We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Save
Share
123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$103
View Deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (273)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 78 hotels in Sandton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience a warm and friendly welcome, unsurpassed service and superb amenities in the grandeur of the Holiday Inn Sandton hotel on Rivonia Road, Johannesburg. At the Holiday Inn Sandton the accommodation is focused around your comfort while never compromising on style or quality. Located in the heart of Sandton, the hotel is in close proximity of a number of key attractions such as Sandton City, one of the largest shopping centres in the southern hemisphere, and Nelson Mandela Square, which offers a diverse range of restaurants, shops, entertainment and vibrant nightlife. A Gautrain Station just seconds away, making this the ideal Sandton base for both the business and leisure traveller, offering ease of exploration throughout Johannesburg. Whether you're overnighting for business, enjoying sundowner cocktails with friends or hosting a conference, Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road ensures a memorable experience catering for all your requirements.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Croatian and 3 more
797Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 223
  • 310
  • 168
  • 53
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TATAN wrote a review Mar 2020
Kauai, Hawaii444 contributions88 helpful votes
I’m staying here for the last day before SA total lockdown tomorrow. What a sad day for all here. Staffs here are friendly and pleasant nevertheless hiding behind their sorrows and pains with no guests coming in after this. Shoutout to Mr Alfred from concierge who ran errands for me tirelessly. He was pleasant and no questions too troublesome for him. I hoped all at HI will get over this pandemic soon and resume great service as always provided by IHG properties. Good spaced room as vouched by a spire elite members. Mall is just conveniently located next door! And Nelson Mandela Square located stones throw away by shuttle.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jaclyn F wrote a review Feb 2020
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions3 helpful votes
I will like to compliment the staff here in Sandton holiday hotel who are very friendly ! Especially vusi who is the hotel staff standing by the lift to greet the guests. He is so friendly and always smiling to guests. He has so much enthusiasm and it’s so pleasant to be greeted by his smiles every time we use the lift. He is a great asset to the hotel and I wish him all the best and he should be rewarded by the hotel management! Please do return smiles back to him when you visit this hotel. Highly recommended for people who want to have a wonderful stay in Johannesburg. Jaclyn foo
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Debpi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Jaclyn Thank you for your lovely review. We will definitely acknowledge Vusi ! We hope you have traveled safe and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Deborah Pillay General Manager
Read more
kevin c wrote a review Feb 2020
Watford, United Kingdom77 contributions16 helpful votes
Check-in was well organised for the big group, Rooms are spacious with a large comfortable bed. Good walk in shower as requested. The safe provided is not bolted to the furniture which is NOT a good feature! Lots of choice for breakfast with an efficient egg station. Roof top pool is a good place to relax. Had dinner one night, Service is a bit hap-hazard, however the food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Debpi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Kevin C Thank you for your detailed review and feedback. It allows us to continuously improve our service. We trust you have traveled safely and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Deborah Pillay General Manager
Read more
Mark V wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, Australia2 contributions
My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road for 10 days. We were felt part of the family from the minute we checked in and nothing as too much for any of the staff. The Senior management, the front desk staff, the dining staff and the bar staff were all exceptional. I big thank you especially to Winnie who was not only helpful but very sympathetic to the cause of the Australian bush fires which is very close to us. I simply cannot thank the staff enough and wish them all a wonderful year ahead. The first night the hotel dropped us off at a nearby restaurant and had arranged for the restaurant to drop us off. We felt safe at all times in Sandton as the hotel is very close to everything you would like to see. Please support this hotel as the staff deserve it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Debpi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Dear markvS8654CS Thank you for your lovely review and recognition of the team! We strive to ensure that the Holiday Inn brand service and standards are always delivered. Have a wonderful 2020 and we hope to welcome you again. Kind Regards Deborah Pillay General Manager
Read more
Tomb663 wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom23 contributions11 helpful votes
Really charming staff but everything else was dodgy. Prostitute openly plying her business in the "Chairman's Bar"; the doormen taking bribes from unauthorized taxis when you need a car (can be risky in Joburg); room safe not attached to anything so can be picked up and carried off; broken metal plug in the sink that the cleaner can see is broken but has done nothing about; and impossible to make an outside call from the room without going through the operator. All a bit of a metaphor for the downward trajectory of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Debpi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Responded 11 Dec 2019
Dear Tomb663 Thank you for your review . Please contact me directly on :deborah.pillay@tsogosun.com so that we can investigate this properly. Kind regards Deborah Pillay General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn sandton - rivonia road hotel sandton
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
301
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Nearby attractions include Sandton City Mall (0.3 km), Mushroom Park (0.4 km), and 24 Central Mall (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bull Run Restaurant, Tashas The Marc, and Saint Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Croatian, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (4.9 km).