the plague.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Henrik Andersson wrote a review Nov 2023
Cape Town, South Africa13 contributions
A Hotel very much living on the current shortage of available rooms in Johannesburg. Some of the negatives: -unfriendly staff -poor AC efficiency -only 1/3 elevators works. Takes forever to get to and from your room -very low sealing in parts of the hotel. Especially the gym. - drinks and service on the pool area floor especially poor Positives: Location Internet speed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Responded 04 Dec 2023
Dear Cowdundee, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appreciate all feedback. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you experienced. I assure you that this is not the norm of our standard and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to experience the improvements Kind regards Radisson Blu Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nomad01318044147 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
I ordered room service and had to wait more than an hour. The reception did not answer my calls to follow up and after eventually getting through, room service promised to deliver in 5 minutes. I am still eating after 10 minutes. This is unacceptable and you won’t see me again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Responded 24 Nov 2023
Dear Nomad01318044147, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appriciate all feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than par service you recieved during your stay. I assure you that this is not the standards of our service and hope you will reconsider your decison to return to our establishment to experience the level of service we have come to be known for. Kind regards Radisson Blu Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
joachim414 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the views are amazing. Plus there are two bars - one in the lobby, another one at the pool. But it's the staff that makes the difference. Whenever I come back colleagues at the Radisson recognised me and are happy to see me. Although this is not a small hotel they make people feel at home
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Responded 24 Nov 2023
Dear Joachim414, Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Sandton and for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home Kind regards Radisson Blu Sandton
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
scottmum4d wrote a review Nov 2023
St. Albans, United Kingdom1 contribution
A good hotel in decent location with great staff. Having spent many years staying at this hotel the staff have always been stand out. Addressing me by name and with nothing being too much trouble for them you always feel like a valued guest. Clean, friendly and with a good vibe overall things a great choice of hotel for a business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Responded 24 Nov 2023
Dear Scottmum4d, Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Sandton and for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you always enjoy your stay with us and can make you feel at home. we look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards Radisson Blu Sandton
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
814johannb wrote a review Nov 2023
10 contributions19 helpful votes
The centrally controlled AC (set at room temperature) together with the eco lock made the room very warm (30 degrees outside). Could only get a couple of hours of sleep because of the heat. Certainly won’t be booking at the hotel again. Very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear 814johannb, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. your feedback has been shared with our team in order to ensure that this is resolved and does not happen again. Whilst we did not meet your expectations, we hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back Kind regards Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,660 - R 2,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Radisson SAS
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
302
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RADISSON BLU HOTEL SANDTON, JOHANNESBURG - Now R 1 943 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶9̶6̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Which popular attractions are close to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Nearby attractions include Jack Friedman Sandton City (1.0 km), Nelson Mandela Square (0.7 km), and Sandton City Shopping Centre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery, The Big Mouth, and Hard Rock Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg have airport transportation?
Yes, Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (4.9 km), L. Ron Hubbard - Linksfield Ridge House (8.0 km), and Kilimanjaro Travel Sa (3.8 km).