We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets Arcadia, Pretoria 0007 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/25
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$72
TravelocityUS$72
Priceline
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (376)
Room & Suite (126)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21/03/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Updated 21/03/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 105 hotels in Pretoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mingle with locals in the heart of South Africa's capital, where colourful culture meets friendly service and inspiring views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
61Somewhat walkable
Grade: 61 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
663Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 241
  • 141
  • 60
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rachel O wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
I use to stay here regularly for work. I don’t know what on Earth has happened but the Sheraton is no longer a place to stay. Where to start… The towels were totally removed from my room and were never replaced even though I called to request towels. I had to get a clean towel from my dad staying in another room. The next day the same thing happened to him. If you didn’t know another guest with a spare clean towel… At the end of the stay I realised the pillow had NO PILLOWCASE on it! The room service food was cold and old. You can’t charge anything to your room because they don’t take cards to secure hotel purchases. Staff tend to shrug at you when you ask for anything. Everyone says to go to a different area of the hotel for anything you ask you. People kept knocking on the door and being annoyed I hadn’t checked out yet, we’ll before check out time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just avoid it completely
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rachel O, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. It is through guests' feedback that we continue to improve upon the service we provide. On behalf of the housekeeping team, I apologize for the inconvenience caused with towels being removed for washing and not returned in time, as well as the oversight of not placing pillow cases on the pillows in your room. The matter was discussed with the housekeeping team and they are committed to improve on service standards to prevent a recurrence. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations this time around, I hope you will consider our hotel next time you visit the area so that we can deliver on the guest experience you deserve. Warm regards,
Read more
Smithy wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I haves stayed in this hotel many times pre Covid and was always happy. I have stayed twice in the last month, on the first occasion the arranged collection at the airport did not turn up, after checking in I noticed my room was infested with cock roaches, I complained and was moved to another room, the service had noticeably gone down both bar and restaurant. On checking out I queried why I had not been contacted about my experience by the manager as I had checked in quite late at night but felt he should have been informed, I was told I would be contacted! I was not. On my second stay once again cockroaches in the room poor food and beverage machines in the gym either broken or in poor shape the treadmill is working. I felt sorry for the staff The hotel Looks understaffed by interns with a few embarrassed old hands. I checked out at 10 o clock at night and will stay the rest of the week in another hotel. Too bad
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 26 May 2022
Dear smithazv, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback, making us aware of your concerns. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. The entire hotel has been fumigated on Sunday. We are committed to improve overall guest services. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the service you have come accustomed to before. Warm regards, Pascal Fouquet
Read more
Sean O wrote a review Apr 2022
Abidjan, Ivory Coast77 contributions20 helpful votes
This hotel must have been grand some time ago. The decay is apparent. Too many things to list here, but for example: Cigarette burn hole in the duvet cover, no soaps or toiletries at all in the bathroom, etc, etc. I definitely would not stay again. Some of the staff were very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 05 Apr 2022
Dear Sean O, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. I understand that your stay was not at all what you hoped it would be and on behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria Hotel team, I apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Your comments has been shared with our housekeeping team to ensure brand standards are followed at all times, with more attention to detail. Thank you for commending staff for their guest service. I hope you give us another opportunity to provide you with the guest experience we are known for. Regards,
Read more
Lukassepa wrote a review Jan 2022
Stellenbosch, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
Disappointed, was so fancy in 2006, should have done my research. Snotty receptionist when I returned from my run without my mask; dining room layout and unmatched chairs just look cheap; room & location was good. Will avoid next time and spend same amount elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Dear Lukassepa, thank you for your loyalty to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and taking the time to send us a response of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria Hotel team, I apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. I assure you this was never our goal. Your feedback was shared with all relevant teams as a training tool for future guest interactions and improvement of services. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the service you expect and deserve. Regards,
Read more
Egypt101 wrote a review Dec 2021
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed in Sheraton for 1 night. Beautiful old building and the conceirge were friendly but overall disappointing. The breakfast is R250 for a buffet, the coffee machines don’t work and I felt it was not worth the price. The plug in my bathroom sink was stuck and flooded. The tv is outdated and has no remote. The area in general is not safe and I felt uneasy leaving the hotel. I would Airbnb in future. So sad this once prestigious hotel is no longer what it once was.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 25 Dec 2021
Dear H382BN, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. On behalf of my entire team, I apologize for failing to meet all your expectations, especially with regards to breakfast. Please allow me to add that during this time of year it is difficult to get any appliance fixed, but we had a coffee kiosk with a Barista right next to the restaurant where coffee is served from at guest request, so I am surprised and sorry that this service was not offered to you at the time. I assure you it was never our goal and your feedback was shared with the managers concerned in an effort to improve our overall service, as well as the maintenance issues you experienced in the room. The basin plug in our rooms are operated by the lever situated on the tap to open and close and I am sorry if this got stuck and did not release the basin plug to drain the water. The matter was shared with our maintenance team to investigate and fix. I hope you'll consider staying with us again next time your travels bring you back to Pretoria. Regards,
Read more
MorneTaniaSchaefer wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Not 5 Star at all! Poor service. Noisy from traffic. No turn down service no clean towels at night, not enough water in room no gowns only 3 types of redwine ( menu items not stocked), had to pay separately each time we ordered something- couldn't link creditcard to bill. More like 2 star if you ask me!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 04 Oct 2021
Dear MorneTaniaSchaefer, Thank you for your valuable and detailed feedback. On behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria Hotel team, I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Please be assured that this is not our normal standard. Your feedback was shared with all teams concerned to ensure we consistently deliver on guest expectations. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, especially during these unusual times. Warm regards, Pascal Fouquet
Read more
Tom wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Chef Thabo Moketi at the Sheraton Pretoria is a Phenomenon. The Chicken salad earns top marks. And we loved the grilled chicken and especially the butternut squash. Thank you, Thabo, thank you! And God bless you and the Sheraton Pretoria
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aphiwe wrote a review May 2021
12 contributions4 helpful votes
Spacious rooms but the Hotel is fairly old and could do with more modern touches. The aircon in my room did not work. The dinner buffet lacked variety but the breakfast buffet made up for it and was really good. The staff are friendly and go the extra mile but I wouldn't regard my stay as 5 star when compared to other 5 star establishments in the country.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear Proff90, we appreciate your feedback. On behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria team, I sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Your commens were shared with the relevant teams to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during these unusual times. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back. Regards,
Read more
Kate wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked a stay at the Sheraton as a special treat for our anniversary. We are not usually hotel stayers and were excited to stay at a 5* hotel as a special treat. Unfortunately, the experience was terrible. Whilst the room was clean and had a lovely view, the service was terrible, we felt very unwelcome, and they were completely understaffed and understocked. Here's a summary of what went wrong: - There were no beers on tap or cocktails available. I ordered a Martini and got a gin and tonic in a martini glass! The bar person did apologise, but the service was so slow that the sun had set and we went inside before he had come to change it (we were waiting for over an hour!). - There were various things missing from our room - one robe, coffee pods, a pair of slippers. The hotel brought these when we phoned and asked for them, but it felt like no one had checked our room before we arrived. - The safe in our room did not work. - The mini bar was completely empty. - The TV was very bad quality and had very few channels to choose from. - When we arrived for dinner, we were seated for 20 minutes before they brought us the wine list/asked us what we would like to drink. When the waitron eventually arrived, my partner ordered a beer. She took at least 20 minutes again to return with the beer, which was straight out of the cupboard (warm!), and I tried to order a bottle of wine. She said she didn't have that wine in stock. I tried another. They didn't have that wine either. It turned out that they only had ONE red wine in stock, and it was very expensive. So there was no wine with dinner, and certainly no need for a wine list! I wish they had said this up front, as we would have made a plan to bring our own. - Our room was not turned down for the evening ("romantic turn down" was part of what was included in our package). - The aircon was not working well, and the room was very hot. The balcony sliding door was not able to open either, meaning we had quite a hot and uncomfortable night. - The package included dinner and breakfast, and when we left dinner I asked them to add our drinks to the tab. About an hour later (at 11.30pm!) we got a knock at our door, insisting that we pay there and then (making us feel like we were criminals that might make a run for it in the night!). - Our package also included parking, but the concierge argued with us, saying that we needed to pay extra. I had to bring up the website with the description of the package to " prove" that our parking was included, which she then admitted was correct. - Whilst breakfast was good, when we came back upstairs afterwards, our room had again not been attended to. I understand that it is a tough time for hotels. Many of them have had to let staff go, and perhaps have less stock of food and beverage. However, this should mean that it's even more important to make sure that service is incredible, that things are adjusted (don't bring a wine list if there are no wines!), and that guests are still treated like a priority.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Views from the 6th floor were spectacular.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear KateP2857, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. On behalf of my entire team, I apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. I assure you this was never our goal. Your feedback was shared with all relevant teams as a training tool for future guest interactions and improvement of services. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the service you expect and deserve. Regards,
Read more
Di A wrote a review Mar 2021
White River25 contributions8 helpful votes
My best friend decided to surprise me to a night at the Sheraton as a birthday gift. Great excitement as we entered the beautiful lobby but it all went downhill from there. We had a spa appointment at 3, we arrived at 2.30. Plenty of time we thought. Check-in was agonizingly slow even though we told the receptionist we had the appt. She seemed to be working at half speed. Endless papers being printed, took longer than dealing with a bank! What a disappointment our spa afternoon was. The twin massages were done in a hot, airless room which was clearly some kind of storage room. My therapist took a call in the middle of the massage, still massaging while speaking very loudly. My friend’s therapist was clearly untrained in massage. Our manicure and pedicure were done at warp speed, my therapist smudged my nails twice, applied the polish so thickly to my fingernails it was smudged by 6pm. Hardly the relaxing afternoon we had envisaged. The bar doesn’t sell cocktails of any description. Really? The outside seating area was grimy, the couches and chairs worn with the leatherette peeling off, and were so dirty, the dirt came off when you wiped your fingers along the surface. What happened to regular sanitizing? Empty plates from earlier meals still lying uncleared. Luckily we went up to the pool deck area which was much cleaner and enjoyed sunset and bubbly overlooking the iconic Union Buildings. Dinner was a joke. The buffet (I thought this wasn’t allowed during lockdown?) main courses consisted of tripe, peri peri chicken and samp and beans, none of which we eat. My vegetarian friend ended up with very expensive carrots and potatoes! We ordered a second bottle of bubbly only to be told there was none that was cold. Our room was huge and well appointed but the pillows were awful. On the whole, it felt like a once grand lady has become a very tired version of her former self. Hugely disappointing for what was meant to be a special treat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from pascal Fouquet, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Dear DiA460, thank you for your detailed response. On behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria Hotel team, I sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Your concerns with the spa was discussed with the owner and she also conveyed her apology for the shortcomings. As per our private communication, the points have been posted and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back under much better circumstances. Thank you again for your feedback. Safe travels. Warm regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton pretoria, pretoria sheraton
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Statue of Nelson Mandela (0.3 km), Union Buildings (0.3 km), and Venning Park (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harries Pancakes, Cafe 41, and Europa Groove Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sheraton Pretoria Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sheraton Pretoria Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Pretoria Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Union Buildings (0.3 km), Sammy Marks House (2.1 km), and Melrose House (2.2 km).
Is Sheraton Pretoria Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.