Melvin Residence Guest House

Melvin Residence Guest House

184 Pine Street Arcadia, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
Traveller (45)
Breakfast Table
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#11 of 208 guest houses in Pretoria
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Melvin Residence is a 4 star Guest House that ideally located for doing business in Pretoria. We offer:- Four luxury double rooms with en suite showers- One standard room with an en suite bathroom One single rooms with an en suite bathrooms- Private entrances with comfortable relaxation areas - An awesome view over the capital city- All rooms are fully air-conditioned- Easy access to highways leading north and south - Secure, fenced parking- Non-intrusive, but welcoming service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

184 Pine Street Arcadia, Pretoria 0083 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Johannesburg Intl Airport
43.7 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
36.3 km
See all flights
210Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 54
  • 11
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SS22020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service from welcoming hosts. Picturesque charm next to the Union buildings, providing a quiet retreat from nearby main streets to and from the CBD. Generous rooms with crisp white linen. Good stop-over venue. Well done.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ljamie558142 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing home, beautiful old house,very quite and peaceful -would never say you were in central Pretoria.. The food was delicious. B & B is very central and close to all amenities. Very gracious and friendly hosts.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaratSafin18 wrote a review Mar 2014
Dornbirn, Austria2 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
very beautiful house in a better area in Pretoria!
you get a lot of information and you will have a wonderful breakfast.
it was for us a perfect start in the holiday becaue we came in trough airport Johannesburg and were heading to Krüger Nationalpark. It was very good!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House
Responded 06 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lana I wrote a review Feb 2014
Haifa, Israel24 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We ordered double room and received single with 2 pillows and two sets of toiletries.
The bed was very small (140X190), There was only one chair in the room, and one chair on the balcony. There was no space for Luggage at all. I had to put it in the bathroom. There was no bath tube. Between the bathroom, toilet and the room had no doors or partitions. When one of us went to the toilet, the other had to go out. Bedside table, too, was only one. Breakfast is very poor. Disgusting coffee - more like water.
I do not recommend anyone to stay here, despite the good location and safe area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House
Responded 02 Jun 2014
Dear lanaid Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our guest house. It is a pity that you did not bring these issues to our attention while you were here. We would have attended to it right away! We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so that we can examine your issues you experienced further. Please reach out to us directly at piet@melvinresidence.co.za Regards Piet van Biljon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thakanel wrote a review Dec 2016
Bloemfontein, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a wonderful stay, although it was just one night, I had a good rest. Oom Piet's welcome was amazing. I would recommend the place to anyone. I have found my home away from home in PTA. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PatrickM_Travels wrote a review Jun 2016
Almaty, Kazakhstan1,788 contribution508 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 8 nights in May 2016.

PROS:
* Very friendly owner (Piet).
* Good staff.
* Location is nearby restaurants and attractions, or just a short $2 Uber ride away.
* Quiet tree-lined residential area near Embassies.
* Felt very safe.
* Nearby grocery store, short walk away.
* Room had everything we need: fridge, microwave, kettle, glassware, safe, closet.
* Excellent WiFi.
* Wonderful relaxing balcony/patio area where you can sit all day if you'd like.
* Private, secure parking.
* Option to have breakfast outside.
* Gorgeous grounds with so many plants, flowers, and fruit trees.
* Easy to find address (great for Uber rides).
* Tasty breakfast.

CONS:
* There are only two hot breakfast options: bacon & eggs, or omelet. Both options were very tasty, but we stayed for 8 days and grew tired of those two options. Breakfast also comes with toast, juice, yogurt, cereal, but those things are the same every day as well. I wish there were more breakfast options.
* The room is smaller than I expected, which is okay. But the door between the room and the bathroom should be better. The door did not make any kind of seal and provided minimal privacy. Since the bedroom is small overall, I would have liked a more private bathroom experience. My partner and I have been together for 10 years, but others in a new relationship, or visiting with a friend, might not want to know quite so much about each other's bathroom behaviors.

Overall experience was 5 out of 5 stars and I would absolutely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aprop wrote a review May 2016
Huizen, Netherlands8 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and me stayed here for two nights. We were very suprised by the quiet and green environment in the center of Pretoria. It was very relaxing with a very good breakfast. As dutch people we also liked to hear the African language of the frienldy owner of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House
Responded 25 May 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Dirk! I enjoyed the fact that we could have a conversation in Afrikaans and Dutch! The two languages are remarkably similar. Regards Piet
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul B wrote a review Mar 2016
Western Cape, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
All was good, a part from my neighbour that kept the television going for the whole night and that seemed to be in my room...
I am aware that you cannot put a policy on TV viewing (and especially listening!) but you could let them know that we should respect one another - hence keep the volume at a decent level (if such a thing exists) and if you want to go a little further work on some sound proofing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Immenhauser wrote a review Apr 2015
Bochum, Germany3 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only spent about 24 h in Pretoria and hence only one night in the Melvin residence. We all regret this as we found this a beautiful, civilized and very agreeable place to be. The rooms are spacious and clean and well equipped. The environment is green and quiet and we all appreciated the carefully prepared breakfast. Piet, the host, is a polite, helpful and interested person and just nice to talk to. Summing up, if I go to Pretoria again, I definitely will try and see if Piet has a room available.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: To my knowledge, all rooms are equal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerard C wrote a review Dec 2013
Hyeres, France15 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful and quiet place in a very safe area. Beautiful historical house. Piet has been very helpful and has given us very good advises. Easy to find although name of streets in Pretoria have changed. The Union Building two streets away is still called the Union Building!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House
Responded 06 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Piet & Elize van Biljon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MELVIN RESIDENCE GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Pretoria, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Melvin Residence Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Melvin Residence Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Statue of Nelson Mandela (0.5 km), Union Buildings (0.5 km), and Venning Park (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melvin Residence Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Melvin Residence Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Melvin Residence Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Melvin Residence Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melvin Residence Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Pentola, Harries Pancakes, and Cafe 41.
Does Melvin Residence Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Melvin Residence Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melvin Residence Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Melvin Residence Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Union Buildings (0.5 km), Sammy Marks House (2.6 km), and Melrose House (2.8 km).
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near Melvin Residence Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire