Premier Hotel Roodevalley

Premier Hotel Roodevalley

Plot 81 Zeekoegat Kameeldrift East, Pretoria 0035 South Africa
Hotel & grounds
Traveller (108)
The most comfortable and spacious suite - furnished so tastefully.
Room & Suite (41)
Enjoying a lovely lunch
Dining (35)

View prices for your travel dates

R 1 190
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 194
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#27 of 69 hotels in Pretoria
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Faircity Roodevallei lies on the banks of the Pienaar's River, surrounded by a nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Set as it is, north of Pretoria and on the slopes of the Magalies Mountains, the climate and vegetation is that of the game-park bushveld to the North. A peaceful environment that is conducive to communication and decision-making enhances our lodge, which is staffed and equipped primarily for conferences. Faircity Roodevallei offers conference planners the convenience of a beautiful bushveld setting only forty-five minutes from Johannesburg City and OR Tambo International Airport. The professional input of our Conference Coordinators will ensure that your company can personalise your activities and experience, whilst promoting interaction, co-operation and enhancing team spirit. The privacy of our lodge, without intrusion from holidaymakers and day visitors, will ensure that events remain focused. Our conference centre offers a choice of air-conditioned conference venues, breakaway rooms, registration and function areas - all named after the birds that frequent the sanctuary. Faircity Roodevallei also offers a variety of team building events. 'Our Valley Restaurant' has grown from the original farmhouse, but has not lost its rustic charm and unique ambience. The restaurant kitchen is known for its generous country style buffets, creating exciting menus of traditional and international cuisine that vary daily. Fresh breads, pastries and desserts are baked and prepared on the premises every day.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Lake View
175Reviews1Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 55
  • 26
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Thully Masilela wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A special thanks goes out to Margie, Ponny, and Ronnie for their excellent service offered while arranging accommodation.

Bongani, Thabile, and the Chef (sorry I didn't get his name) made it possible for us to have a braai and organised a separate room in the restaurant for us to celebrate our sister's birthday.

The room looked stunning as they took the time to set up the tables nicely. I highly appreciate this. They went an extra mile as this was requested at the last minute but they pulled it off nicely.

The ladies we came with loved the place and some of them have already requested your contact details to book for their own families. Keep up the excellent work.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner van Deventer, Owner at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Dear Thully Thank you for the positive review and we are looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Werner and Team Roodevalley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flyer07151536161 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very big thank you to Mummy, Lerato and Lulu. You guys made my brother’s party worth a while. Great assistance and I must say the friends were very much happy with the venue and 10/10 for the food /conference meals it was worth it. Great team members and thank u also to Mr Werner for understanding us: Siyabonga n will definitely come back again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: My review is on conferencing as we booked the conference and had excellent experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AnneMarieDelport wrote a review Sept 2016
Pretoria, South Africa12 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A big thank you to ROODEVALLEI ... Werner, Adel, Berna, Leandra, Kobus (the chefs) ... you guys are lovely and so friendly.
We had a great time during our Seminar on 16 & 17 September 2016.
We felt welcome, the food was great, nice and friendly staff, always willing to assist.
We received a lot of compliments from our delegates about the venue and food .... so you have a good thing running ... well done.
The accommodation was beautiful, clean and everything we needed was available.
You are definitely a winning team and can be proud of it.
I will for sure recommend you to whoever are looking for a venue or accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WernerVD1973, Rooms Division Manager at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 28 Sept 2016
Good day AnneMarieDelport Thank you for the perfect score and also for taking the time to do a review. We really appreciate your business and it was a pleasure hosting your group at Faircity Roodevallei Hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and we hope your next visit is just around the corner. Kind regards Werner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
minette v wrote a review Apr 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa23 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stuck here for a conference for 4 nights. Lost my collegue's luggage. By 23h00 still not found, and no sense of urgency from the staff. Showers are filty... will rather drive home tomorrow and sleep at my own house. Can't believe anyone will consider staying longer....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Monique C, General Manager at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 29 Apr 2014
Dear Minette, As discussed and admitted by you the morning after you placed this review, this response was an over reaction. As General Manager of Faircity Roodevallei, I would like to ask the readers of this review to please take the time to read ALL our guest reviews. We at Faircity appreciate constructive feedback so that we can better our service to our guests. Given what played out at the property, how happy all the other guests were of this particular group, we will refrain from responding to this review further. Lukas van der Westhuizen General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JeannineOrz wrote a review Aug 2013
Knysna, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent a night at Faircity Roodevallei and before I arrived, I checked to see what TripAdvisor had to say about the hotel. I was pleased to see it was ranked number 2 in Pretoria.

Having experienced it first hand, I honestly cannot understand how Roodevlei has achieved this ranking. Apart from the friendliness of the staff, the hotel has nothing to recommend it. And friendliness does not equal good service!

The rooms are cold and bare with uncovered floor tiles throughout. Thankfully there were electric blankets, and this, together with the fact that the room was clean, was a plus. The Wi-fi did not work, nor did the remote control for the television.The bathroom was literally the width of the bath tub, which was half hidden behind the shower. The window had a cheap roll down blind which rolled up easily but wouldn't roll down again.

But the biggest disappointment was the buffet dinner and the service in the dining room. When I arrived there was no-one to welcome and seat me. Eventually the chefs behind the buffet asked me what I was waiting for and indicated I could sit anywhere. There were no tables for one or two, so I had to sit at a table set for eight people. Then I waited for another five or 10 minutes before a waiter appeared to take my drinks order. He arrived without a wine list and couldn’t tell me offhand what wine was available by the glass.

The buffet itself was a poor display of unappetising food. Overcooked fish, undercooked pork and two large pieces of chicken looking rather lonely and unappealing on a bain-marie. There were some unexciting ingredients for making up one’s own salad, some awful looking soup and unimaginative vegetables, which tasted as unappealing as they looked. All this for R185 per head!

When the waiter asked me how the food was, I told him it was awful. He clearly found this too much to handle, and simply disappeared. A manager approached me at the desserts table and I thought he was going to address my complaint. Instead, he did a hard sell of the establishment’s signature dessert, a strawberry cheesecake that looked as though it contained a full bottle of pink food colouring.

I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a bit of luxury, attentive service and good food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg W, General Manager at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 21 Aug 2013
Good day, I am truly sorry that your experience at our hotel was anything less than perfect. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback... it has been taken to heart and all levels of staff have refocused their efforts to ensure we can improve any areas we are lacking in.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leboux wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a terrible time paid a fortune for river view and had no one cleaning room in days there absolutely no privacy in the room with dubble beds apperantly for a family (YA SURE) ..paid for river view no balcony just a sliding door and miles to walk to where you want to be..when driving in theres pot holes all over for no decent vehicles..No refunds at all paid for riverview wanted a refund and they declined paying my money back for nights i didnt even stay in..Had to supply toilet paper.. and had to go and request for coffee and tee sachets...Rooms not sound proof at all..I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANTONE..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner van Deventer, Owner at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Dear HGYHGTV Thank you for your review. Kind regards Werner and team Roodevalley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ninakriel wrote a review Feb 2019
East London, South Africa73 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Conference facilities are very basic, aircons completely inadequate, stationery arrived late and AV had several hiccups.
Accommodation is average, again aircons inadequate and noisy. Got stuck in my room and had to exit via the window, which has no burglar bars so I was uncomfortable leaving my windows open at night. Shower pressure poor. Flies are a problem at mealtimes, perhaps an inevitable part of the country experience.
Wifi is great and staff are friendly, decor is nice, particularly in the public areas.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TradewindExplorer wrote a review Sept 2017
Pretoria60 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Big improvement over a few years ago - clearly management have put a great effort into this (now) superior destination and wedding/events venue. Stunning and very peaceful surroundings with good facilities - far more than one could expect from a 3 Star hotel, and much more like a 4 Star. Happy and friendly staff are especially notable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: River view rooms very pleasant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul D, General Manager at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 14 Sept 2017
Good day TradewindExplorer, thank you very much for such an exceptional review of our hotel. Faircity Roodevallei has come a long way in the past 12 months and it makes us all incredibly proud when a GUEST notices such. We have an great TEAM in place, all of whom are committed to delivering "Service by design". Reviews such as yours only serves to motivate the TEAM to continue giving of their best. We trust that you will visit us again soon. Yours in hospitality - Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryan P wrote a review Dec 2015
28 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were put in a room close to the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Every hotel that I have stayed in enforces rules around the pool, so I didn't think much of the close proximity. Most hotels close the pool area by 10pm and don't ever allow glass. Not this place. They have no rules.
There were people laughing and making a lot of noise, drinking around that area until after 3am and on top of it We had to hear the noisy Jacuzzi motor too. We phoned the manager several times and he said he was unable to keep them quiet. We confronted these people and they threatened our safety, telling my girlfriend that they would make trouble for us in the morning. He then asked the manager what our room number was and he told them. Manager said he could move us to another room, but this was 3am and we had already unpacked and just wanted some rest. I don't want to pack up at that time and move. I want a quiet place to sleep. Besides, he would have needed to go back to reception to see if anything was available.
Besides the noise and the useless security and manager, the bed was tiny, smaller than a double bed. Not suitable for two adults. Everytime one of us moved The entire bed moved.
The fan/aircon is so noisy that it can't be switched on if you are trying to sleep. This was the worst accommodation that I have ever stayed in. I will never ever go back. Stay there at your own peril. If you are looking for a place to relax, go elsewhere. I am now lying awake, waiting for sunrise so that I can just leave this hell hole with not a second of sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CKassis, General Manager at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 28 Dec 2015
Dear Bryan P, Thank you for informing us about your experience at Faircity Roodevallei Hotel. We strive to provide the best service to our guests at all times and on this occasion we did not meet your basic expectation. Please accept our sincere apology for this. Thank you for taking our telephone call and as per our follow up mail to you, we brought in some extra policies and procedures with regards to the use of our swimming pool and Jacuzzi after hours. Your comments with regards to our beds, I can assure you that all our Garden Rooms are equipped with double beds, If you would like to have a King Size bed we will gladly offer you a Thatch Room next time. We do hope that you will be visiting us again soon to experience what Faircity Roodevallei Hotel is really about. Kind Regards Charmaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IanGP wrote a review Sept 2013
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we decided to get married, we wanted a venue a little out of town where our guests could stay over for at least the wedding night.
Upon visiting Roodevallei to view the venue, we were taken aback by the beauty of there venue, particularly the deck over the water for the ceremony.

Prior to the wedding, the best man and I stayed over for a few nights, just to relax and prepare. Well, what a pleasure; the staff made us feel right at home and treated us like VIP's.

On the day of the wedding, everything went off without even a hint of a glitch (note that the wedding was planned and executed by Roodevallei). And the bridal suite is phenomenal!

Thanks Roodevallei!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greg W, General Manager at Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Responded 22 Sept 2013
God day Ian, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience... I am happy we managed to meet all your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Reiner M
Gießen, Hessen, Germany286 contributions125 helpful votes
We have used for a group of 40 people the Kwathlano Shuttle services and it worked very well!
Flyer07151536161 wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My review is on conferencing as we booked the conference and had excellent experience "
Read full review
HDforhotels wrote a tip Nov 2019
South Africa97 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book one of the loose standing rooms close to the waterfront."
Read full review
portiarabatshidi wrote a tip Jul 2019
Pretoria, South Africa89 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Riverside Rooms"
Read full review
bev357 wrote a tip Apr 2019
20 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room lighting poor. No fridge in rooms."
Read full review
Wilmien Scheepers wrote a tip Mar 2019
Durbanville, South Africa430 contributions81 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room away from the entertainment areas if you want to have peace and quite."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,021 - R 1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Faircity Roodevalley
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER HOTEL ROODEVALLEY - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Pretoria, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Nearby attractions include Ludwig's Rose Farm (6.2 km), Buffelsdrift MTB Park (7.2 km), and Roodeplaat Dam Provincial Nature Reserve (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toureiro House of Prawns, Crawdaddy's Montana, and Granita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Premier Hotel Roodevalley have airport transportation?
Yes, Premier Hotel Roodevalley offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Premier Hotel Roodevalley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Hotel Roodevalley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Smuts House Museum (9.3 km).
Does Premier Hotel Roodevalley have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near Premier Hotel Roodevalley
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire