We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Klipdrift 121 JR Portion 18, Pretoria 0040 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)

About

#76 of 217 Specialty lodging in Pretoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Caravan and camping in a Big5 Game reserve 40km north of Pretoria. The resort is on the banks of the Pienaars river near the little town of Hammanskraal and within Dinokeng Game Reserve. The park caters for all age groups and maintains a peaceful and safari experience. No parties and loud music are allowed at De Rust Camp Site. De Rust is a Wilderness camp and animals may roam freely through the camping area. Visit De Rust Camp Site for peace and Tranquility.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
22Reviews2Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 4
  • 4
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Angie P wrote a review Jun 2022
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
+1
It was the worst experience we have ever had. only was the owner/manager rude to our children, he then wanted to charge us double from what our invoice was, and when we wanted to show him the invoice they made out, he then said we did not include the children and that is why it is double.he started shouting and did not even wanted to look at the invoice. He then shoved my brother out of the door and closed it and called us thieves for wanting to settle our payment for the invoice we got. We then left and we shoved the outstanding amount through the door from the first invoice because there is no way I will pay double the amount if that was not our invoice.I would not recommend this place ever. I am including the invoices so you can see the children were included in the first invoice. And we only stayed 2 nights, not 3 as the last invoice suddenly said.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gert du Preez, General Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 07 Jun 2022
Always the transgressors giving bad reviews. Just pay your outstanding money. Only want to pay for 2 adults while there were 2 adults and 3 kids. X 2 bookings. Never completed the reservation correctly. Look at the rest of the reviews and don’t get sidetracked by these kind of people. Sneaky intentions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Excellent location if you want to stay in the nature reserve and use it as a base to go on the self drives in the reserve (you buy the self drive permits at the main gate of the Dinokeng reserve as you arrive, the permits are quite pricey, the De Rust Caravan Park is situated in the reserve). Gert is very helpful and when we arrived he offered us alternative stand options. We were very grateful for that as the stand we had booked (River stand 13) had little to no shade. We moved to River stand 12 which was lovely. It was obvious that he wants all the guests to have a good time. The stands are huge, well maintained and the camp has everything you need. We would definitely go back when we want to visit the nature reserve again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Simon T wrote a review Apr 2019
Shaka's Rock, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
De Rust was a great spot for a camping trip for your Easter weekend. The camp sites were huge and in great condition. Gert the owner was ever friendly and hopefully. I highly recommend and will definitely be back. Thanks Guys
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 688gertd, Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 27 Aug 2019
Thank you for your kind review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wouter van Spijker wrote a review Nov 2018
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I personally love this campsite. It is half an hour away from Pretoria, and about an hour from Joburg, but you are in the middle of nature. I saw Otters in the river next to my stand, 6 species of Kingfisher, African Finfoot, Elephants, multiple species of antelope etc. The camp has everything that you need, power, braai grids, proper toilets and showers, swimming pool. I could use the owners fridge for a few days to store my food as well. I personally don't understand the negative comments on this page. They are probably written by city people who get scared when they see a tiny insect and who leave their tent open the whole day and then complain about the monkeys. If you like a bit of quietness and nature, I can recommend everybody to come here!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 688gertd, Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 01 Dec 2018
Hi Wouter Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon. Gert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arno K wrote a review Sep 2018
Centurion, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
We arrived after sunset and were welcomed by Danian that really went the extra mile to show the area to us. He gave as an option of stands although I had a booking for Stand 7 he allowed us on a stand we liked more. We had a waterfront stand and LOVED it. All campsites are of good size and have electricity and water. Camp VERY clean and we found the ablutions to be adequate and clean. Hot water always. Izak kept our dustbin empty and he also is superb with any little task that is necessary to upkeep the property. In conclusion, I will definitely book there again .......
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We loved the river stands. But there are also nice Bush stands and then there are the normal...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 688gertd, Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 15 Sep 2018
Thank you for your kind words
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roelof v wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
Stayed there for a long weekend, and a found it disappointing. The bathrooms were never serviced, bins never emptied, braais never cleaned. In fact, braai was dirty from the previous visitors when we arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 688gertd, Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 15 Sep 2018
Hi Roelof We can’t find your booking with us on the long weekend. Maybe you are confusing us with other De Rust resorts at Rust De Winter or Hartebeespoort. We are inside Dinokeng Game Reserve north of Pretoria. Please contact us should you have any questions
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob TheBuilder wrote a review Aug 2018
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
We traveled from Jhb to Kruger stopping over here. Did not expect a wildlife campsite so close to Jhb. We saw many animals driving just from the gate to the park. The owners are very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us even when we arrived late.The campsite and ablutions are very neat and clean. We stayed another day to do the self drive. We had an awsome ime and will be back John and Hilda
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trudie G wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We visited the past weekend (17 - 19 August 2018)... To sum up the resort: poor and grossly neglected. We have been disappointed at the overall condition of the resort and ablution blocks. The ablutions were not cleaned / swept properly (spider webs, dust, dead grass, etc), shower curtains not properly hooked in, water flow of taps pathetic (one had decent flow), shower heads spraying all over the shower floor as a result of scale on shower heads, towels filthy/not changed for whole weekend, etc. The walls/doors scream for a little paint! Grids on braai were rusted/damaged and had big holes in it - luckily we had a hinged grid we could use over the holes/instead. On top of it (and we understand management are not to blame): the monkeys made it impossible to relax for a second - they were all over the place the whole time and got away with guests belongings, food and anything they could grab and rush into the trees/bushes with. Nothing was safe and one had to watch your belongings the whole time. This venue most certainly will need a lot of attention, care and improvement before it could be considered in future and it can't be compared to any of the other resorts in Dinokeng... We seriously doubt if we will ever return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 688gertd, General Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 22 Aug 2018
Dear Trudie Grobler (0824627020) We are sorry to hear that we did not did not live up to your high expectations. As we have to rely on borehole water we do have some minerals in the water but very safe to consume. As we are not serviced by Tswane Metro we are solely self-sufficient. We are a wilderness campsite inside a big 5 game reserve, It seems that you were expecting a more Mc Donalds kind of Campsite with bling and lots of waterslides and a couple of swimming pools with paved footpaths and shopping centres nearby. It is also confusing that you say the ablutions not serviced but me and you had a conversation outside the ablutions when you we were busy servicing them? Please note we are a wilderness campsite and not a resort. There are many resorts near the reserve. Please contact me should you have any more queries. Regards Gert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave O wrote a review Aug 2018
Dundee, South Africa13 contributions3 helpful votes
Camp Sites are nice. Ablutions needs attention. Shower heads need cleaning and pressure need to be balanced or a small pressure pump be installed. Stayed in a bush site very hard and rocky. Battled to knock in tent pegs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
essiee2015 wrote a review May 2018
Skukuza4 contributions2 helpful votes
We visited De Rust over the weekend of 27/4-30/5. I paid the FULL amount upon registration 2 months prior to the weekend and had to endure unprofessional rudeness and many phone calls to Gert just to obtain confirmation of reservation. During our stay the ablution facilities were dirty and a toilet in the female facilities were not working. When my wife reported it to Gert he immediately blamed the female campers for not allowing the 1 male cleaner to enter the facilities as well as the high number of campers (80) making use of the facility. After we left I received an e-mail from Gert complaining about the fire we made on the ground at our camping place. At no stage were we given a list of rules nor did he specifically asked us not to make a fire on the ground. We were 3 caravans on 2 sites with only 1 braai? It is clear that Gert has very little intention to service his customers and for this reason I will never visit De Rust again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 688gertd, Manager at De Rust Caravan Park
Responded 03 May 2018
It is always the problem customers that write the bad reviews. Like you mention above, around 80 visitors to De Rust that were very happy, but then you. As per our Terms and conditions, that you have confirmed that you have read it and understood the conditions when you reserved (confirmed by your deposit/full payment). You have clearly transgressed these by making big bonfires on the ground. Our staff had to clean your stand. I spoke to you about it only to find out that you made another fire on the ground on your final night. With big tree trunks from the bush, your fires were so hot it delayed the move in of new visitors to the stand after you vacated. The two stands that you booked are stands that are always reserved as as one. It was your preference. We do have loose standing braais available if you had ask. Though there is a difference between a braai and a boma for a fire pit. As per many other reviews on here our toilets are always serviced and cleaned. As per the email you mentioned, you are banned and restricted from De Rust. It is not your choice to visit us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about De Rust Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to De Rust Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Dinokeng Game Reserve (1.6 km), Carousel Casino & Entertainment World (5.9 km), and Makopa Reptile Park (3.7 km).
Is parking available at De Rust Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De Rust Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thunder Bay Spur Steak Ranch, Nando's, and Debonairs Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at De Rust Caravan Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at De Rust Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is De Rust Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.