We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pumbas Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$28*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Pumbas Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Pumbas Backpackers
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at Pumbas on two occasions, the first time for 2 nights and the second time for 5 nights. The place is lovely, the staff is really friendly and they gave me great advice on things to do, other places to visit and places to stay in other cities. The hostel is in a safe area, with shops and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiniMi86
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Pumbas for a couple of weeks and I had the best time there! All the staff is so friendly, welcoming and helpful and the hostel ist just super nice! It really felt like home there! The outdoor area with the pool and braai was great. The dogs are supercute as well! I will definitely come back! And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone F
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Simone, Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we loved having you and you are always welcome back here. The dogs definitely miss you very much too, we look forward to your return, and promise a braai will be waiting for you on your arrival. ;)

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This lodge is much cheaper than other lodges i had during my travel. I paid 170 rand per night and the breakfast is free. Other lodges are in average between 200-250 rand without breakfast! Next to that, this lodge is very nice decorated everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvangia
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi yvangia Thank you for your review of Pumbas! It is always great to hear the experiences from the guests that have stayed with us, We do pride ourselves in offering the best accommodation at the best rates and we are happy to know that we are still competitive within the South African market! We do hope to see you...

Trier, Germany
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Pumbas became my home during my 6 weeks stay in Pretoria. It was one of the best and most welcoming hostels I ever stayed at. I loved the garden and the pool, the staff was always friendly and helped me a lot with organizing tours and day-trips. It was a family atmosphere, Frank and Craig always considered our well-being. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadjapilz
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Nadja!! Thank you for your lovely review! We miss you ladies incredibly! You two were some of the best guests we've had the pleasure of hosting here at Pumbas! Thank you too for always being such awesome people every day of your long stay with us. Frank and I speak fondly of the good parties we had together with you...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Great space, great amenities...an overall great place to stay while in town...and beautiful pool! Craig was incredibly helpful with all our requests and questions during our stay and was also very helpful with helping us plan onwards travel (and even accommodation recommendations in other cities) Thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CallHomeSometimes
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi CallHomeSometimes! Thank you so much for your warm review! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us last year! I am glad I could be of service as much as possible and hopefully made your day trips a bit more easier and fun! I hope you had a great festive season and we hope to see you...

Wedding, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Pumbas Backpacker was one of the best Hostel experiences I've ever had. Great accommodation, hospitable staff, well equipped, nice pool, great bike rental... And the very best price-performance ratio! What more can you ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jo M! Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure hosting you two for the short period here! We hope that you are having a blast on your travels in South Africa and look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Keep safe! Kind Regards Craig

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Had an awesome stay here - Pumba's is in a great location right next to the Gautrain station in Hatfield, with loads of bars, restaurants and supermarkets only a couple of blocks away. The main tourist sights in Pretoria are really easy to visit from here - I walked to the Union Buildings, took the Gautrain into downtown Pretoria, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Scott! Thanks for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us! We hope that you can come back soon and have a ice cold beer with us (I promise it will be ice cold this time :P) and we can have a catch up with your travels. Until then, keep well and travel...

South Africa
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was a great stay and I will be back. There is everything you could need including a fire in the evenings and a kitchen that one can make full use of. You also feel safe staying here. The staff were very helpful and always willing to help where they could. The room that I stayed in unfortunately had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Craig_PumbasManager, Manager at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca! Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us, we are always looking for new ways to make everyone's stay much better and your feedback will definitely be useful to us. We hope to see you at Pumbas again soon! Regards Craig

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Had a nice time staying here, in a great location to local bars. I would significantly recommend travelling with friends however, as the area is not that safe. Staff member was very kind and helpful. Use uber to travel around. Very close to Gautrain station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlakeTravels
Frank d, Owner at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Howzit Blake! Thanks so much for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Yeah, crime is always a pain in South Africa (as you noticed) and it is unfortunately a constant battle we fight. We are lucky in our neighbourhood as we started a community patrol that is going really well and the university also provides additional security...

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

it's a nice lovely place. maybe one of just s few hostels in Pretoria. helpful stuff. however, the infrastructure is rather a little bit outdated. if it is cold outside, windows are not so good isolated. the garden at the back of the house is sweet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Remo G
Frank d, Owner at Pumbas Backpackers, responded to this review

Hiya Remo! Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback - and I agree with you 100%, the old house is starting to get a little bit creaky. The good news is we have a big revamp planned this year to sort out things like paint and wooden floors, but also the windows and doors. Hopefully it...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
4.7 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
4.1 km away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
3.0 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#9 of 72 in Pretoria
485 reviews
4.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on "Backpack Avenue" in Hatfield Pretoria, Pumbas is so close to the Gautrain station (which links directly to Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport), you can see it from the yard. Started by two avid travellers, Pumbas was built to be fun, relaxing and friendly - the perfect spot for weary travellers to unwind and come to grips with Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pumbas Backpackers

Address: 1232 Arcadia Street | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: R168 - R349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pumbas Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pumbas Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're looking for a bit more privacy choose to stay in one of the cabins.”
SiniMi86, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“I had the noise of the gate opening and closing in the evening as well as quite a bit of light coming in.”
rebeccab67, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Take the "Birdcage" single room”
0robrob123, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“there is no such thing as good room at Pumbas, all, and I mean ALL ROOMS are perfect.”
DkSelemogwe, 9 Jan 2015 | Read review
“"The Bird Cage" Room is beautiful, sunny and perfect for couples who want some cocooning !”
  • The Garden
  • The Garden and the Pool
  • The Kitchen
549laurena, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$28* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates