Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof

Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof

131 Herbert Baker Street Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181 South Africa
Traveller (63)
The Views
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#8 of 69 hotels in Pretoria
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
With an incredible 180 degree view of the city of Pretoria, the exceptional 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel stands primely positioned in the leafy suburb of Groenkloof. Bordering on the Groenkloof Nature Reserve, the private boutique hotel offers discerning visitors to Pretoria and Johannesburg an exclusive refuge from the bustle of the city. Originally built as a private residence, 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel was exquisitely transformed to provide outstanding hotel luxury, catering perfectly to the refined tastes of its clientele. The meticulous attention to every detail, together with impeccable service, creates a distinctive boutique experience that has quickly earned 131 on Herbert Baker an excellent reputation. The hotel offers nine beautifully appointed guest suites and rooms, each with its own private balcony or patio/terrace. For guests who prefer to celebrate life in supreme style, the magnificent Presidential suite includes its own private lounge and dining area. Guests are invited to relax, unwind and savour a delicious drink in the hotel lounge or on the lawn, with its magical sunset views. The hotel's extensive drinks menu includes a remarkable wine list, to impress even the most selective connoisseurs. A full English and continental breakfast is included in the daily rate. In-room breakfast is available to those who prefer to relax in the privacy of their own room. In addition, the hotel offers transfers, a boardroom that can accommodate up to 18 people, and a private swimming pool located in the inner courtyard. Accommodating up to 60 cocktail style or 35 seated people, the hotel may also be hired exclusively for intimate celebrations and private functions - ideal for corporate groups and diplomatic parties. 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes' drive from the Pretoria CBD, with easy access to all major highways. A mere 35 minutes' drive from the Johannesburg CBD and 5 minutes from the highly efficient Pretoria Gautrain station.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

131 Herbert Baker Street Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Johannesburg Intl Airport
39.2 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
34.8 km
See all flights
196Reviews1Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 32
  • 8
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ehuman711370 wrote a review Jul 2023
Mpumalanga, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was a delightful place. It's a bit of a steep hill when going into the gate. Make sure you can drive up a steep hill.
The Staff was awesome from start to finish. The hotel itself is beautiful and it has a very comfy vibe. But the Bar there is a lounge with a fire place which is very comfy.
The room i stayed in was big and had a huge bath tub. A shower and a King Size bed.

They provide a mini bar and snacks but it's on your own account.

They are strictly a bed and breakfast but they can get uber eats and there are many restaurants in the area to go and eat.

Breakfast was awesome and i would recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
psarel779098 wrote a review Aug 2022
Alberton, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable and close to Both LC De Villiers AND Groenkloof Tennis Clubs (4 min and 11 Min). Enjoyed the room with my 12 year old, but carpets had dirty stains, 1st night found torn linen on bed and the TV Room only had one Chair to sit in to watch TV.
Not worth asking for early Take-away breakfast, as it only includes a sandwich.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
barnardtinkie wrote a review Oct 2022
Gaborone, Botswana1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best place to feel at home from home. When we arrived until we left the staff helped us wherever they can. They where available for whatever we ask them to do or when we need something they did it. Even bought special jogurt for my husband.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenys K wrote a review Mar 2020
Gold Coast, Australia3 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment this hotel was. Beautiful building but it needs a lot of work. Our bedroom ceiling leaked so we had to move rooms and the passage ceiling looked like it was about to fall in. We arrived New Years Eve and asked about dining, There was a small menu which seemed too much trouble to serve us and the table cloths were dirty. There seemed to be lot of power play between the staff one was telling us one thing and the other was saying something else. Not known to us one of the staff cancelled our transport to our train to Cape Town and we arrived very late. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and this has been one of our worst experiences.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lida Noach, General Manager at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear 343glenysk, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our hotel. I believe that this must have been some time ago already, as the roof in question has been repaired fully after a massive storm we had in December 2018. All the other issues, even though they occurred some time back, will definitely be addressed with all staff. This certainly is not the standard of service we offer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bookings261 wrote a review Dec 2023
Hoedspruit, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is old and has a steep drive way
The staff is excellent from reception to everyone kitchen staff. Food was great aswell.
We definitely felt safe and slept very comfortable.

Eventough there was a very noisy event taking place they ensure our comfort and parking was sorted.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nihaad wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the most wonderful stay at 131 on Herbert. Savemore and Habi were the most attentive hosts. They even upgraded my room which was a lovely surprise. The location is impeccable; situated in a safe gated community with beautiful views of the city. My room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Their breakfasts are generous and delicious. They made sure to assist in any way possible. I will definitely be visiting again on my next trip to Pretoria.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KDMG wrote a review Jul 2022
Kloof, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent a weekend at this exceptionally lovely place in Groenkloof, Pretoria. What a happy find it was! From my first communication with them I was impressed by the quality of customer care. They certainly followed through with wonderful attention to detail in the welcome upon arrival and service during my stay. Accommodation was superb in every respect. I'm hoping to return in the not too distant future ... for a longer stay. Well done to the A team at 131 Herbert Baker....and thank you for your part in ensuring I had such a wonderful weekend. Trish.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lara s wrote a review Mar 2023
19 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautifully appointed well located boutique hotel, bordering a nature reserve with views over Pretoria.

Savemore and his team could not do more if they tried- they go out of their way to make your stay pure luxury, and it is!

The rooms are beautiful,the bathrooms luxurious, the patios, pool, lounges and breakfast areas are clean, comfortable and a joy to spend time in.
Thankyou so much for all you do
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
122herbert wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very conveniently located with quite atmosphere. The staff were helpful and made me feel at home within the first day of stay. I am planning to use the hotel for periods of 2 weeks at a time, 4 times per year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Resort64073196491, General Manager at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof
Responded 06 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review Herbert. We look forward to welcoming you back through the course of the year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Expedition628532 wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing views over Pretoria. Great and elegant rooms, with enclosed bathrooms very well equipped. Everything was very clean. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Best ratio quality/price ever. Breakfast was included and it was really good. No doubts about booking again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jennirAberdeen wrote a tip Jun 2019
Aberdeen489 contributions95 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Extra concerned about safety and security despite location in gated and guarded community then would not select our Room 2."
Read full review
Pervin D wrote a tip Oct 2018
Mumbai, India655 contributions226 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"first floor room where we stayed which had view of the adjoining national game park"
Read full review
Elaine S wrote a tip Nov 2017
Melbourne, Australia336 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I loved having a terrace room"
Read full review
wendsanne wrote a tip Sept 2017
George, South Africa11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The front rooms have the best views, but the garden rooms have an unmatched tranquility about them"
Read full review
Safari liz wrote a tip Aug 2017
Coatbridge, United Kingdom30 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room 3 and you won't be disappointed"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 954 - R 1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SIR HERBERT BAKER BOUTIQUE HOTEL - GROENKLOOF | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Pretoria, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof
Which popular attractions are close to Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Nearby attractions include Jan Celliers Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kream, Crawdaddy's, and Carbon Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof have airport transportation?
Yes, Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Union Buildings (4.6 km), Sammy Marks House (5.4 km), and Melrose House (4.5 km).
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near Sir Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel - Groenkloof
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire