Chancellors Court Guest House

Chancellors Court Guest House

797 Park Street Hatfield, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

2.5
#9 of 9 cottages in Pretoria
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chancellor's Court is a unique retreat, providing business people and tourists with accommodation of distinction. Chancellor's Court offers thirteen functionally designed self-contained living units, including Standard rooms, Studios, Suites and two bedroom Family apartments for up to five people. Set apart, each with its own outside entrance, for privacy and independence, the units are individually decorated with style and flair for the discerning visitor. Each with a spacious en-suite bedroom, en-suite bathroom and fully equipped kitchenette. Air-conditioning, satellite TV, radio wake-up alarm, telephone and mini-safe is standard to all apartments. Chancellor's Court is conveniently situated in Pretoria's Embassy area with easy access to the Pretoria city center and the N1 motorway. It is only 40 minutes from Johannesburg International airport OR Tambo and just steps away from Loftus Stadium.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

797 Park Street Hatfield, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Johannesburg Intl Airport
42.7 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
36.1 km
See all flights
10Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mwamba N wrote a review Jan 2019
Jwaneng, Botswana
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Chancellor guest house is no frills family destination if all you need is a place to come to after sightseeing and shopping. The staff is friendly to a fault.

However, having booked and specified the requirements and confirmed booking with payment, we were taken aback to discover that we didn’t get what we asked for.

The apartment we were given was clean but there was evidence that some renovations were going on. Overall for a place to rest it was acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S wrote a review Aug 2012
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this B&B while I attended a conference at TUCS. Overall, it was a strange stay and I think that you could probably find a better option. When I arrived and when I left, there was no one at reception. I rang the bell at the gate and a very nice cleaning lady took care of me (both times). The room was rather odd, like a converted garage, with a separate kitchen area that had an inside door which apparently led to the security office. It was nice to have a small fridge, plates/utensils, and coffee plunger, but there were no kitchen cloths or sponges (which became an issue when I spilled something) and there were ants. The worst thing, however, was the internet. I chose this location because they said wireless was available. In order to connect, I ended up sitting outside at a concrete table in front of the reception room (usually in the dark in the morning and evening). Not fun. It was also a fairly long walk to any restaurants or food.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, and the TV worked.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia-Chancellors, Front Office Manager at Chancellors Court Guest House
Responded 12 Dec 2017
We apologize for that bad experience you had, we have new management now and the services are excellent.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MRowlands wrote a review Aug 2009
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My father and I booked 3 nights (at SAR 1100 per night !!!!) to see the Lions rugby tour. Clearly the owner assumes that rugby fans do not require a quality room so they put us in a grotty bedroom right next to the kitchen, which starts banging pots at 6:00am. The poky bathroom had peeling / mouldy wallpaper on the ceiling and the laminate floor in the bedroom was so distorted from a flood that it had been screwed down - creating a bouncy wave!

Only stay here is you need a room that is close to Loftus Road stadium!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia-Chancellors, Front Office Manager at Chancellors Court Guest House
Responded 13 Dec 2017
We apologize for that bad experience you had, we have new management now and the services are excellent.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
koolkookaburra wrote a review Nov 2011
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (2 children, 2 adults) stayed here twice during our recent trip to SA. The rooms are very clean and spacious, the courtyard areas are quiet and green and the pool is nice. The breakfast choice is excellent.

The real winner for CC is the excellent staff. From the owner Vera and her daughter Luciana to the caring help (shouts to Elsie, Rachel, Dana, Mustapha and Jean) the service is unmatched in Pretoria or anywhere in SA.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 8 are the best on the premises
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paul S wrote a review Feb 2012
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We ( my family) stayed at Chancellors last year December, it was absolutely amazing! We received a very warm welcome from the hosts, who are very friendly.
Breakfasts are delicious, but specially dinner. :-) Units are very clean and comfortable, with all things we needed (self catering) . We had a thoroughly great experience, great value for money!!

Thank you and see you soon!!!

Paul
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The biggest units are 8 and 10, AWESOME!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen E wrote a review Aug 2019
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked and paid through bookings.com (a king/executive suite) and were shown to a disgusting dingy little room which didn't even VAGUELY resemble the photos online. When I queried this, I was told that bookings.com do not have updated and correct images and do not liaise with the property which resulted in a double booking!
I was offered a full refund or free breakfast - both of which I declined as it was too late in the day to find alternative accommodation and didn't want to dare try the food in that establishment, given the general appearance of the place. We begrudgingly spent the night there (after attending a rugby match at nearby Loftus Versfeld). The toilet was broken and didn't flush - we were told that it was due to a municipal problem (but the taps all had running water). Although we could accept that the DSTV bouquet is very limited, the channels available were not at all watchable - shocking picture quality.
Incidentally, following the bookings.com booking, I had made SEVERAL calls directly to the property in the week prior to our arrival and had confirmed everything via telephone...….
We eventually took a mere R200 cash refund and ran for cover!
Quite honestly, we should have received a FULL refund for this terrible experience.
(the cleaning lady was sweet and friendly)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: There doesnt appear to be a good room in this establishment!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
834kim wrote a review Mar 2017
Mbabane, Eswatini (Swaziland)
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I liked the services, the rates are affordable, well furnished rooms
its a good place to stay in in Pretoria, its quite no disruptions
the rooms are really good for self catering
the management is the best i recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia-Chancellors, Front Office Manager at Chancellors Court Guest House
Responded 12 Dec 2017
Thanks. Hope to host you another time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WPNel wrote a review Sept 2015
Pretoria, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The website is a total misinterpretation of what you will get. I complained and was made out as a racist and was sweared at by the manager (owner). Very bad experience. Would not recommend it at all. Room we stayed in was in desperate need of maintenance. Website indicates breakfast is included but when we arrived for breakfast the morning we were told it was not.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia-Chancellors, Front Office Manager at Chancellors Court Guest House
Responded 12 Dec 2017
We apologize for the experience you got during that time, we have a new management now and the services are excellent.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E S wrote a review May 2014
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The managers are very unreliable and dishonest.

We stayed here before five years ago, then our stay was reasonable except for an overbooking which they handled OK, they moved us to another unit which was bigger than the one we booked.
I think new managers are around this time.

Me and family (with small children) booked the downstairs family unit. After we had paid the deposit we got confirmation that unit 8 was reserved for us. I found it strange that they didn't specify the downstairs unit, so I went looking on tripadvisor, and there, unit 8 was advertised as an upstairs unit. When I e-mailed the managers that I had booked the downstairs unit, they first told me I was late in my confirmation (this was not true since I confirmed and paid the deposit within 24 hours). Then they told me I had misunderstood their e-mail, and that they had written that 'the downstairs unit is booked' instead of 'we have booked the downstairs unit for you'. Again, this was not true since of course this was in writing in our e-mail conversation. Then they told me the unit was already booked for the next 3 months, but they could offer me another downstairs suite with extra beds.

I told them this was not what I had booked, we really needed the downstairs family unit and not a suite, and I requested my money back. Then suddenly the people who were in the downstairs unit were expected to leave just before our arrival was scheduled.

I told them I felt very uncomfortable with all these different explanations and accusations and that I really wanted my deposit back (since I am cancelling more than 21 days in advance).

They had to confirm with the owner, and later e-mailed me they were going to refund me and we could give our bankdetails.

I haven't heard from them in weeks, our money is probably gone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia-Chancellors, Front Office Manager at Chancellors Court Guest House
Responded 12 Dec 2017
We apologize for that bad experience you had, we have new management now and the services are excellent.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miriam Bialik van Wees wrote a review Dec 2011
Severna Park, Maryland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had been looking forward to our stay here for weeks. We had even gone to check the room we would be staying in in person and to view the grounds. Upon arrival we were given a different room, half the size, with not enough beds for our little family, with no way to cook, even though it is advertised to be a self catering, and no apologies. the hostess did go out to purchase a small toaster over and hot plate though, once i complained loudly. We made do with the tiny flat as we had no other option. Other things- no way to make coffee in the morning and the "breakfast" served instant chicory (horrible imitation coffee made from a kind of tree bark i think) no real coffee of any kind.

The reception was close the entire time we were there with the exception of a few minutes every morning, so there was no way to contact anyone. in the rooms there were no telephone numbers of reception or anyone else who could help in case of need. besides that, the telephone didn't work anyways, so ordering delivery dinner had to be done by skype... but then that was impossible since there was no telephone # to give to the delivery person, usually required. The first night, exhausted and tired we ended up not eating dinner (with 2 small children, this is a horror) due to these annoying little shortcomings in the organisation of the place.

We were excited to see that there was a small playground, which we had noticed on our initial visit, only to realize once the kids actually started playing on it, that it was, in fact, a playground of broken and rusted toys. The frame of the playground is metal and there were so many rusted sharp ends where bits had broken off, it was dangerous. there were also several other small riding toys and such, all also broken. my children were heartbroken. other things that made the over all experience unpleasant; the shower could only be made to work spraying you directly in the face, it was a completely horizontal shower. the way it was mounted on the wall made it impossible to spray downwards at all. so it also flooded the bathroom so that there was water running under the door. on white smooth tiles, this made for more than a bit of a mess and a few bonked heads.

Also, although this place claims to be child friendly, it is impossible for children to run around barefoot due to the incredibly sharp gravel they used to landscape every where, there are a few stepping stones in the gravel, but very few. Finally, the infestation of mosquitoes (no screens or moz nets) i'm sure was due to the inexplicable small cement pools of water dotting the grounds. I have no idea what they are go for except to purposefully breed mosquitoes, which they are doing quite well. The 2 water fountains were writhing with mosquito larvae, no surprise. the small picturesque pool was full of milky white water and a broken creepy crawly...

in short, i hated this place and counted the minutes till we left from the moment we arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Olivia-Chancellors, Front Office Manager at Chancellors Court Guest House
Responded 12 Dec 2017
We apologize for that bad experience you had, we have new management now and the services are excellent. our rooms are self catering with a kitchenette, swimming pool has just been renovated. all our services are excellent.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Karen E wrote a tip Aug 2019
Cape Town, South Africa154 contributions64 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There doesnt appear to be a good room in this establishment!"
Read full review
paul S wrote a tip Feb 2012
London, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The biggest units are 8 and 10, AWESOME!!!"
Read full review
koolkookaburra wrote a tip Nov 2011
Vancouver, Canada202 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 10 and 8 are the best on the premises"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 486 - R 522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHANCELLORS COURT GUEST HOUSE - Cottage Reviews & Price Comparison (Pretoria, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chancellors Court Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Chancellors Court Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Loftus Versfeld Stadium (0.4 km), University of Pretoria Museums (1.1 km), and Loftus Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chancellors Court Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chancellors Court Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Chancellors Court Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chancellors Court Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harries Pancakes, Cafe 41, and Elements@Church.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chancellors Court Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Chancellors Court Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Chancellors Court Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chancellors Court Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chancellors Court Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Chancellors Court Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Union Buildings (1.4 km), Sammy Marks House (3.0 km), and Melrose House (2.8 km).
Is Chancellors Court Guest House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near Chancellors Court Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire