Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel

54 Maxwell Drive 54 Maxwell Drive, Jukskei View, Sandton 2191 South Africa
Traveller (72)
La camera
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Save more with IHG One Rewards
R 1 244
Breakfast included
R 1 242
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 232
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#43 of 72 hotels in Sandton
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Set in prosperous Sandton, Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead is a 45-minute drive from O.R. Tambo International Airport. Chic chandelier lights guide you up the sweeping staircase to our Front Desk, where friendly staff will check you in. Linger over a complimentary buffet breakfast in our sunny Great Room each morning.

Get down to business with Free wireless Internet in this smart South African business hotel is well-equipped meeting room. It is air-conditioned and able to accommodate 22 people. Our self-service business center provides round-the-clock access to PCs and printers. There is ample free parking at the hotel for delegates who are arriving by car. Our mini-gym provides all the equipment needed for a good workout.

Next to the hotel is Woodmead Retail Park, packed with over 70 shops and restaurants and Sandton Convention Centre is a short 20-minute drive away. Spin the roulette wheel and splash some cash at glitzy Montecasino, 10 km away.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

54 Maxwell Drive 54 Maxwell Drive, Jukskei View, Sandton 2191 South Africa
204Reviews4Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 62
  • 73
  • 19
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ruby wrote a review Oct 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom47 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at check in could cheer up a bit...Rooms are clean, beds tiny and not comfortable, I mean king beds should come as standard nowadays right? TVs are not HD however channel selection is excellent. The hotel is in dire need to a refurb, Breakfast was ok. Shower was nice and hot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eddie D wrote a review Oct 2023
Durbanville, South Africa58 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is very clean and recently refurbished, as is the hotel. The gym is usable but I didn't see a plunge pool like other business hotels in the area. The breakfast and steak dinners are delicious..... one of the best hotel meals I have ever had. The lounge area is ok, more functional than appealing. The bar area in both the lounge and the restaurant is non-inviting, but a nice wooden deck to unwind on with a cold beverage. Alcohol prices very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anel Muller, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Dear EddieD741 Thank you for the great feedback, we do appreciate it and we are grateful that you enjoyed our stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyle Wiliams wrote a review Jun 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa71 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 5 nights recently and enjoyed my stay.

It's a 3 star hotel but delivers a very good service. The hotel doesn't try to be something it's not. The value proposition is excellent.

The location may seem a little odd as it is within an office Park but it's conveniently located for highway access to Sandton and travel time is minimal so good for business travellers.

The room is well sized. Perhaps the bed could be one size bigger though as it's a double bed. There is a desk and work chair, a lounge chair, coffee station, safe, hair dryer and hanging and packing space for clothing. Bathroom has necessary goods.

Staff are friendly and hotel is kept in a good condition.

Breakfast is good without being expansive. Muesli and cereals with yoghurt, fresh fruit, pastries and cold meats as well as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. Juices, teas and coffee are beverage options.

There is WiFi but limited to 100mb per day.

Overall the hotel provides everything you may need for a business trip or holiday stay as you'll be on the move.

A few things that would be nice are increased WiFi limit and more dstv channels.

Returning again in August and looking forward to it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StokesA wrote a review May 2023
New York City, New York21 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Holiday Inn Sandton does every top notch! While their restaurant is being renovated they upgraded the view that came with the delicious meals. Rather than relocate the dining room to one of their spacious internal conference rooms, they moved it to offer all diners the "best seat in the house." Starting the day with these views was inspiring and energizing. But the real boost of confidence comes in knowing I was staying where everything matters to this team as much as it does to me. See you again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NATO2012 wrote a review Oct 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa1,081 contribution268 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to stay here on a business trip to Joburg only because of the IHG rewards. What a mistake. Located inside a commercial office park in the middle of no where it should be classed as a 1 star.

Biggest issue is the WiFi wasn’t working. How can a hotel cater for business people and not have working internet. They said the fibre was out all over the area which which nonsense. They should have warned me before hand. I spent a fortune on cellular date. They did give me a credit of R350 off my bill the next morning only after I moaned about it.

Then one gets to the rooms, the most uncomfortable wooden chair at the desk. So bad I had to ask for reception to get me another chair. They bought up a chair which stank of cigarette smoke.

The only good thing about this hotel was that it has battery backup during load shedding and the beds and linen are good.

They also didn’t give me my welcome points.

Besides that IHG should boot them as a hotel. Avoid and rather stay at the holiday inn or tambo.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask if the wifi is working before u check in
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Hi NATO2012, We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead for your leisure stay. Providing an excellent level of hospitality and cleanliness is our topmost priority. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your time with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from reoccurring in the future. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
krugerandmore wrote a review Feb 2020
Mbombela, South Africa370 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a week end with our son.
The room was pleasant.
The staff very friendly and helpful always sort out our problems quickly like opening the safe.
Breakfast was good value.
Vibe bistro was great for dinner.
Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIEX_11, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear Krugerandmore Thank you for the great feedback. We are so grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in serving you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priscilla A wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff exceptionally pleasant and always happy to help. All towels and linen changed daily. No cap on wifi. 24/7 wi fi with as many gadgets as the family had. The free breakfast was scrumptious with a few daily tweaks to avoid monotony. Hotel was clean with 24 hour access to Gym. The restaurant was reasonably priced. I'd happily go back again and again and again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sahar Eldad wrote a review May 2023
Los Angeles, California2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They don’t even have a lock on the door. The lighting is really bad in the room. There is a generator in the front side of the hotel. It’s extremely noisy difficult to sleep not mention the freeway I will just find another hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Responded 08 Jun 2023
Hello eldadsahar, Thank you for staying and choosing our Holiday Inn Express Sandton - Woodmead. We appreciate you being a member of our IHG® One Rewards program! We always strive to provide the best service to our guests. I'm sorry for the experience. I shared this with our hotel management team. I'm certain that your feedback will be used as a reference for improvement. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. I hope you'll consider us again for your future accommodation needs! Stay safe, Jomar M. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madey00 wrote a review Feb 2015
Dallas, Texas40 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for a week, indeed it's "Express", it lacks many amenities you might expect in other hotels. The hotel is located inside business park and you have to have a car to go in and out, for convenience, otherwise there's nothing nearby. The rooms were clean and comfortable, free internet and the breakfast was good. The staff were great. But you have to go down to collect your room service food, they don't deliver to your room. I bought an insulin medication for diabetic child and the rooms are not equipped with fridge, which is very inconvenient. I had to ask the pharmacist to keep it in their fridge. There's no closets in the room to hang your clothes, especially if you'll be staying for a week or so. It's a hotel for a night or two max.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking, as the others that face the highway tend to be noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIEX_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Responded 05 Mar 2015
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Woodmead. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please accept my sincere apologies inconveniences caused during your stay. I have discussed these comments with the relevant department heads in order to improve guest service experience. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and compliments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours sincerely, Liezl Bekker General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ecsonza wrote a review Jan 2015
Cape Town, South Africa1,510 contribution96 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My family stayed a Saturday night - Room 112 & Room 116. The hotel is situated in a business centre, so do not expect to get that holiday feeling. Good things - We had a really good deal on the rooms on a booking.com special - so for R1280 for 2 rooms, accommodating 4 adults - we cannot complain. The rooms were clean. Buffet breakfast was good - delicious fresh fruit and croissants were also good. Comfortable bed and pillows and good quality bed linen. Undercover secure parking. Not so good things: Room 112 had spacious balcony but not furnished and it faces a very noisy highway. From previous reviews - I requested the hotel for a room that faces the parking lot - but alas they ignored this request. On the Saturday 24-January, when we arrived, the duty manager was rather unfriendly, but when we checked out the next day we had a really friendly duty manager. We found the cleaning routine a bit odd. Check out is at 11h00, but by 9h00 there was a cleaner in our room and they removed all the bedding and bath towels, so we couldn't do a wash up before we checked out. This was a bit annoying and the cleaner was rather rude and insisted that she needs to remove the towels. The "free" internet access of 100mb per day - didn't even work so this was frustrating. The hotel is only convenient if you are doing business in the business centre, otherwise you must have a car as there is nothing within walking distance. Definitely only for 1 night and I would not pay the full price. I wouldn't say that this was poor accommodation but there could definitely be improvements on staff training. This is for the hard core business traveller who doesn't care about ambiance or quiet but needs value for money accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: As for room facing the parking lot but make sure that they have done this when you check in as...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2015
Dear ecsonza, Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. It's nice to hear that you have been more than satisfied with our breakfast quality as well as with the cozy beds and pillows. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered with the internet connection and also that our staff was not as friendly and accommodating like you were expecting. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I hope you will give us another chance to let you see how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Pascal N Case Manager IHGCare
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bethan88_12 asked a question Jan 2019
Pontyclun, United Kingdom33 contributions7 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served?
Bethan88_12 asked a question Jan 2019
Pontyclun, United Kingdom33 contributions7 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served?
Answer from cindywilsonsa
Cape Town, South Africa85 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi. Breakfast is served from 06;30-09:30
Answer from Janice B
23 contributions8 helpful votes
No shuttle, only the restaurant at the hotel, during the night there are not that much options, you will have to move around in taxi or car. Hotels restaurant is pretty good though.
squirrel_dust wrote a tip Sept 2023
Pretoria, South Africa24 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"look at other options nearby if you can"
Read full review
QW Teo wrote a tip Aug 2023
Singapore, Singapore95 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request for room away from highway if noise is a concern."
Read full review
NATO2012 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa1,081 contribution268 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask if the wifi is working before u check in"
Read full review
TravelLions wrote a tip Sept 2019
Lion City190 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room on the side of the highway. Pleasant view"
Read full review
samuel n wrote a tip Jul 2018
5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Break fast on the balcony is a must when the sun is out....Space is limited though"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandton area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,072 - R 1,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express sandton-woodmead hotel sandton, sandton holiday inn
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS SANDTON WOODMEAD, AN IHG HOTEL - Now R 1 075 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶2̶2̶6̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Liliesleaf (3.7 km), Montecasino (7.9 km), and Monte Casino (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery, Ristorante La Trinita, and The Big Mouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (12.0 km), L. Ron Hubbard - Linksfield Ridge House (13.8 km), and Franz Hoenig Hauz (9.0 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sandton HotelsSandton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SandtonHotels near Holiday Inn Express Sandton Woodmead, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire