We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blades Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)
Overview
Hotel website
Plot 75 Zeekoegat, Kameeldrift Road, Pretoria 0035 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
132
63
27
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
132
63
27
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower deck rowing club picnic basket management team relaxing weekend city life stayed one night conference facilities comfortable rooms dam venue godfrey function fireplace wedding accommodation bush
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Average and disappointing. I do not feel we spent our money well. Although the room was clean, the food was terrible. These venues value events more than overnight guests it seems. Definately wont be going back.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mignonnevdw
Response from YolandaS1760, Manager at The Blades HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We did receive your detailed feedback and we will discuss it with the relevant department head's to find out what exactly went wrong in order to avoid this from occurring...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff are stealing at that property and damaging things that are not belonging to them . For a venue of that grading I am really disappointed and I do not think we will ever go back there or book there ever againMore

Thank Pioneer643383
Response from YolandaS1760, Manager at The Blades HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take accusations such as this extremely seriously. We have had no mention or complaints of this nature at all. Please can you get into contact with us, in order for this to be resolved as soon...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Blades hotel is a nice serene place, that provides one with an opportunity to relax and get in touch with nature. Its a great place to visit and stay. The Gazelles galloping around and the birds chirping makes The blade Hotel one of its...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abusaid2018
Response from YolandaS1760, Manager at The Blades HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words. Were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our rooms bedding was torn and tattered we informed the Mananger on duty, after this the bedding that was put on was not not done properly so we had to do it ourselves.the coffee mechine was broken and the hairdryer was broken, 5he light by...More

Thank Sightsee823105
Response from YolandaS1760, Manager at The Blades HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the service which you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in the Executive Suite NO. 10 overlooking the water. Upon arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner and we basically had to just pick up the keys. The room was spotlessly clean and everything was...More

Thank Marisha2015
Response from YolandaS1760, Manager at The Blades HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the kind words! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the tablecloths, this has been brought under the relevant department head's attention and will be taken care off. We are looking forward to welcoming you...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The Blades Hotel is an exclusive 4 star hotel situated on a 10 hectare expanse of indigenous Bushveld, built on the banks of the Roodeplaat Dam. We offer a unique combination of indigenous vegetation, landscaping and More water-front luxury. The Blades Hotel is conveniently situated just 20 minutes from Pretoria CBD, 40 minutes from OR Tambo Airport or Lanseria Airport, and 50 minutes from Johannesburg, making it an accessible destination for both local and international guests. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Spa
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
46
Price range
US$94 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
46
Price range
US$94 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Photos
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 75 nearby hotels
Faircity Roodevalley
156 reviews
.67 km away
Kievits Kroon Faircity Hotel
638 reviews
2.12 km away
Malibu Country Lodge
23 reviews
10.12 km away
Casa Toscana Lodge
208 reviews
13.90 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 807 nearby restaurants
Toureiro House of Prawns
80 reviews
7.80 km away
Crawdaddy's Montana
34 reviews
7.57 km away
Coffee Junction Cafe
14 reviews
7.41 km away
Ocean Basket Zambezi Mall
27 reviews
7.73 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 194 nearby attractions
Pretoria National Botanical Garden
533 reviews
11.66 km away
Ludwig's Rose Farm
95 reviews
6.28 km away
Pretoria Farmers Market
32 reviews
10.20 km away
Smuts House Museum
86 reviews
9.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Blades Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"The executive rooms have an amazing view. It was very quiet where we stayed in Room 10."
Marisha2015
2 weeks ago
Read review
"I rated Rooms average, but have not been inside as we did not make use of accommodation."
Suzetted72
07 Mar 2018
Read review
"best location"
fikileskhosana
18 Feb 2018
Read review
"Executive rooms on the dam have an amazing view and worth every penny"
nataliebrownlee
07 Nov 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing