We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


1141 Burnett Street Hatfield, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21/05/13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel@Hatfield
Updated 21/05/13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#39 of 101 hotels in Pretoria
Sophisticated Pretoria accommodation. Hotel@Hatfield is situated in the trendy and upmarket suburb of Hatfield. Ideally positioned close to tourist attractions, business centres, shopping malls, embassies and sports stadiums. What more could a business or leisure traveller ask for? It also offers easy access to a host of entertainment venues and restaurants in Pretoria, as well as the Union Buildings and University of Pretoria. Hotel@Hatfield comprises of 204 contemporary rooms, designed to offer fashionable yet comfortable accommodation in Hatfield. Every room offers en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, SMART HD TV's, Wi-Fi connectivity and secure digital safes. We have a 24-hour reception desk & satellite TV with over 40 channels. Our full bar is open daily from 11am - 11pm. As a central hotel in Pretoria, the Hotel Hatfield is located within walking distance of leading attractions and landmarks in Pretoria. These include the University of Pretoria, Loftus Versveld sports stadium and the Hatfield Gautrain station, as well as bus routes and 24-hour medical centres. Enjoy easy access to all major roads and highways, as well as to O.R. Tambo Airport and the city of Johannesburg. Whatever your reason for travelling to Pretoria, you could not ask for a more perfect location for your Hatfield accommodation requirements.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Plunge pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
184Reviews4Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 57
  • 49
  • 22
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
549lea wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Your hotel was home away from home. I was very pleased with the prompt, friendly and professional service. I will recommend your hotel to anyone in search of accommodation in Pretoria. Thank you for an amazing stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
spud54 wrote a review Dec 2019
Cape Town, South Africa39 contributions48 helpful votes
This particular Protea hotel has everything you need, but nothing to celebrate unfortunately. It's fairly large, so does feel a bit chaotic around the common areas. The rooms are fine. I received a Marriot upgrade but was left wondering what a standard room looks like, since my 'upgraded' room seemed pretty regular in all aspects. Amenities were fine, besides some rather strange details like a hair dryer hidden under the TV, and a shower with no door which leaves the bathroom full of water after each use. That said, it's fine for a night, and the staff managed all processes without a hitch.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try to stay as high up as possible (away from the noise of the lobby)
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from PH-Hatfield, Manager at Hotel@Hatfield
Responded 04 Dec 2019
Dear spud54, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and have taken your comments back to our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Paulina Wehmeyer Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Ahmed wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
I stayed for 5 nights at the Protea Hatfield. The rooms was neat and the staff friendly. However I had paid for meals, but the restaurant does not cater for halaal food. I was told via email that halaal food could be sourced for an extra R400 a day. I also had an issue with the TV not working on day 3 of my stay. Nothing was done. Furthermore, there was water leaking out of the light fitting in the bathroom. This too was reported and again nothing was done. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from PH-Hatfield, Manager at Hotel@Hatfield
Responded 01 Dec 2019
Good Day Sayed270, Thank you for sharing your honest opinion regarding your stay with us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the experience you had and would like to assure you that we try our best to deliver exceptional service and a memorable stay for all our guests, it is disappointing to see that we did not achieve this with you. We have taken your feedback seriously and will investigate and improve going forward. We hope that one day you will give us an opportunity again to show you that we have made the relevant changes to make a better experience for all our guests. Kind Regards, Paulina Wehmeyer Rooms Division Manager
Read more
kapangala wrote a review Oct 2019
Arusha, Tanzania59 contributions39 helpful votes
Located at the center of Hatfield. Great services,safe and close to clubs, food courts. I recommend this facility to anyone who want 1st class service. On arrival we were greeted by a well trained and qualified staff at the front desk
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Zu_Explorer wrote a review Sep 2019
Mauritius62 contributions69 helpful votes
I stayed 4 nights. Hatfield has a changed so much since last time I was there in 2015, it much safer! The Protea was surprisingly good. Kudos to the great staff, who made a lot of effort. Except for the bar staff, they always serve whites before! Breakfast was one of the best, thanks to the omellette lady. Rooms are rather small, but it;s fine considering you are in a city centre. There is a free shuttle from the hotel to any distance less that 5km. Many many restaurants/mall right outside the hotel. Swimming pool is so tiny, they literally just put it there as a toy. All in all, I will go again, except avoid the bar area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
US$51 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
South AfricaGautengPretoria
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel@Hatfield
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel@Hatfield?
Nearby attractions include Duncan Yard (0.9 km), Springbok Park National Monument (0.2 km), and Gallerie Pieter Scheenloop (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel@Hatfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel@Hatfield?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel@Hatfield?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel@Hatfield?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel@Hatfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Relish Bistro, Dros Hatfield Restaurant, and Namaskar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel@Hatfield?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel@Hatfield have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel@Hatfield offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel@Hatfield?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel@Hatfield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel@Hatfield?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.