The Capital Menlyn Maine

The Capital Menlyn Maine

194 Bancor Avenue Menlyn Maine, Pretoria 0010 South Africa
Traveller (126)
MENLYN MAINE APARTMENT
Room & Suite (69)
KOI Restaurant
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
R 2 751
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 69 hotels in Pretoria
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Choose to stay in the centre of Menlyn Maine, where upmarket shops and restaurants merge seamlessly with The Capital's unique 5 Star apartment / hotel experience. A first in Pretoria! Exceptional. Exciting. Exclusive. The Capital Menlyn Maine combines modern, contemporary design with spaciousness and state of the art amenities including a conference hub with a seating capacity of over 240 delegates. Sit back in luxury and style. You deserve the best. It's all up to you when you stay at the top of class - because you are literally on top of the award winning Menlyn Maine green precinct mall which includes 8 high style restaurants, 3 top end super markets as well as a Virgin Classic gym and Spa de la Veille. Plus with over 75 stores to choose from, and the Time Square Casino across the road, you can have it all. Step out of your room and into the mall - whether you need a pharmacy, a liquor outlet, high end retail, a book store or a Starbucks coffee its all within easy reach. Stay in a choice of standard rooms, executive rooms, one, two or three bedroom apartments or two and three bedroom penthouses. Top class standard rooms are also available for short stays with competitive rates. Perfect for a short business trip or conference. The standard rooms have king beds which can be converted to twins as required, with large shower.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

194 Bancor Avenue Menlyn Maine, Pretoria 0010 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
Johannesburg Intl Airport
38.8 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
39.4 km
See all flights
314Reviews4Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 87
  • 20
  • 12
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fantajan wrote a review Dec 2020
Pretoria, South Africa331 contributions180 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I spent three months in a two-bedroom apartment in the Capital Menlyn Maine. It was recommended to me by colleagues and I'm glad that I followed her advice. It is incredibly convenient being that it is connected to a great mall with three grocery stores, multiple restaurants, banks, and just about everything else you could want including a copy shop, clothing stores, etc. We spent our two weeks of quarantine here after arriving in South Africa and it was easy to have groceries and meals delivered. Since we didn't have a car for the first few months, living at the Capital made life really easy as we could easily pop downstairs for groceries and meals, as needed. There are plenty of Ubers around when you need to go somewhere. Our apartment was great - a little tight for three people but not bad. It featured a full kitchen which included a washer and dryer (although they are small and take quite some time to wash/dry a load). The kitchen is stocked with basic pots, pans, cups, plates, etc. There is a television in every room and the wireless internet is generally quite fast and reliable. I teleworked from the hotel and my son briefly did virtual learning from there so we really needed a reliable connection. There are desks in the bedrooms where you can easily set up a virtual office. The beds are huge and super comfortable. I wish I could have taken it with me! The rooms are tastefully decorated. The hotel has a lovely (but relatively small) pool on the second floor that overlooks the restaurants below. The pool deck is a nice place to hang out on a sunny day and is rarely crowded so we felt safe, even during the height of COVID. There is also a small gym with the basics which was almost always empty. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating (although I need to note they were less so to our African American colleagues who experienced a few challenges during their stay). My only regret is that the Capital chain has not yet rolled out a loyalty program which would have benefitted us greatly after a three month stay. With these few exceptions, I would definitely recommend the Capital for those looking for a comfortable, convenient place to stay in Pretoria.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson Rodrigues, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 04 Feb 2021
Dear Fantajan Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that your stay was a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel brings you back to Menlyn Maine. Yours in Hospitality Nelson & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karen0d0nnell wrote a review Mar 2020
Perth, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely friendly staff, fantastic room, wonderful amenities. I stayed for 5 days on business and this is now one of my favorite hotels in the world. Everyone was very accommodating and the location with restaurants and shops within walking distance made this stay very enjoyable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Take the apartment if you can
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson R, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear karen0d0nnell Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel brings you back to Menlyn Maine. Yours in Hospitality Nelson & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hyo Jung P wrote a review Dec 2020
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay was great but some things to keep in mind

1. Buy late night snacks at the nearby stores because there are no vending machines. We had electricity cut( load shedding) with covid lockdown curfew with no snacks from 8pm. No vending machines within the facility.

2. Room service restaurant is a weird fusion asian restaurant. If you love room service, you might not like it. There are many restaurant within 50m of the hotel so that's great.

3. Swimming pool closes at 5pm and you are right next to the patron of the restaurant who are all fully clothes and not staying at the hotel so it can be weird.

4. Free shuttle: Apparently not free and you have to book in advance. Had to uber around.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson Rodrigues, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 04 Feb 2021
Dear lunamoo1984 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that your stay was a great one. Your comments are noted regarding Koi and your comments have been given to management. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel brings you back to Menlyn Maine. Yours in Hospitality Nelson & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
678nick wrote a review Jun 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa6 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on business. I selected this hotel based on good reviews and on their website were offering breakfast which many hotels were not because of the Covid issues. What this hotel considered as a breakfast was unbelievable. They brought a meal to the room in the evening in a plastic container. The first evening was some kind of meat pie, the second was Boerewors and vegetables. When I initially enquired about breakfast on the first morning I was only then informed that these evening meals were actually meant to be consumed for breakfast!! I actually could not believe a hotel would do this kind of thing! Regardless of this both meals looked disgusting and there was no way I would eat them in the evening let alone for breakfast! I should have taken photographs.
A breakfast in anyones interpretation is a meal served in the morning and not in the evening for a guest to consume the next morning! A simple breakfast of fruit and yoghurt or something similar served in the morning to the room would have been simple. I
As the restaurant was understandably closed they gave me a meal voucher for restaurants in the vicinity that were all closed and the one that was open would not accept it.
My complaints to management about these issues fell on deaf ears. I requested a refund on the breakfast portion of the booking rate and was given a business card and email address to send my complaint and refund request.
An email of formal complaint was sent and the request for a refund was denied as apparently “I was supplied breakfast as were all other guests and no one else had any complaints”. So they consider an evening meal delivered in a plastic container to be kept overnight in your room and consumed the next day for breakfast to be hygienic and acceptable. As if we don’t have enough concerns about Covid!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson R, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 03 Jul 2020
Dear 678nick Thank you so very much for taking the time to review The Capital Menlyn Maine after your stay with us. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations and needs during The Covid Lockdown. Apologies for not meeting your expectations, when I personally became aware of your experience we immediately refunded your breakfast accordingly, if you have any further questions please contact me directly on nelson@thecapital.co.za Kind Regards Nelson R & The Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nonny wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I hope Nelson the GM sees this, since efforts to get his contacts have proven futile!

My story,
Checked into this hotel and took a monthly lease plan. 2 weeks into my stay, I had to travel for work mission outside the country and so I went to the reception and spoke to the staff on duty. I explained that I would be away for week but when I come, I will continue with my monthly lease plan until I exhaust my credit. The hotel accepted, I checked out of the room fully and they even went ahead to issue me with a receipt indicating my balance which was over 9000 Rands. 5 days later, I receive an email from the hotel indicating that since I checked out, my monthly lease was changed to daily rate and therefore had exhausted the credit they owed me. On reaching out to the manager on duty, and we had a lengthy conversation. She asked me to disregard the first email then she wrote another indicating that I only has R1500 left.
How could such a big hotel could actually behave like this, as in, communicate to customers one thing, issue receipts, then change their minds 5 days later, expecting customers to bear the blunt. It's been 4 days of me trying to get this resolved but all in vain. I have even asked to be connected to Nelson the General Manager, but I guess this is next to impossible.
Let us not even talk of the ,many emails that have gone unanswered by your staff.

Nelson, you are very ardent in responding to reviews in such platforms, why not just put a contact on the internet that we can reach you on?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Johan V wrote a review Jul 2020
Somerset West, South Africa1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Many little things were not in order in this new part of the hotel. Room card didn't work, no coffee in the room, telephone not working, room linked to another room (1514) with building rubble, reception said breakfast was not included, until I presented the booking form proving that breakfast was included, after checkout was handed back my card to be able to access parking and had to park outside to come back in to bring in the card, as the parking garage attendant wouldn't take the card to reception. Wifi instructions on the sleeve of the key card didn't work as reception said it would. Had to get another general password. No guest directory in the room as stated on the key card sleeve. Clearly this part of the hotel was opened hastily without making sure that everything was ready.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janfisher2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located in the heart of Menlyn next to the Menlyn Maine Shopping Centre, giving you easy access to shops and restaurants. The staff is really friendly but there were some confusion with regards to weather or not our breakfasts were included and it took me 3 visits to the reception desk to sort this out.
The basic rooms are really small if you are planning to stay for longer than a week and I would suggest rather going for the larger room that also includes a bathtub.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson R, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear janfisher2020 Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that your stay was a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel brings you back to Menlyn Maine. Yours in Hospitality Nelson & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EM J wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was elegant and clean. Reception service was friendly and helpful. The pool deck was amazing, relaxing and clean. Porter service and room service staff rude, lazy and unwilling to assist. Would recommend employing staff that's more suited to the hospitality industry
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson R, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear EM J Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Menlyn Maine. I have discussed your feedback in detail with my Porter team & Koi staff alike. Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Kind Regards Nelson Rodrigues & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James_CY wrote a review Feb 2020
Nicosia, Cyprus49 contributions48 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had 2 nights pre-booked and pre-paid, only to walk-in and be informed by the receptionist that the hotel is fully booked and that “Aaah...Yes, Yes it happens”. I explained again that I had already paid for that room and got a reservation reference 3 weeks earlier and the receptionist was eager to explain to me again that “These things happen”. After long worthless discussions with the receptionists, they told me that I will be upgraded to the hotel next door which I quote “It is a better hotel than ours and more expensive” (this was actually entertaining). He even told me it is our “Sister Hotel” and that I should not worry (needless to say that when I arrived at the hotel next door and asked the receptionist if the hotels are affiliated he told me with a smile “No no sir, these guys just overbook all the time and send people through”).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nelson R, General Manager at The Capital Menlyn Maine
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear JamesCon_CY Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Menlyn Maine. I have discussed your feedback in detail with my Reservations Department. Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Kind Regards Nelson & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nhlanhla wrote a review Oct 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa16 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a good 1 night stay with excellent breakfast.

No fuss 5th floor room overlooking the main hotel entrance.

Booking in was quick and relatively easy. Basement parking was sufficient and easy to access

Breakfast spread was good

Access to the Sun arena was a walk and convenient

Checking out was
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from JamesPAB
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom207 contributions163 helpful votes
I found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful. I am sure if you email guest services they can arrange a service from the airport and back.
Wayne G asked a question Aug 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa223 contributions70 helpful votes
What is the difference between the Executive and Standard rooms?
Answer from Nelson R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Hi Wayne G, executive rooms are slightly larger and have a shower and separate bath. Regards Nelson
Answer from Nelson R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Yes, they are 20m away from the front door at the Menlyn Maine square
Answer from 37alfh
Centurion, South Africa3 contributions
Yes but a lot of good restaurants in area
Damian Heinz wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dublin, Ireland54 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Capital Menlyn Maine is situated within a very modern precinct. There are restaurants and retail stores all around the hotel which will cater to all your needs. "
Read full review
Umashankar wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bangkok, Thailand161 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Carry your personal toiletries. Services are basic"
Read full review
lrawlings821 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Upper Marlboro, Maryland81 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"TIP: If you are traveling in August be sure to pack a jacket and layered clothing because the temperatures of cool in the AM and PM."
Read full review
sheilak527 wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the rooms at the inner corners of the building. They have air ducts that are sometimes slightly noisy. "
Read full review
Ken V wrote a tip Feb 2022
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away. This place used to be amazing. Now it has poor customer service and needs a lot of maintainance."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pretoria area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,987 - R 2,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengPretoria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
201
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CAPITAL MENLYN MAINE - Now R 1 951 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶6̶3̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Pretoria, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Capital Menlyn Maine
Which popular attractions are close to The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Nearby attractions include Menlyn Maine Central Square (0.1 km), Sun Arena (0.3 km), and Times Square Casino (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forti Grill & Bar, Tashas, and Turn 'n Tender Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Capital Menlyn Maine have airport transportation?
Yes, The Capital Menlyn Maine offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Capital Menlyn Maine?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Capital Menlyn Maine offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PretoriaHotels near The Capital Menlyn Maine
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire