We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Plot 75 Zeekoegat, Kameeldrift Road, Pretoria 0035 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/10/23
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
FindHotelUS$127
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (117)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (14)

About

#10 of 105 in Pretoria
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Blades Hotel is an exclusive 4 star hotel situated on a 10 hectare expanse of indigenous Bushveld, built on the banks of the Roodeplaat Dam. We offer a unique combination of indigenous vegetation, landscaping and water-front luxury. The Blades Hotel is conveniently situated just 20 minutes from Pretoria CBD, 40 minutes from OR Tambo Airport or Lanseria Airport, and 50 minutes from Johannesburg, making it an accessible destination for both local and international guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern
303Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 86
  • 31
  • 6
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
irtanker wrote a review Nov 2021
Dubai1 contribution
I can make my self believe that once upon a time this was a 4 star establishment but sadly not even close anymore. Avoid this place unless you enjoy unruly neighbours partying till 03:30 in the morning with no response from the supposed 24 hour available duty manager. Avoid unless you enjoy a run down hotel with no or very little maintenance. Avoid unless you enjoy rap music played at levels so loud that you can barely hear your companion while paying inflated prices for mediocre food and drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
david3753 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Pleasant, quiet location with a great view, rooms isolated and private, and staff who seem to above and beyond the call of duty to meet guests' needs. I was on a business trip, arriving late and leaving early, so can't comment on the bar or on the food generally, although the room service sandwich arrived promptly and was better than most
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Nonkie wrote a review Oct 2020
Gauteng, South Africa5 contributions
I decided the morning of my birthday to book myself for 1 night stay at the hotel and massage. When I got to the hotel, the Receptionist was wonderful as well as the welcoming area. It was so breathtaking, I had high expectations. My room was facing the bush, which blocked the sun and the view was clustered. I also found the room okay, not quite spectacular as I thought. It would do with some brightness, especially the couch and linen. The food, drinks and restaurant service was the highlight of the trip. The massage the following day, was also okay. Overall, the experience was average, there was nothing mind blowing, no scene/activity that blew my mind away. If you want to eat and sleep the whole time booked here, than sure you can do that in peace.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ChireseS wrote a review Aug 2020
Pretoria5 contributions
One night in paradise (NO KIDS!) My husband and I spent our first night away from home and our little one since she was born. The peace and tranquility at The Blades was incredible. We relaxed and enjoyed every minute.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Janet M wrote a review Jul 2020
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
The location was great being close to Pretoria. It was lovely and tranquil. Staff friendly and the place was very clean. The room was a little bit cold due to the high ceilings but I am sure in summer it is beautiful! The fireplace helped keep the room warm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
charlesgilbert2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Fantastic place for a quite breakaway weekend, service was great and the staff was very friendly. The quality of the food was alos of a high standrard, certainly recomend this venue for either business or pleasure
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from MelindaDeVilliers, Public Relations Manager at The Blades Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear charlesgilbert2020, Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards The Blades Team
Read more
crabe628129 wrote a review Feb 2020
Middelburg, South Africa1 contribution
Took my wife for her birthday to the blades hotel. Beforehand i have arranged with them what i need. Upon arrival the hotel has gone out of their way to accomodate us and make it special for my wife. This is by far the best hotel experience we have recieved to date.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from MelindaDeVilliers, Public Relations Manager at The Blades Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear crabe628129, I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time! We are so fortunate to have such an amazing team and even more fortunate to welcome special guests such as you. Hope to see you again soon Warm Regards The Blades Team
Read more
bathozam wrote a review Jan 2020
Emalahleni, South Africa1 contribution
Hi The Blades I have an issues with the GM of this hotel. He doesn't have management skills, I am not sure how he was given that position. How do you do double bookings on people's event, worse part he doesn't even know how to address issues like that. I just want to find out how do we lay complains to the board of directors about people like him. This one doesn't deserve to be there. It's people like him who are going to ruin the hotel's reputation with their stinking attitudes and bad customer service. I want this matter to be attended to URGENTLY!! HE MUST BE DEALT WITH!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from MelindaDeVilliers, Sales Coordinator at The Blades Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear bathozam, I am saddened by your review. It is unfortunate that a double booking was made. We gave you alternative options which you decided to go with. All matters were reported and sent to the directors of the company as they are very much involved in the business. The GM follows company policies and protocol as instructed by the directors. As unpleasant as these things are, they unfortunately do happen when it takes too long to conclude your booking confirmation as there are more than only one coordinator and sales person who works for the property and if areas are open to book, they get booked on a first come, first serve basis. None the less… the matter has been resolved and I hope that you have a wonderful function when the time arrives! We still look forward to welcoming you and feel honoured to host you at The Blades.
Read more
thatochuene wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Poor experience the room's carpet was filthy and look to have been so for quite some time. The receptionist is not the most welcoming. No itinerary on offer, or highlighted activities to do ( Free and pay-for services), you have to figure that out yourself if you still have days there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from MelindaDeVilliers, Public Relations Manager at The Blades Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear thatochuene Thank you for your review, I am terribly sorry for the poor experience you had. We checked your room and give immediate attention to it. I'm not sure what itinerary you are referring to as we don't have activities on offer at just any given time? We are a hotel, not a resort. We do have a spa and there is a sign in reception to advertise that.
Read more
tconsc886631 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
The accommodation was of excellent standard. The cleanliness during the at the swimmingpool was however not on standard but it should be said that the patrons on New Years day was extremely messy. The dinner service was not up to standard.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from MelindaDeVilliers, Public Relations Manager at The Blades Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear tconsc886631, Thank you for your review. All points mentioned were brought to each department's attention. We hope to welcome you back so that you may experience the true essence of The Blades. The Blades Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Blades Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Blades Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ludwig's Rose Farm (6.2 km), Buffelsdrift MTB Park (6.6 km), and Little Jungle Indoor Playground (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Blades Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Blades Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Blades Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Blades Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Blades Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toureiro House of Prawns, Coffee Junction Cafe, and Crawdaddy's Montana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Blades Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Blades Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Blades Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Blades Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Blades Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Smuts House Museum (9.8 km).
Is The Blades Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.