We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (421)
Room & Suite (127)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#21 of 68 hotels in Pretoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mingle with locals in the heart of South Africa's capital, where colourful culture meets friendly service and inspiring views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

643 Corner Stanza Bopape & Wessels St., Pretoria 0007 South Africa
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
692Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 247
  • 142
  • 65
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Voyager47608431021 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Booked accommodation at the Sheraton Pretoria for the 21st to the 23rd March 2025. Received an email at 12h30on the 21st requesting me to find alternate accommodation due to them not having electricity!!! I was an hour away at the time. Numerous phone calls thereafter didn’t help as the was apparently no manager on duty??? The manager , Ricky Ngubane had sent the email at 12h30?? Totally unacceptable especially from the Sheraton!!! Will never support this group again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheraton Pretoria, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Voyager47608431021, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I sincerely apologize for not being able to honour your reservation due to the electrical outage. Unfortunately our generator capacity is for emergencies only, and we did not want to ruin your trip. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Companion39016355148 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
+1
The hotel was dirty, dirty carpets, curtains, chairs, table cloths, it was bad, in this heat we couldn’t even have proper ventilation because the hotel owes the municipality, so their electricity was cut off. Their basement parking was pitch black dark, stank, sewage water all over. The food was horrible, burnt, cooked in the open fire behind the conference rooms. This hotel honestly doesn’t deserve a 5 star rating it holds. We asked for fans because of the heat, the stuff was rude and asked us didn’t we know that there is no electricity, that they haven’t had power since a week ago, their generator kept switching off every hour, at some point it went off while i was in the lift 😩.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheraton Pretoria, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Companion39016355148, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to share. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for the electricity outage experienced. Our generator capacity do not cover all areas of the hotel and we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused in this regard. Your concerns has been shared with the relevant team leaders to action. We are committed to resolve these issues to ensure a memorable guest experience. Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Bon Vivant wrote a review Mar 2024
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom28 contributions16 helpful votes
This would be a one star review if it wasn’t for the efforts of several staff members to buck the trend of indifference that pervades this establishment. We checked in for one night before joining the Blue Train. I mean, it’s a five star hotel, what could go wrong? No aircon, no lighting at all in the bathroom, not a drop of hot water, only one lamp and the tv operational in the room. It’s because of load shedding, apparently, and yet the public areas are beautifully lit up. The pool is filthy, and I mean filthy. There is algae growing in it. The food is divine and several members of staff have done all they can but I would avoid this place if I were you. I’m not joking.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheraton Pretoria, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear TheBonVivant1973, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent experience. On behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria hotel team I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to an electricity outage. Unfortunately our generator capacity only cover some areas of the hotel. The pool pump and hot water systems are not covered. I am happy that you enjoyed your meals. Thank you again for your feedback. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ErnRam wrote a review Feb 2024
Cape Town Central, South Africa150 contributions92 helpful votes
We have been frequenting this establishment for many years, and sadly we shall never consider staying here again. 1. The underground parking facility is dirty, and the staff at the exit control have to manually lift the boom as it does not work 2. We booked a Club room, there are simply no comparable benefits (as with other global Marriott brands), in going to the Club lounge on the 6th floor. No tea/coffee during the day, only a jug of juice and water. Other offerings were in the main non existent. 3. The room telephone never worked. This was reported to housekeeping and to the front desk (in person) 5 times, with no explanation or attempt made to correct the issue 4. The hotel does not operate at a 5 star level, Management is not visible, and the apathy of the front office staff does not reflect well. The establishment in totality is in urgent need of a serious makeover 5. As Marriott guests this was not recognised We wish to thank the housekeeping staff, for their attentive service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheraton Pretoria, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Dear ErnRam, thank you for your loyalty to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and taking the time to send us a response of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire Sheraton Pretoria Hotel team, I apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. I assure you this was never our goal. Your feedback was shared with all relevant teams as a training tool for future guest interactions and improvement of services. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the service you expect and deserve. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Khoiti wrote a review Jan 2024
Maseru, Lesotho221 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
This was my repeat visit since 2017. The staff upgraded me to a junior suite and I thought it was a great gesture on their part. I have stayed at this hotel going back a decade and always on business—I believe President George W Bush stayed in the same hotel. Time has had a toll on the furnishings of this hotel taking into account modern furnishings you find in recently built facilities. That said, the suite was amply spacious and fitted with all key amenities you find in suites; king size bed with immaculate white sheets and pillows, a classic wood furnished work desk, a large safe, a TV stand, lounge area, and guest parking. The bathroom had robust metal and porcelain furnishings and a truly nice shower. When I arrived, the bedside lamp did not work, but I was pleasantly surprised when the hotel by itself fixed it without my having to report it. The restaurant is sturdy and offers great choices for breakfast as well good al carte choices for lunch and dinner. I would visit the hotel again if in the area for business. A few problems I encountered—the curtain fell when I tired to close it. The TV also did not work—how I wish hotels could facilitate streaming services which most guests already have subscriptions for and do not need the hotels to pay for. All the hotel would have to do is provide high resolution screen connected to internet and have fast internet. Content will come from the guest.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheraton Pretoria, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 01 Feb 2024
Dear Khoiti, We appreciate your time in sending detailed feedback of your recent experience at our property. It is through guest feedback that we are able to improve upon overall guest services. Your comments regarding the curtain was shared with the relevant team to fix and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. The TV and streaming services remark is noted and you'll be please to know that we have been considering various options, taking brand standards into consideration. We hope to be able to provide these facilities in the near future. We are looking forward to your next visit. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo K wrote a review Jan 2024
Worcester, United Kingdom6698 contributions950 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for one night before boarding the blue train 🚂. Really comfortable rooms. We had 427 on 4th floor. Breakfast was buffet style. Strong coffee ☕️ out the machine. The location of our room was opposite the park and Parliament building.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Slippy bathroom floor. Use mat
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Seaside32143880639 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The manager of this property is incompetent ive pointed out so many disparities in this properties but when i tried to get my money refunded she turned her phone off They recycle food of customers that is not eaten and there was a sign to the entrance of the kitchen that says dont be trashy recycle when i told the staff i saw it it was removed according to her its to leave a green footprint It took 45 minutes to get two towels from housekeeping U need to pay R80 a day for parking The phones to call reception housekeeping or roomservice is non functional 2 other guests has also shown their utter disbelief in the state of this property Made an enquiry bout christmas lunch was told there is only ala carte menu when i came back to the hotel people were having buffet They demand payment after every meal or drink which is such an inconcenvience The hotel manager of this property is not taking my call and views other things more important than that of her guests that are paying her salary
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheraton Pretoria, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear Seaside32143880, we appreciate client’s reviews and hold a high regard for all feedback from our guests. We pride ourselves on our 'make a green choice' program. Posters are displayed in our back of house areas to remind our valued employees to recycle plastic, glass and paper separately from our wet waste. You will also find compartmented recycle bins in our public areas relating to plastic, glass and other for guest use. Please refer to your inbox for our detailed response.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PASCAL wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I have stayed in the hotel for a week, it was a great experience , from the Spa with Sandy ( very professional therapist ) to all the services in the Hotel , everyone was great. The Kitchen team was amazing drove by Nicholas the Head of the Team Brilliant accompanied by TOP assistants, our Dear Experienced Morning Shift Man, then, Quincy, Mimi ,Johannes, Paulina, Sonia, Iris Sarah, Kinky, Dora. Service was excellent as well with Poumla, Izzy , podetsa, the casuals pretty and Hope.... Thanks for all the management as well in particular Ntswaki and Ricky that always tried their best for any requests. Love u all guys!!! hope to see you again soon!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RuthPasq wrote a review Sept 2023
Fribourg, Switzerland174 contributions256 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights in this very nice hotel which is located in front of the Union Building. The hotel is very nice, staff are great, and breakfast was excellent. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mandy868 wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
No fitted sheet, expected to sleep on mattress protector. Aircon not working. 26° in room. Bath water does not run put. Dummy curtain fell to floor when block out was closed. Definitely not 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frankie de Bruto, Other at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Dear mandy868, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. On behalf of my entire team, I wish to apologize for the shortcomings. Your valued feedback highlighted a number of areas for improvement that we have since shared with the relevant teams in order to improve overall service delivery. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and not only meet, but exceed your expectations. Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,003 - R 1,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton pretoria, pretoria sheraton
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHERATON PRETORIA HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Statue of Nelson Mandela (0.3 km), Union Buildings (0.3 km), and Venning Park (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Europa Lounge Experience, Harries Pancakes, and Cafe 41.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sheraton Pretoria Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sheraton Pretoria Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Pretoria Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Union Buildings (0.3 km), Sammy Marks House (2.1 km), and Melrose House (2.2 km).
Is Sheraton Pretoria Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.