We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa

Save
Share
Portion 7 Boekenhoutskloof, Pretoria 134 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)

About

#19 of 214 in Pretoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Intundla Conference Venue only 55 minutes from OR Tambo / Johannesburg and 30 minutes from Pretoria, in the Dinokeng region, Gauteng Province's Eco Hub.Intundla offers CONFERENCES, TEAM BUILDING, WEDDINGS, FUNCTIONS or ROMANTIC LEISURE GETAWAYS with SPA TREATMENTS in a perfect tranquil bush setting.Intundla Conference Venue consists of two Lodges that are situated in a pristine Private Game Reserve.Intundla Conference VenueThere are 8 Conference / Function Venues, Chapel, Restaurant, Lounge, Boma, Wine Cellar & Reception / Business Centre. On the bank of the dam is a swimming pool plus cocktail bar / lounge where you can watch the spectacular bird life or sip drinks while watching the gorgeous sunsets explode over the water. The Game Lodge is built around a dam with 37 luxury en-suite thatched chalets and an Executive / Honeymoon Suite on the one side.Intundla Bush Spa and Wedding VenueThe Bush Spa is situated approximately 1km away from the Game Lodge in the natural bushveld. This small Lodge, with its luxury and “out of Africa” style is perfect for Executive Meetings; Intimate Weddings / Functions or Romantic Getaways.The Bush Spa has 8 Executive thatched en-suite chalets with an outdoor shower, luxurious bathroom, and private patio, all exquisitely decorated. The 4 Star African Bush Bar / Lounge / Restaurant leads out onto white beach sand and a large swimming pool. Adjacent to this is the intimate boma where you can spend the night around the fire under the African stars.There is also an Executive Boardroom that seats 12 and a Spa area complete with Therapy Rooms, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Outdoor Showers. However you fill your day, it begins and ends in indulgence.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Fishing
Spa
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
VIP room facilities
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Portion 7 Boekenhoutskloof, Pretoria 134 South Africa
Getting there
Johannesburg Intl Airport73 kmSee all flights
Lanseria Airport71 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
64Reviews3Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 18
  • 6
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Dimakatso Mogedi wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions
+1
The highlight of our weekend was the game drive because we thought we wouldn't see any game because of the weather but it was the complete opposite. Our wonderful game drive guide whom we crowned "MrBuch" made us laugh and taught us a lot. The rooms were amazing, the food was amazing, the staff was excellent, the spa out of this world .would come again for the ambiance
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
FionaBriggsBowden wrote a review Jan 2020
Ballito, South Africa41 contributions25 helpful votes
We attended a wedding at Intundla game Lodge on the 4th January 2020. We arrived on the 3rd at 1.00pm. Our room was not ready and so we waited. And waited. We could only check into our room at 4.30pm. The grounds were so overgrown that one of the wedding guests had to mow acres of lawn in preparation for the wedding which had been booked a year in advance - so the management had known about this wedding for a year. At the bar, whilst waiting for our room to be ready and thereafter EVERY SINGLE time we tried to order drinks we were welcomed by the usual "the world owes me something" chip on the shoulder attitude from staff (with the exception of Collins, who, if he was on duty, tried to make up for the poor service received from everyone else) where we were blatantly ignored and made to wait for service for up to 20 minutes at a time. Staff would look us in the eye and ignore us, only attending to us when they felt like it. The room was substandard indeed. On our first morning we awakened to a luke warm shower which we reported to reception only to find the following morning that the water was ice cold. The food was sub-standard. We had day-time temperatures of around 36deg and had only the smallest over-head fan in the room which made no difference to the ambient temperature or level of comfort at all. All together an awful experience and NOT recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TenealeduPlessis, Public Relations Manager at Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Hi Fiona. Thank you for your submission. As I was there setting up for the wedding let me shed some light to your assumptions as to the circumstances. The so called guest that was moving the lawn was in fact not a guest but my husband who was on hand to help because one of the mowers had given in from standing a bit over the closure period in the festive season. Bianca, the Bride, who booked this wedding was very insistent on the first weekend back after closure, and the staff all came back on the second and started to unpack and clean in preparation. Yes we understand there was water problems because of the unexpected flood in the middle of December and then trying to get things done over the festive season was a nightmare. This should not be your problem but this was also something the majority of this wedding party understood and were sympathetic to, and the Bride and Groom were also completely understanding. What you do not understand is the way the staff ran around to help. How the staff did everything for every guest despite the few hiccups until whatever time. We have also never, since we have been open, in 22 years had our staff look at guest and not help, nor have this so called chip on their shoulder. As I said I was there that weekend, and should you been treated this badly I would think that brining this to managements attention would be the solution, not comprising unsubstantiated incidents to embellish your review. We absolutely love constructive criticism and feedback, however do not submit to unmitigated circumstances. We apologized profusely that weekend and we are still absolutely mortified that the pumps were such an issue following the floods. We sincerely do apologize once again for that. Please do make sure of your facts when posting on social media with such conviction about a business page in future.
Read more
LEDC wrote a review Jan 2020
39 contributions10 helpful votes
We recently spent 3 nights in Intundla for a family wedding. While the location is undoubtedly picturesque and the staff overall very friendly, this accommodation was unsuited to our requirements. There were no travel cots or high chairs available which we had fortunately enquired about in advance of our stay so we were aware that we needed to bring a cot with us. On arrival in the early afternoon we requested a spare sheet for our travel cot and after two friendly reminders throughout the day we received loud banging at our room at 10:30pm with the sheet. Our room had no mosquito prevention, no air conditioning (there was one ceiling fan which was of little effect as it was suspended so high off the pitched thatched roof - no sufficient for South African summer temperatures), no WiFi, no tv, no hairdryer and no fridge. The room was however spacious and clean. The large doors opened out to a significant drop and we were metres from the open water of the dam, so with 2 toddlers, we had to be constantly vigilant they didn’t open the door as the fall would have been injurious as well as the risk of the water so close. This was a consideration for us as we had children but for many people, it would pose no problem so it is not necessarily a negative of the venue. The area surrounding the pool had a number of loose decking boards and numerous loose nails sticking up high which could have caused injury to anyone, but particularly children entering and exiting the pool. The grass area surrounding the pool had a number of open drain pipes which would have been easy to trip on or a small foot to get stuck in (as they were not obviously noticeable until you were right on top of them). There was also some large decorative barbed wire urns around the bar and pool area which hazardous for children. The property also has many stairs to get to the bar and Boma areas which were tricky to navigate with buggies / young children. The bridge over the dam was also unsafe and difficult for children to cross without sufficient handrails and had gaps between the boards. There is also dogs on the property, which didn’t pose a problem for use as they were friendly and our children are both dog lovers but it might be relevant for other travellers to note. Service at the bar was extremely slow due to understaffing and there was often no ice and drinks such as bottled water and soft drinks were not chilled. I was refused a request at 5:45pm to purchase slices of toast to feed my children as I was told it was too late and had to seek a manager to resolve the situation for me. The conference room close to the main restaurant was designated as an area for children to be babysat on the day of the wedding. This room was filthy dirty, with no air conditioning, and our children and other people who made use of this room, left the room covered in flea bites. We had been assured that this room would have functioning WiFi so that we could set up a WiFi camera to assist in the care of our children but having only been given access to the room shortly before the wedding meal was to commence, it transpired the router was not functioning and there was no WiFi available. All this said, the staff were friendly and accommodating of requests for a takeaway breakfast being arranged the night before check out due to a very early morning departure time and an escort by security to the main gate at 4am to allow us out of the property. Many of the concerns I have highlighted here are specific to having brought children to a venue that is just not set up to accommodate for them, and if visiting this location without children may be entirely irrelevant to some guests. However, the lack of air con in the rooms, no WiFi and the slow service would be negatives even for those not travelling as a family. I am aware we were the first guests there since the Christmas closure and unfortunately there had been flooding shortly before the christmas period, but the issues highlighted here were not connected with the flood and many were relating to maintenance which would be required for general upkeep.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Christa H wrote a review Nov 2019
Edenvale, South Africa34 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
2nd year that we had our regional year end function at Intundla on 22/11. What a blast. From the moment I started planning till the last guest left on Saturday morning nothing but brilliant service. Friendly staff, wonderful setting, great food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from TenealeduPlessis, Guest Relations Manager at Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa
Responded 26 Nov 2019
Thank you again Christa, what a pleasure having you back with us again this year!! We love clients who are more like family x
Read more
Kenna wrote a review Sep 2019
7 contributions
+1
The venue has amazing views. Generally clean. Very friendly staff. The lunch was delicious. Therapist at the spa...are great. All the ladies were satisfied. It is advisable to take your own snacks while waiting for spa treatment. Wear comfy shoes as you need to take a short walk to spa rooms. There's a boat available to sail/row to the spa.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mahala View (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Is Intundla Game Lodge & Bush Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.