We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Expedia.comUS$119*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$119*
US$119*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean, well located, good service, above my expectations for a stay at a holiday inn. Well Worth 4 stars and better value than other hotels in the area. Good breakfast. Small gym but with the basic needed available

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WWTAdventure
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day WWTAdventure Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be of good value. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The people are very friendly. Breakfast is good. Having dinner is not the greatest place. Rooms comfortabel and clean even day. Second time is stages in here. Nice skyebar. Next to the gautrain and a big banks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jochem D
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Jochem D Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in the middle of a construction, you can not rest. Customer service is not the best. It does not seek to exhaust all alternatives to satisfy the client. There are better alternatives!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Lisa M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate and value all feedback. I am disappointed to read your comments as we always strive to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay with us and I am sorry we did not do this for you. I hope you will afford us the opportunity...

Morges, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a short walk from the Sandton train station, so easy to reach from the Airport. They have a shuttle every half hour to Nelson Mandela square for those that prefer to ride the short distance, and will often take you to another destination if close and the traffic allows. The rooms are wonderful - great beds, linens,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Louis S Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is okay for a business trip. Booking in took about 20 minutes, which was really bad. This is a big hotel with 9 floors, yet there are only 2 lifts! I spent a lot of time waiting for the lift. Breakfast was good with enough variety. The restaurant is good, but expensive and with poor service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilIls
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day WilIls, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appreciate all feedback. Please accept my apologies with the delay with your check in, I assure you that this is not the norm of our standard. Your feedback and comments give us the opportunity to improve on our services and standards. Whilst we did...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room is perfect for business, with all the business amenities you would need. Packing a decent gym. I would not recommend the buffet. Ala Carte had a good variety but is not the cheapest for what you are getting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francois R
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Francis R, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appreciate all feedback. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future to see changes made Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having had a few serious disappointments (pre-tripadvisor era) with Holiday Inns, I stayed away from them. Now that I was booked, I went there grudglingly - and was more than pleasantly surprised. Fantastic room, great service, excellent food (so much I have to do extra work outs). Forgot my mobile at checkout counter, they kept it and I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepeyangu
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day pepeyangu, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to exceed your expectations as well as as return your chager to you safely. I hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future...

Harare
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perhaps holiday Inn Sandton City is an illusion i have created in my mind. Perhaps it is not a real hotel but in fact a home built just for me in the heart of a beautiful cosmopolitan city. Or perhaps it is a place where everyone walks in and out of and feels like they are king of this castle....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert m
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Robert m, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, we truly value and appreciate your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton several times a year because the staff is friendly, professional and very focused on making every guest's stay remarkable. I know when I am working in Johannesburg I have strong back-up in their business center. They always have what I need! In addition, I know I that whenever I eat in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StokesA
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day StokesA, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, once again we value and appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed onto the team and their happiness was clearly visible. We hope to welcome you back soon, so you can try out even more dishes...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The Room was good, i got to hang out at the VIP Lounge which was very relaxing. the bar man at the roof top bar has improved and he was very attentive. The location is ideal for Santon City explorers and i love the entrance of the hotel. Overall i enjoyed my stay and refereed my work mates

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Anne N, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to make use of the VIP lounge. Thank you for the comments regarding the improvements made in the rooftop bar- we appreciate this. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you...

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1 214 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 47 in Sandton
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: R1 262 - R2 249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
8 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room facing away from the construction.”
louiss650, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try top floors, ask for city view”
pepeyangu, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are looking for a getaway, every room is a lovely little unique experience”
X8070ZSrobertm, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“top floors have better views”
130annen, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good rooms with excellent views of sandton”
455aba, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
HolidayInn.comUS$119
PricelineUS$119
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates