We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cnr 10th Rivonia Road, Rivonia, Sandton 2191 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/20
Hotels.com
US$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/20
Trip.com
US$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/19
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
FindHotel
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Rivonia
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Rivonia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Only 30 km from the Johannesburg airport and situated approximately 2 km from the N1 highway, 2 km from Sunninghill, 5 km from Sandton City and within walking distance of Rivonia Boulevard for shops, restaurants and entertainment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Babysitting
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
111Reviews6Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 40
  • 39
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lucky Sibiya wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Good service and everything is in order, well done for providing dinner not forgetting the lovely breakfast keep up the good service you improved a lot hand's down to that it will keep your customers happy
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
Victor B wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
excuisite it was as per my expectations. I will definately recomend it to another business person. Next time you visit Gauteng consider the road lodge before any other booking. One thing you should do is advertise your place often and make sure you have specials at all times, especially weekend specials
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 03 Nov 2020
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Rob 225 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Having been booked into the Rivonia Road Lodge in October 2019 I did not know what to expect. I had some concerns because my stay was going to be for a total of over 3 months. I'm glad to say that everything turned out to be more than ok. The staff were fantastic very friendly and accommodating and when I say staff I mean management, reception,cleaners, maintenance and security. The rooms were very clean with full coffee making facilities , clean bedding, towels and my room was cleaned every single day. Nothing was to much for the management and to be honest because my stay was longer than normal I was treated like one of the family. I would not hesitate to stay there again and when I visit Joburg my decision of where I will stay has already been made the Road Lodge Rivonia every time. Great Staff, Great Value for Money 👍😎
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look upon our hotel as a ‘home from home’ for all of our guests and strive to create an atmosphere to match this, so for us to read that you found this to be the case is truly rewarding feedback for us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Joerg W wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
The staff is always friendly and ever so helpful. The breakfast is good. WiFi excellent. I'd definitely recommend it to my friends. Thumbs up! We like South African hospitality. Good location. All in all, we had a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 13 Sep 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Jenny W wrote a review Jan 2019
Sydney8 contributions
Required to stay at this location for a tour departing the next day (Sunway Safaris). Would likely not choose this accommodation otherwise. However, the receptionist was very friendly and accommodating and check in and future encounters were pleasant. No restaurants nearby but the uber eats service is heavily pushed with the hotel providing menus for certain locations and placing your order for you. Buffet breakfast was extra (85 rand per person) starting at 6am and the food was tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 10 Jan 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such a great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Paul B wrote a review Dec 2018
30 contributions53 helpful votes
Pros Good for a two day stay, any longer will not be pleasant. Close to a lot of restaurants, walking distance. Staff is friendly. Cons Breakfast average. TV channels - SABC 1,2 and 3. Is anybody still watching SABC. No CNN? ... TV's outdated. Don't ask staff for anything, not very helpfull in this department, although they are friendly. If I had a choice..look for something else...🤨
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are a selected services brand and serve a light Continental breakfast and have limited TV channels. We have several other brands of hotels in the area to cater to a broad spectrum of guest requirements and budget: Courtyard Hotels (four-star), City Lodge Hotels (three-star) and Town Lodge (two-star). We hope to welcome you back to one of our properties soon.
Read more
882eugener wrote a review Nov 2018
Ramsgate, South Africa6 contributions
The Road Lodge in Rivonia offers a clean room and has friendly staff at an affordable price and is conveniently situated relatively close to the main business districts of Sandton, Rivonia and Bryanston.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: ask for non smoking room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Hendrik B wrote a review Oct 2018
Pringle Bay, South Africa184 contributions36 helpful votes
I stayed for 12 days. The personnel were always friendly, however the hotel`s advertisement is a downright lie. They indicated that there is a free breakfast which is not available at all. Though the bedroom was really clean and functional the wi-fi was near non-existent regardless of where in the bedroom, dining room or lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Sheena M wrote a review Sep 2018
Townsville, Australia9 contributions1 helpful vote
Only stayed overnight whilst starting sunway tour early next morning. Room was small but clean, hot water not huge privacy for toilet/shower. Since staff were friendly others were quite standoffish. Ok for one night nothing more
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BonniesGirl wrote a review Jul 2018
Sydney, Australia100 contributions206 helpful votes
We stayed one night at this hotel in late April prior to a Sunway tour that was departing from here early in the morning. We found it good value and perfectly fine for such a one-night stay, but for us it is too far out (7km from Sandton) for tourists without a car wanting to spend time seeing Johannesburg - we stayed somewhere closer in for sightseeing and just moved here for our last night. Others on our tour stayed several nights and used Uber to get around. Rooms are smallish but adequate and big enough to include an armchair. The privacy of the shower that some reviewers mention is OK - although it is glass to the room on one side, there is full wall between it and the bed/sitting area. Importantly for us, there is now a kettle and tea/coffee in the rooms, although the amount of packaging involved in this is awful and something we have not seen in any other hotel in any other country. We did unfortunately leave something important behind in the room, but it was located by management and held in Lost Property until we could arrange for a courier to pick it up. We did not encounter the noise issues recent reviewers endured - but would have been equally upset if we had. We did not have the breakfast so can't comment on that.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Rivonia
Responded 05 Jul 2018
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
road lodge rivonia hotel rivonia
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandtonRivonia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Rivonia
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Rivonia?
Nearby attractions include Liliesleaf (0.6 km), Lostland Escape Room (0.9 km), and Lostland (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Rivonia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Rivonia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Rivonia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Luca's Ristorante Italiano, Ocean Basket Sandton City, and Saigon.
Is Road Lodge Rivonia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Rivonia.
Are there any historical sites close to Road Lodge Rivonia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (11.6 km), L. Ron Hubbard - Linksfield Ridge House (14.4 km), and Franz Hoenig Hauz (11.7 km).