We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenhaven Cottages

Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Certificate of Excellence
Glenhaven offers safe, quiet and affordable accommodation in the heart of Cape Town’s southern suburb of Newlands. There are three charming , stylish units which can each accommodate a family with small children. Ideal for the businessman looking for the personal touch while away from home. All rooms have open plan living and are en-suite. Each have compact but fully equipped kitchenettes for self catering purposes .Upstairs rooms have balconies, downstairs — its own courtyard. The Courtyard Cottage’s kitchen is more comprehensive with a gas stove and washing machine – ideal for longer stays. Glenhaven is situated within a 5—10 minute walk from both Newlands Rugby and Cricket Grounds, a mere 5 minute walk to Cavendish Shopping Centre with its numerous top restaurants and shops. Newlands Village is also a few minutes walk away with upmarket eateries, renowned pubs and décor shops. Season rates apply.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Great View
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering strong wifi main station superb host cape town excellent breakfast useful information walking distance yogurt loft room home away from home nice stay friendly hosts a great place to stay easy access excellent location comfortable bed
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Very nice people at Glenhaven.The house is safe and we had a beautiful view to Table Mountain.Close to the house are restaurants and a supermarket.It took about a five minutes walk to be there.But be careful in Capetown, we have been robbed at the Main...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Curiosity06654930499
Response from SJoustra, Manager at Glenhaven CottagesResponded 5 November 2018

Hello! We trust that you have arrived home safely and have recovered from the 'pick-pocketing' incident at Cape Town Central Train Station. Again we are very sorry that this happened to you! You were all very brave!! We will do as we discussed so that...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

Thanks to Sue and her husband. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the discussion with them.Hopefully we get the chance to visit you again. As mentioned please contact us when you are in Europe. Thanks again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Dream25941628033
Response from SJoustra, Manager at Glenhaven CottagesResponded 5 November 2018

So lovely to have met you both - we so enjoyed your company too - thank-you! We hope all went well according to plan with your journey home :) See you again some day in the near future :)

Reviewed 19 October 2018

Sue was a lovely host and the property was very nice. A large bed, kitchenette, sofa, en suite bathroom and a small garden for a reasonable price. Breakfast each day was on a covered patio in the garden overlooking the small swimming pool with a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Gina D
Response from SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven CottagesResponded 22 October 2018

Gina was the perfect guest and we so enjoyed hosting her. She is welcome back anytime!

Reviewed 7 October 2018

It was nice meeting the owners and the workers. Even the other guests were nice. It was like a family!!. We enjoyed our stay in the guesthouse. The service was excellent and would not hesitate to recommend to any one travelling to Cape Town

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Raymond L
Response from SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven CottagesResponded 10 October 2018

Thanks very much Raymond. We enjoyed the company of both Rueben & yourself too, It was great to meet you guys and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves.

Reviewed 2 October 2018

The rooms that we had were good - very large and well equipped. Unfortunately our stay was during a wet chilly time and the heating didn't cope with the chilly weather. Breakfast was good and served in a conservatory.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
Thank shughe729597
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
5 November 2018|
Response from SJoustra | Property representative |
Hi there, Thanks for your question. The walk is about 10 - 15 minutes so definitely walkable. The UBER's here come within 1 minute if this becomes your preference. Fine to walk if you are not alone I would say.
19 January 2015|
Response from SJoustra | Property representative |
All our Suites are Air-Conditioned!
Room Tips
"We had the Courtyard Room which was lovely. Big and spacious with its only little garden."
07 Mar 2018
Read review
"Upstairs room is has great views but only accessible via stairs"
08 Jan 2018
Read review
"Mountain room has added charm of peekaboo views of the Mountains."
24 Jul 2017
Read review
"All rooms look to be good so no preferences"
14 Jan 2017
Read review
Show More 
US$56 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownNewlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing