We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg

Corner of 14th Hendrik Potgieter Street Weltevreden Park, Roodepoort 1739 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Roodepoort
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
ANEW Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. ANEW Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesberg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

Corner of 14th Hendrik Potgieter Street Weltevreden Park, Roodepoort 1739 South Africa
ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
126Reviews2Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 37
  • 24
  • 15
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kyla v wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The second time I’ve stayed here and the second time I’ve booked a transfer only to call and confirm a day before and no one has any knowledge, no apology and no explanation. Needless to say I didn’t get a transfer. The shower was missing handles to open the door for within which made it hard to get out. Hair dryer broken, no water given in the room. The kitchen staff in the morning were beyond lovely though.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kyla V, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. We have done some investigation on the feedback you provided us. Unfortunately, we did find the hairdryer in your room broken. We do have spare ones on standby and have replaced the broken one. We are not aware of this being reported during your stay and we sincerely apologise for this not being actioned whilst you visited. None of our showers have handles on the inside. The rubber seal is on the outside of the door; hence it should only take a light push to open the door. We did look at the shower door and there does not seem to be anything restricting the door from opening. We sincerely apologise if this was the case whilst you visited us. Somewhere there must be some misunderstanding with the transfer. Our reservationist did receive your request for a transfer. Upon our inquiry on the transfer with the booker of your group, it was confirmed that communication was provided with you that an UBER was to be requested. My understanding is that there was several phone communications with ourselves and you about the UBER request. We sincerely apologise if this was not communicated to us correctly. We can only action on the information we receive. The reception staff is to advise all our guests on check-in that water provided is placed in the mini fridge in your room. Sadly, it seems this was not communicated to you. We proud ourselves in creating a home away from home feel and it is never acceptable and always disappointing when we failed in our guest’s expectation. “With age, comes wisdom. With travel, comes understanding.” – Sandra Lake When we receive feedback, we always learn from what has been provided, to do better. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to this area. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze General Manager charmaine@anewhotels.co.za
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anna wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
On the night we checked in, two of your employees were fiddling and trying to open our door and eventually succeeded to enter the room. A guy and a girl. While noticing that one person was awakened by all the noise, they just turned back and said nothing. What could they possibly want at 10pm? The receptionist later called to confirm whether the room was occupied. Which was pointless after 2 of your employees already barged in.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sightseer33508645909, Thank you for your feedback on your resent visit to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. Thank you for taking my call and giving me time to explain what accrued. The safety of our guests is of vital importance, and this was a very unforeseen incident. We proud ourselves in creating a home away from home feel and it is never acceptable and always disappointing when we failed in our guest’s expectation. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to this area. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze General Manager charmaine@anewhotels.co.za
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrZeph wrote a review Dec 2023
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Beautful hotel, warm welcome Great reception, classy rooms with comfortable bed, friendly room service and great food with options to eat around, all my visitors enjoy their stay at Anew hotel Roodepoort, I always get best service Thank you to the manager and the team
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Dear MrZeph, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. We are humbled by your positive rating and feedback. “With age, comes wisdom. With travel, comes understanding.” – Sandra Lake Wishing you and your family a Peacefull and Blessed Festive Season. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
siphokazimac wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Their service is extraordinary. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. I was really amazed by their professionalism. I will definitely go back. My event was a huge success thanks to them. It was my first time there and wow I'm blown away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent visit at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. Reading that everybody in our TEAM provided you with true Roodepoort hospitality, is heartwarming and humbling. I know Alice played a huge role in the success of your event. “The customer’s perception is your reality.” – Kate Zabriskie We look forward in welcoming you back soon for another successful event. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
848boitumelo wrote a review Nov 2023
Nigel, South Africa1 contribution
Great spacious rooms when traveling with family. Their staff is always willing to help, our breakfast packs were already ready when we got to reception as we were in a hurry. Would definitely book again next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Dear 84boitumelo, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent visit at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. Reading that our TEAM provided you with true Roodepoort hospitality, is truly heartwarming and humbling. “The customer’s perception is your reality.” – Kate Zabriskie We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PamNicholsonSirFruit wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We always book our staff/Executive at the Anew Hotel. It is practical, affordable and offers great service. the staff are always helpful and accommodating to our specific needs. It is definitely our preference for all our business travel requirements.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 17 Oct 2023
Dear PamNicholsonSirFruit, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent visit at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. "Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.” - Unknown It is heart-warming to hear that you were treated you with care. It is a rare camaraderie, when companies with such similar values can support each other in business. We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ren_l942 wrote a review Oct 2023
Brackenfell84 contributions4 helpful votes
I enjoyed the stay. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and personnel friendly and helpful. It was peaceful and allowed for comfortable sleeping. Safe parking is provided and it is close to shopping centre, petrol garage and restaurants
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 13 Oct 2023
Dear ren-1942, Thank you for taking the write a review about your stay at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide. Commentary assists us in our strive for consistency and meeting our guest’s expectation. “With age, comes wisdom. With travel, comes understanding.” – Sandra Lake We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nonto B wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
I have been staying at this hotel since Protea days and never had I experience such, upon check in Jamie seemed like she didn't want to assist us because of our skin color, we went to our room and she gave us a twin room when we had booked 1 king size bed, when we called reception she was not interested in changing us,until the following day a we spoke to the other lady and she apologized and gave us another room which we had initially booked. We sat at the restaurant and saw her checking in people of her color and she was different at this point, smiling and explaining everything.I will never stay at this hotel again because of this lady, I wonder how she treats other fellow colleagues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Dear n0nt0b, Thank you for taking the time in providing us feedback on your recent visit to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. We sincerely apologise for the mentioned treatment. As a norm, feedback on the receptionist you mentioned, is positive and she is well loved by her colleagues. We do not tolerate discrimination of any kind and we will definitely investigate this matter further. I could not find your booking on our system. I will appreciate it if you could send me an email with your stay date in order for me to track the flow of events. I have enclosed my email below. It is never acceptable and always disappointing when we failed in our guest’s expectation. We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to this area. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze General Manager charmaine@anewhotels.co.za
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BRed01 wrote a review Aug 2023
Lephalale, South Africa1 contribution
A lovely hotel! The staff are very friendly and obliging - every request was met with a smile. Our check in & out was quick & our room spotless. Good value for money - I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Dear BRed01, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent visit at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. Reading that everybody in our TEAM provided you with true Roodepoort hospitality, is truly heartwarming and humbling. “The customer’s perception is your reality.” – Kate Zabriskie We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kabelomotlhophe wrote a review Apr 2023
Mogale City, South Africa1 contribution
The service was good and the staff, Food also was on point chefs interacts with costumers and also their are good listeners, the room service was Excellent to an extent you will think that they always allocate a new room for you, the receptionist Kamogelo she was the best ever experience that we got she was a good listener, understanding and respects her Job thank you a lot to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort for giving us Good Service
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charmaine Kotze, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Responded 01 May 2023
Dear kabelomotlhophe, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent visit at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort. Reading that everybody in our TEAM provided you with true Roodepoort staff hospitality, is truly heartwarming and humbling. “People don’t notice whether it’s winter or summer when they’re happy.” -Anton Chekhov We look forward in welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Charmaine Kotze (charmaine@anewhotels.co.za) General Manager ANEW Hotel Roodepoort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Roodepoort area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,151 - R 1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgRoodepoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANEW HOTEL ROODEPOORT JOHANNESBURG - Now R 1 094 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶3̶2̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg
Which popular attractions are close to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Nearby attractions include Flora Guns (0.3 km), Laser Battle Zone (1.1 km), and 14th Avenue District Shopping Centre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Green and Gold, Bossa Good times bar and restaurant, and Vida e Caffe.
Does ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg have airport transportation?
Yes, ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to ANEW Hotel Roodepoort Johannesburg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (12.6 km), Mandela House (10.1 km), and Johannesburg Fort (13.1 km).