The Orient

Francolin Conservancy Crocodile River Valley, Pretoria 1 South Africa
Coffee bar
Traveller (172)
Dining (43)
Kathmandu Suite
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#11 of 68 hotels in Pretoria
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hidden in the tranquil surroundings of the Francolin Conservancy, Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient is a perfect retreat for any gourmet traveler.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
121Reviews6Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kimberly wrote a review Jan 2020
12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place in one of a kind. The interior is amazing and to hear that everything was an original was extraordinary. Dinner at the Mosaic was beyond expectations. The staff were friendly and professional. Meeting Chantel was like meeting a celebrity 😀. Mari runs the hotel like a well oiled machine. Not having a reception desk was something to get used to but it was no problem at all as everything in the room was beyond perfect. Our highlight was Moses the Sommelier who made my husband feel like a child in a candy store with his excellent choice of wines. We had a truly memorable time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
altheafoster wrote a review Nov 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed overnight, however it felt like an entire week. An absolutely beautiful venue, impeccable service! Truly one for your bucket list. Chef Chantel is truly a creative genius, a master chef in the true sense: an authentic, beautiful experience!!
We will definitely return!!
A PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN GEM..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marlize K wrote a review Oct 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa8 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing experience. The food (Chantel), sommelier (Moses), service and accommodation were absolutely world class. The attention to detail was exquisite and they made us feel so special!! Thank you, can highly recommend The Restaurant Mosaic and The Orient Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ritha B wrote a review Jan 2017
Centurion, South Africa1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to the Hotel and restaurant Mosaic previously en enjoyed the experience. Today I decided to show my partner the Hotel to possibly book a weekend away. We were refused entry saying they are too busy and no one can show us around, very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChefCMosaic, Front Office Manager at The Orient
Responded 01 Feb 2017
Dear Ritha B I received a call from you on Saturday on our busiest time in the Restaurant and Hotel. I explained to you we are filled to capacity, and at the peak of our service with all the members of our small team busy tending to our guests in the restaurant and hotel. As we are a Private Hotel, it is a well-known fact that we do not allow guests unannounced without a reservation that we cannot give our full attention to. We greatly value the tranquility that our guests experience when visiting our conservancy, because we do not let anybody in without prior arrangement. We treasure the privacy and security of our clients and for this reason we work on a reservation basis only. I did offer you to make an appointment with me to take you on a private tour of our facility at a more convenient time, but you declined. Kind Regards Zelé Naude
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Declan H wrote a review Oct 2016
Waterford, Ireland381 contributions211 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I honestly cannot sing the praises of this hotel high enough. It was a simply amazing experience from start to finish and my only regret is that I didn't stay here for more than one night. We were looking for a very nice hotel to celebrate our anniversary while travelling in the area and opted for The Orient. The hotel itself is stunning and is decorated with antiques, furniture and objects d'arts from all over Asia and Africa. We received an exceptionally warm and personal welcome where we were informed us that we had been upgraded to the Udaipur suite in celebration of our anniversary. The room was out of this world and has to be experienced to be believed. We managed to see zebra and griaffe on our walks around the gorgeous grounds, we ate the best meal we had in Africa in the hotel's restaurant and continued to receive exceptional service throughout our stay. To top it all off, this hotel was great value when compared to anything similar in Western Cape and phenomenal value for anyone used to European prices. We fully intend to revisit this hotel whenever we manged to get back to South Africa.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David G wrote a review Mar 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa566 contributions166 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to have lunch at Mosaic restaurant and to follow that with a wonderful lazy afternoon and evening. What a great decision. We were in the Marrakech Suite which is completely beautiful. We saved the cheese dish for lunch and had it in our room for a light supper. Then followed the best sleep and a delicious breakfast. All completely wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martinuksa wrote a review Mar 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa385 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You have to do something special for your 40th Valentine's Day together and the Orient was just perfect! This is very possibly our favourite boutique hotel in SA. The staff are just amazing! The entire hotel is decorated in a Moroccan style and is stuffed with exquisite artworks. There is even a Tienie Pritchard gallery that is a must see. There's no Reception or check in - they know who you are and you're treated as if you were the most important guest that has ever stayed with them, even if you didn't arrive by helicopter!
The hotel and it's gardens are set in the Francolin Conservancy so you can go for a stroll in the bush to build up an appetite for Chantell's culinary masterpieces.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!
👍👍👍👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SuzieQ_SA wrote a review Oct 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa79 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival at the main gate to the Conservatory, Jambulani greets you with a big smile and enthusiasm and your already feel that you are welcome here. The drive up to the picturesque boutique hotel is filled with lush trees, zebra, buck and big palm trees greet you at the main gate - it felt like we arrived in Marrakesh! We were welcomed by the lovely Mari IN our suit, an incredible personal touch! Our suit had the most beautiful views of the mountains and conservatory, spotting all kinds of wildlife from our bed! Dinner at the main house at Restaurant Mosaic was an experience out of this world - chef Chantel greeted us AT our table, introduced the courses to us and all the staff was involved in making our five course meal fantastic. Another spoil and great personal touch was coffees in our suit the next morning delivered at the perfect time, with the biggest smile. Breakfast was once a gain a massive treat. I was sad to leave this little piece of Morocco in Pretoria. Chef Chantel and her mom Mari went the extra mile in making us feel like the guests of honour and we will be back. I cannot recommend this piece of heaven, their staff, the botanical cuisine, extensive wine list and gorgeous views any higher!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MRehwinkel wrote a review Dec 2014
51 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the privilege to be spoilt today at this amazing restaurant.
Germain made this an extra special occasion by showing us the Tiffany Room.
For any art connoisseur and food lover this is a place you would love.
I am still in awe of this amazing place and will most definitely visit regularly.
Thank you to the Mosaic team!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hooggenoeg wrote a review Dec 2013
Cape Town, South Africa3,157 contributions432 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Orient lives up to expectations, the management is very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are very interesting, very comfortable. The food at Mosaic restaurant is excellent, fine and sometimes also innovative dining. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. Breakfast was sublime!

Pity that one does not have a coffee/tea facility in the bedroom suites, I tend to wake up early and had to wait until 7am for the staff to bring coffee to the room. A Nespresso machine/kettle would make sense at these prices?

Strange also that one could not get English mustard at breakfast? Only wholegrain available..

The staff are friendly but the service is quite basic at best. Again, management does their best to make up with friendly, warm service. It is quite a formal, old-fashioned dining experience at Mosaic. (I did however think that one could have moved on from snails and deep-fried frogs legs?)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChefCMosaic, Owner at The Orient
Responded 03 Feb 2014
Dear Gerhard 13071964. Thank you for your review, without your suggestions, we would never know how we can improve our guests stay at The Orient. We have implemented your suggestion and our guests now have a choice of being spoiled with coffee/tea ordering room service or having a coffee machine put in their room.Warm regards. Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
424steve asked a question Nov 2020
Midrand, South Africa9 contributions3 helpful votes
What is the cost per person per night midweek in March 2021?
Makhala K asked a question Aug 2017
How do I book?
Answer from ChefCMosaic
Pretoria, South Africa25 contributions11 helpful votes
You are welcome to make a reservation via our website, alternatively you can contact reservations at Restaurant Mosaic on +27 12 3712902 Warmest regards Chantel
Makhala K asked a question Aug 2017
How do I book?
Answer from The_foodie_police
Johannesburg, South Africa97 contributions49 helpful votes
Google them and you will find their email, tripadvisor does not allow links to be added to answers, or call them on 012 3712902 or 3 or 4
Answer from Carol Davison
69 contributions53 helpful votes
Would not recommend that you take children.
Answer from Natalie R
Cape Town43 contributions13 helpful votes
I made my booking via email. You can book directly by clicking the "contact us" tab on their website.
gilly h wrote a tip Jan 2020
Plettenberg Bay3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Kathmandu was excellent."
Read full review
brittonleola wrote a tip Dec 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any room is beautiful and boasts its own charm and stunning views of the area."
Read full review
DamianSadie wrote a tip Sept 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa81 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Katmandu has its own private dining area off the room. Rooms do not have TV. It is a romantic disconnect."
Read full review
TraveladdictHRSA wrote a tip Mar 2018
Hazyview, South Africa60 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are all amazing!"
Read full review
Brett Russell wrote a tip Feb 2018
Sandton, South Africa71 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for stairs in some of the rooms..."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ORIENT - Hotel Reviews (Pretoria, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Orient
Which popular attractions are close to The Orient?
Nearby attractions include Hennops Hiking Trail (4.4 km), Hennops Mountain Bike Trail (3.6 km), and Die Biltong Padstal (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Orient?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Orient?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Orient?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Orient?
Conveniently located restaurants include vida e caffè, Culinary, and Bull 'N Buck Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Orient?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Orient offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is The Orient accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near The Orient
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire