Hotel 224

Hotel 224

596 Francis Baard Street c/o Leyds & Francis Baard Streets, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#17 of 69 hotels in Pretoria
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel 224 is a breath of fresh air in the Pretoria three-star accommodation landscape and will surpass your every expectation. Its ideal location in the heart of the Capital City affords guests effortless access to world-class shopping destinations, cultural institutions and sport stadia. When it comes to business, the Hotel 224 provides an optimal solution. Corporate guests are not only close to major corporations and business districts, but are also provided with the finest in meeting facilities, reliable wireless connectivity throughout the building and bespoke dining options. The elegantly appointed guest rooms with luxurious double or twin bedded accommodation offers both business and leisure travellers stylish comfort with modern amenities. The majority of our rooms feature spectacular cityscape views overlooking the vast metropolis and its landmark structures such as The Union Buildings, which are particularly impressive at night. A selection of elegantly appointed apartments of varied sizes are available including: Bachelor Apartments, 2.5 Bedroom Apartments, 1.5 Bedroom Apartments and 1 Bedroom Apartments. At the Hotel 224 Serviced Apartments, our guests enjoy the benefits and comforts of hotel-like amenities but with the convenience and ease of more space and kitchen facilities associated with high-end city apartments. These fully furnished apartments are ideal for long-term stays, and are fully equipped with soft-furnishings, kitchen-ware and cooking utensils. Our guests are also afforded conveniences such as complimentary wireless internet, DSTV bouquet, housekeeping, front office, parking, restaurant and gym facilities- to mention a few. In its most recent refurbishment, two brand new architectural spaces have been created making the Hotel 224 a wonder literally from top to toe. On ground level, The Pepper Tree offers a contemporary venue that opens directly onto the tranquil outdoor deck. The deck is the perfect setting for a relaxed lunch or evening cocktails, an oasis in the concrete jungle. Ascend to the top of the building and you will find one of the most impressive venues in Pretoria. Flanked by floor-to-ceiling glass, the Lion’s Den boasts a near 360° view over the city. The tastefully decorated interior is fully equipped with a private bar and state-of-the-art conferencing equipment. The Hotel 224 is an establishment that aspires to impress you, and it will. As an established privately-owned-and-managed business, the hotel exudes warmth that remains unmatched by cookie-cutter enterprises. Contemporary and comfortable interior spaces, friendly efficient service, affordable rates, innovative business solutions and superb dining await you. The Hotel 224 – your first visit will not be your last.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

596 Francis Baard Street c/o Leyds & Francis Baard Streets, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Johannesburg Intl Airport
43.1 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
35.4 km
See all flights
344Reviews4Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 117
  • 52
  • 27
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BeautyMotsepe982 wrote a review Apr 2020
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
224 Hotel is such a wonderful place to spend your time away from home, their Staff, customer service, view, location, apartments, bar and restuarant are so amazing. 224 Hotel is strategically located in a way that you can easily access transport or even walk to wherever you want visit. For example you can take a 15 to 20 minutes walk to visit Union buildings or Pretoria Art Museum.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice V, Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 18 Jun 2020
Dear Beauty, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, the team and I are delighted we were able to assist you and that our service was above and beyond. We are looking forward to your next visit! Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wndawu161492 wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed my stay and will probably come back my next holiday.Friendly staff and delicious meals...Breakfast is wooow!!! Its location is strategic especially for shopping and also proximity to many tourist attractions to make you enjoy your stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice V, Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Wandawu, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
moepster52 wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I enjoyed my stay on a number of occasions at your facility and every time I visit your place I was never disappointed. Keep up the good work. Your food, the rooms the level of your stuff’s professionalism was always satisfactory except for one particular stuff member who was cheat charting with customers while I was having breakfast there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, General Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Dear Moepster52, Thank you for your wonderful review! I have passed this on to the team and everyone at Hotel 224 and Apartments were very happy to hear these words of appreciation and appraisal. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thepower_mandla wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recommend that all SANDF members to use Hotel 224 when visiting Pretoria. Their service is great. This is a 3 star hotel but it deserves another star. Keep up the good work staff.

I also request the employers to pay the staff very well, so that employees stay motivated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, General Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 01 Dec 2021
Dear Thepower_Mandla, Thank you for your wonderful review! I have passed this on to the team and everyone at Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments were very happy to hear these words of appreciation and appraisal. Thank you for recommending the hotel to all SANDF members, we really appreciate your continued support!! We are looking forward to hosting you again soon!! Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tsumbe r wrote a review Feb 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel failed to provide electricity to charge phones, hair dryers couldn't be switched on, laptops couldn't be switched on.
The reason for the trip was to attend a function. The phones being off meant that one was cut off from communication.
After asking reception in the morning, I was confidently told the generator only works for lights.
Consider ppl travelling into pta from far in future generator purchase please. Even if u lease it. It will go a way
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, General Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 19 Mar 2022
Dear Tsumber, Apology Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments. Firstly, I would like to thank you for staying with us at Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments. Thank you for also taking the time to review and to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We really appreciate Guest feedback to assist us in ensuring we meet and exceed our Guest expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated! Thank you for the positive feedback and for complimenting us on the location and the cleanliness in general. It is our aim to ensure Guests are always looked after and that our facilities and service is of the highest quality. I am very sorry that we disappointed you. City council had a major power failure in Pretoria CBD, that does not happen on a regular basis. The failure took place unannounced, it was beyond our control, we did not know for how long the power was going to be out for. We did our best to ensure all guests are informed about the power failure. I am really sorry to hear that you were not informed. We have a generator provides power to the Wifi, lights as well as the two lifts. Unfortunately the power plugs in the rooms are not connected to the generator. Our rooms are small and we try to ensure this is captured on our website photos and details about our rooms. We do believe our rooms are well appointed and laid out for the space available and we ensure our rates are ibn line with the offering and with our competitors. We have a guest laundry room on the lower ground floor with ironing facilities, alternatively and iron and ironing board can be brought to your room (subject to availability at the time of the request). We are in the process of installing hairdryers in all our rooms. Kindly note that we have soft pillows available from the front desk on request, the front desk is available 24/7. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused. This situation certainly does not portray the high level of service we pride ourselves in at the Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments and we will do all in our power to ensure we improve on our service. We have taken your comments to heart and we will make an assertive effort to ensure that we deal with the situation better, in the future. We do really hope that we will see you soon again. Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juan F wrote a review Nov 2020
Stilfontein
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the staff from beginning to end of stay, realy do treat guests with decency and friendliness. Bar staff nice, but Best was Mosa whom helped us at dinner, exceptional. Thank you. Rooms spotless and clean, fresh.

Just only dissatisfaction was with a inconsiderate guest who let of fire alarm late at night, and when contacted reception, we had in a time span of roughly an hour phone twice for them to come sort it out. As this was first time bringing my Mother with.

We bragged about this hotel numerous times, but with their delayed response, waking up dead tired and barely sleep. Drove home with sour taste in mouth.

Stayed in rooms 911 &
913 on Saturday 7th November.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, General Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Dear Angreebunee First of all, I would like to thank you for the kind words and for complimenting our Staff in general and in particular Mosa, that is an exceptional member of our TEAM. Thank you for staying with us and for the compliments. At Hotel 224 and serviced apartments we take Guest Comments very serious and we are delighted when we impress Guests but also disappointed when we let you down. Please accept my sincere apology for the alarm that woke you up during the night and for the fact that the alarm was not silenced immediately. We have addressed this situation with our Night managers and will ensure that we deal with situations like these in a better way going forward. I am really sorry that we let you down, especially when you wanted to impress your Mom. Please let me know when you are planning a stay in Pretoria in the future as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a new self-catering apartments, just as a small token of our concern. Thank you again for the comments and please allow us another opportunity to afford you true Hotel 224 hospitality and service. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Derick Tait General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debraputuka wrote a review Sept 2023
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall I liked the hotel especially the service delivery. To my dislike I found the bathroom space to be way too small. Secondly, there are no big/full body mirrors in the room, please do something about that I think the female guests will appreciate that.
Lastly, the desk/ dressing table lamp was not working in my room I had to use the main light in order to work on my documents.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, Revenue Management at Hotel 224
Responded 29 Sept 2023
Dear Debraputuka Thank you for staying with us for the duration of the training course you attended. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service. Our standard rooms are 18m2, although our rooms are small and we try to ensure this is captured on our website photos and details about our rooms. We do believe our rooms are well appointed and laid out for the space available and we ensure our rates are in line with the offering and with our competitors. I am very sorry to hear that the light at the dressing table did not work. I addressed this with the housekeeping ladies, we have to ensure that everything works correctly in the rooms. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience. I hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrdomoney wrote a review Mar 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good rooms and excellent breakfast. The Wi-Fi is fast and you can stream Netflix and YouTube on the TV. Room service is excellent and the meals were very good I strongly recommend this Hotel 224 to my Military Commrades.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, Revenue Management at Hotel 224
Responded 25 Mar 2024
Dear Mr. DoMoney, Thank you for your review and for recommending the hotel to other Military members. We are looking forward to hearing from you again soon! Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandiletshemese wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at Hotel 224 was amazing. First, the staff was welcoming and professional. Second, the rooms were clean and neat. Third, the food was fresh and up to standard. Last, the atmosphere of the facility is refreshing. I would recommend it to anyone who wants accommodation for business or holiday travel in Pretoria.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, General Manager at Hotel 224
Responded 03 Jan 2023
Dear Sandiletshemese, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lekayza wrote a review Feb 2024
Hoedspruit, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel serves excellent breakfast.
Majority of staff members are kind and friendly. Few challenges:
1. Basement parking slots are too small.
2. No iron and ironing board in the room.
3. Some aircons not serviced regularly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernice Van Ziji, Revenue Management at Hotel 224
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Dear Kejayza, Thank you for choosing Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments and for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Thank you for your feedback regarding the staff and the breakfast buffet, we appreciate your positive comments. Kindly note that the pillars in the basement area are structural and cannot be moved. We have alternative parking available in Leyds street for larger vehicles. Please also note that we have loose irons and ironing boards available from the front desk - to request one to be brought to your room, please dial 9 from the phone in your room. Regarding the aircons, I am very sorry to hear that your aircon did not work correctly. Please in future call the front desk so that we can let one of the maintenance team members assist you with the aircon. We have a scheduled maintenance plan to service the aircons. It happens from time to time that the settings on the remotes are changed. The settings are checked daily by the room attendants. I really hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind regards Bernice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Bernice V
Pretoria
Good day, Thank you for your enquiry regarding Hotel 224 and Serviced Apartments. Unfortunately we do not offer day rates, only overnight stays. Our rates varies according to occupancy. Please may we ask you to contact the hotel on 012 440 5281 so that we can assist. Kind regards Bernice
Answer from Bernice V
Pretoria
Good afternoon, Thank you for your enquiry, the hotel is less than one KM from the hotel. The hotel is on the corner of Francis Baard and Leyds streets, Arcadia. The eye institute is just further up in Francis Baard. Do not hesitate to contact us should you have any queries. Warm regards Bernice
Answer from Bernice V
Pretoria
Good morning. Please accept my apologies for the delayed response. For future reference, we do offer transport to and from the airport. The rate is R600.00 per person per trip. Discount is offered to 2 or more guests traveling together as one trip. Kind regards Bernice
UrsFel asked a question Sept 2014
Rijswijk, The Netherlands4 contributions1 helpful vote
wat kost ophaalservice vanaf airport??
Answer from Bernice V
Pretoria
Good day, The airport shuttle is available @ R550.00 per trip for a single guest. Group discounts are available on request. KInd regards Bernice
Canon L wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"BOOK NOW!!"
Read full review
Phyllis wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms on the lower floors are better"
Read full review
Matt Eve wrote a tip Feb 2019
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"When you want to have a shuttle service think twice before choosing this hotel, for us it was a nightmare of a service."
Read full review
T T wrote a tip Aug 2018
Kuruman, South Africa8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful view of the Union Building!"
Read full review
Papi J wrote a tip May 2018
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"best service"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 613 - R 937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
224 hotel pretoria
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
224
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL 224 - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Pretoria, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel 224
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel 224?
Nearby attractions include Statue of Nelson Mandela (0.7 km), Union Buildings (0.7 km), and Market @ the Sheds (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel 224?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel 224?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel 224?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel 224?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel 224?
Conveniently located restaurants include Europa Lounge Experience, Golden Canyon Spur Steak Ranch, and Nando's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel 224?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel 224 have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel 224 offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel 224?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel 224 offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel 224?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Union Buildings (0.7 km), Sammy Marks House (1.9 km), and Melrose House (1.9 km).
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near Hotel 224
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire