Muckleneuk Manor

Muckleneuk Manor

Traveller (40)
Dining (14)
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#9 of 208 guest houses in Pretoria
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Muckleneuk Manor is an exquisite boutique guesthouse, offering a tranquil and upscale retreat. Nestled in the peaceful suburb of Muckleneuk, this privately owned property, overseen by Vivienne Gunning, is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service and affordable, luxurious accommodations tailored to discerning business travelers and tourists. Conveniently situated, Muckleneuk Manor boasts a prime location, surrounded by lush greenery and equipped with all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay. The well-appointed rooms feature clean and cozy beds, ensuring a restful experience. Additionally, tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms, while a fully equipped guest kitchen with appliances such as a kettle, toaster, microwave, and fridge caters to guests' culinary needs. For those who enjoy outdoor cooking, an outdoor gas "braai" facility is provided. Furthermore, guests can purchase a "braai pakkie," consisting of two lamb chops and a sausage, from the Duty-Manager. The guesthouse prioritizes convenience and security. All rooms are en suite, complete with showers and toilets. Rooms 1 and 7 are equipped with air conditioners for added comfort. Basic amenities like fax, high-speed fiber internet, DSTV, and excellent security measures are readily available. Guests can expect quality bedding and towels for a delightful stay. The check-in time is after noon, and check-out is required by 10:00. Should you require it, a laundry service is at your disposal. Transfers to nearby shopping areas and airports, including the Gautrain Pretoria Station, can be easily arranged. Airport transfers to OR Tambo (Johannesburg) International Airport, just a 30-minute drive away, are also available. Moreover, the guesthouse is conveniently located within walking distance of the UNISA Main Campus. Start your day with a tasteful and substantial breakfast served at Muckleneuk Manor. Nearby, you'll find various notable establishments, including the Little Company of Mary Hospital, Jacaranda Hospital, and Zuid Afrikaans Hospital. For those interested in local attractions, Loftus Versveld, Voortrekker Monument, the University of Pretoria, UNISA, the South African Bureau of Standards (SABS), South African National Parks (SANPARKS), the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), and the South African Receiver of Revenue (SARS) are all easily accessible. Additionally, several embassies, such as the Egyptian Embassy, Embassy of Peru, Portuguese Embassy, and Embassy of Finland, are situated in close proximity to the guesthouse.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

270 Mears Street Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Johannesburg Intl Airport
41.6 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
33.7 km
See all flights
150Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 128
  • 18
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mmkraushaar wrote a review Feb 2024
Gauteng, South Africa
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a gem of a place! Wonderful attention to detail, beautifully decorated, very comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens, and everything one needs is available. A beautiful home away from home. We were greeted with warmth, the breakfast was delicious, the bed extremely comfortable. Every amenity is available, and the Manor is also centrally located. Will definitely be back if in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pierre van Oudtshoorn wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This beautiful guesthouse is decorated with a quiet romantic ambience and a sense of deep luxury that will fill your very soul. Vivienne and her team are unmatched in kindness and friendliness - always ready to welcome you with a lovely glass of wine to set the mood. That this place is not double the asking price per room, boggles the mind, because it sure feels like double the luxury deluxe! Treat yourself with a getaway stay at the magnificent Muckleneuk Manor!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emmie S wrote a review Apr 2021
Zurich, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Muckleneuk Manor is where I stay whenever I am in Pretoria. It is truly a home away from home. Apart from the excellent service, cleanliness, decor, comfort, and hospitality, I love to rewind in the lush garden! Even in a time when the financial crunch is visible in most guesthouses, the quality of Muckleneuk Manor´s meals, linen and maintenance is maintained.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
anubis2014 wrote a review Aug 2020
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay here was a real eye opener and can safely say it’s the best Guest House I’ve ever stayed in. The service is what makes this place special with the owner Vivien and her sidekick Lilly 2 seeing to your needs. There’s no real dinner menu, you just say what you want and it’s perfectly prepared in the outdoor kitchen/dining area. Well done to Muckleneuk Manor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SS22020 wrote a review Sept 2020
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A charming host welcomes you with personal attention to make your stay comfortable. Located close to the CBD with easy access to major routes allows you quick travel times in all directions. Great value.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Cagle wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Muckleneuk Manor is a beautiful place to stay. There are personal touches everywhere you look that just make you smile. The staff is exceptional. they go above and beyond to make life peaceful during your stay. Our plans were suddenly changed during our stay there and Vivienne stepped in to help make other arrangements that went above our expectations for such notice. While the world was in chaos from the Corona virus, we had a peaceful escape thanks to Vivienne and her staff. They are wonderful, inside and out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marlize Kunneke wrote a review Aug 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked superior room, on website with coffee maker, desk, aircon, slippers, turn down service and microwave, NONE of which was in a very small, dark room above kitchen area. Terribly noisy. On enquiry was told superior room not available
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Does not matter what you choose, you get what you get
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert P wrote a review Feb 2020
Nairobi, Kenya
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a single night on our way to a train trip. The Manor is an older house with an extensive garden. They have a spa that looked great but we were not there long enough to try. The room we had was at the front of the house. It was nice and large but only had a hand shower. The receptionist suggest we use the standup shower in the next room, which we did.

Breakfast was made to order and excellent. The two cooks made sure you had everything you wanted. I got up early and had a capachino in the garden and read the newspaper. It was quite delightful.

I have only two issues. First staying at the front of the house it was noisy both with traffic noise and, I assume, the neighbours dogs. If you go make sure you get a room at the back of the house. Second, the steps upstairs, where we stayed, do not have a common rise. That might be a problem for older people who are not very steady on their feet.

I would certainly book again, this time for a few days and a ground floor room at the back of the house.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
elisawuethrich wrote a review Apr 2024
Lausanne, Switzerland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be very careful if you book a room at this hotel, wen you have to cancel your reservation, there is no garantie you will be refunded. I booked 2 rooms in early December 2023 and canceled my booking in early January 2024. Today, April 4th 2024, the hotel has still not refunded my reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Be very careful if you book a room at this hotel, wen you have to cancel your reservation, there...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muckleneuk Manor, Owner at Muckleneuk Manor
Responded 05 Apr 2024
Dear Elisabeth, We greatly appreciate your feedback. Muckleneuk Manor sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience caused. The delay in releasing the funds was due to an issue on our end, and we have initiated the transfer. However, it appears the problem lies with the bank. Please find attached a screenshot on your email for your reference. We have made multiple attempts to address this with our bank and are actively pursuing a resolution. Rest assured, you will receive your refund promptly once the matter is resolved with the bank. We apologize once again for any inconvenience this may have caused. Best regards, Lilly and The Muckleneuk Manor Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shana712 wrote a review Nov 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment you enter you feel at home. We travelled for business and we needed a place where we can have a good rest before the next day and we found exactly that. The showers was amazing and the rooms were very comfortable. Just take note that not all rooms are the same. The first night I stayed in a room with an aircon - the rest of my stay had no aircon but a fan was provided. Thank you so much for the hospitability Lilly and Mama (I called her mamma , never got her name)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
elisawuethrich wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lausanne, Switzerland8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be very careful if you book a room at this hotel, wen you have to cancel your reservation, there is no garantie you will be refunded."
Read full review
Marlize Kunneke wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Does not matter what you choose, you get what you get"
Read full review
Heinz K wrote a tip Sept 2021
Meyerton, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All are good."
Read full review
wweakley wrote a tip Oct 2017
Walvis Bay, Namibia9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are excellent.Peaceful and quiet."
Read full review
Helen L wrote a tip Sept 2017
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania119 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"room one and was very spacious. Dead quiet, lovely garden and privacy, Upstairs also looks very desirable."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 898 - R 934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUCKLENEUK MANOR - Now R 915 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶1̶3̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Pretoria, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Muckleneuk Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Muckleneuk Manor?
Nearby attractions include Melrose House (1.0 km), Pretoria Main Train Station (1.1 km), and Burgers Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muckleneuk Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Muckleneuk Manor?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Muckleneuk Manor?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Muckleneuk Manor?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muckleneuk Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Illyria House, Summit Grill and Skybar, and Fortune Dragon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muckleneuk Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Muckleneuk Manor have airport transportation?
Yes, Muckleneuk Manor offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Muckleneuk Manor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Muckleneuk Manor offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muckleneuk Manor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near Muckleneuk Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire