We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1739 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$90
View deal
PricelineUS$100
FindHotel
Agoda.com
eDreamsUS$90
Destinia.com
getaroom.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (622)
Room & Suite (152)
Pool & Beach (53)

About

#6 of 6 hotels in Muldersdrift
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
612Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 238
  • 202
  • 81
  • 47
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kvries499 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Lovely surprise get away to a beautiful hidden gem. The staff are ever so friendly and happy to assist. It was just that in one room the Television was not working, the tech was called out but he could not fix the problem. other than this, the place is beautiful and has a gorgeous pool relaxation area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 29 May 2022
Thank you for choosing Misty Hills for your recent stay in Muldersdrift. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time. Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
csmit441599 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Not very happy. When we arrived at 14:00 they were still busy cleaning the room. No hand soap. We had to ask. Wi fi didn't work after we phone reception twice. Aircon didn't work. Then at the Restaurant they had no fish.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 07 Jun 2022
On behalf of the management and everyone who works at Misty Hills Country Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa. We would like to apologize to you for the inconvenience and bad service that you received during your stay at our hotel. We totally agree with you that what happened was unacceptable and I can assure you that this is not the way we wish our guests to be treated. We do our best to provide the best possible level of service, but sometimes unpredictable pitfalls pop up out of nowhere and cause such incidents. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. As a result, we took the necessary precautions to make sure that such incidents do not happen again. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation. We value your business and wish to retain you as a customer for years to come.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Desiré D wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Beautiful place with very friendly staff that is always willing to help. Great food, especially their Italian meatballs, who needs to go to Italy! Great value for money. Misty Hills will definitely see me again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Misty Hills! We are delighted you took the time to visit and that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cherie Fourie wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Wonderful hotel. Everything exceeds ones expectations, from the picnic next to the pool to the quad bike rides. The botanical like gardens, the lovely rooms, amazing Spa. On top of all that they have the most wonderful staff, extremely kind and helpful with every wish. This is indeed a place you do not want to leave, and when you do it is with one hope – to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Superior Delux or Junior Suits are definitely a plus
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2022
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Misty Hills experience – thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy S wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent 3 nights and 3 days at Misty Hills. What a fabulous estate. Lush gardens, beautiful swimming pools and so many little nooks and crannies on the estate to escape to. The weather didn't allow us to use any of the pools but it was so relaxing exploring the beautiful estate and we spent time at the spa. The staff were amazing. It's sad that Covid has virtually robbed this beautiful place of visitors.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 09 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are delighted that we met your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcosteyl wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa149 contributions42 helpful votes
Instead of reading the reviews on Tripadvisor like I usually do before booking a hotel, I made the mortal mistake of simply booking myself and several clients into this hotel. This was one of the most disappointing experiences I have had to date. This must have been a prestigious and beautiful hotel, and the facilities must have catered for hundreds of people at some point in the now very distant past. The grounds are visibly derelict. The staff is uninterested, and the restaurant and bar are poorly stocked. A general "no can do" attitude pulls through from management right to the cleaners. Abandoned rubbish bags at the entrance to our rooms were left next to the walkway from the afternoon we arrived right through to when we left the next day. After drinks in the bar, we abandoned the idea of dinner at the hotel and stepped out to The Cradle restaurant situated not more than 10 minutes away. We had a wonderful evening and experience there, and I regret not having booked into their boutique hotel from the word go. After a terrible breakfast this morning with more disinterested, untrained and plainly rude service. We left, and I can promise you we will not return even if it was free.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are apologise for not meeting all your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin R wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions6 helpful votes
Reception never answers the phone. The only way you can get any food is by driving to a shop in the middle of the night because there is no way to get hold of anyone. We came here while a large function was being hosted. It is now 11pm and we can't sleep because the music is so loud and the hotel staff don't care, because corporate guests are obviously prioritised over private ones. We had to remind housekeeping to tend to the room at 12pm because no one had bothered. We also made a booking for dinner (with reception, and of course we had to walk there) - twice, for the Carnivore restaurant. We got there and no booking was on record. Worst hospitality experience we have ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with regards to the noise levels during your stay. It is with great disappointment that we read your email of dissatisfaction with regards to your experience at our hotel. Please allow us this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies and we want to assure you that we have addressed this matter with the parties concerned and harsh measures have been put in place with regards to those guest’s unruly behaviour which is totally inexcusable. Our senior management team has taken note of this in high priority and corrective measures have be implemented to prevent the shortcomings you experienced.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SanetdP wrote a review Sep 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa41 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked a romantic night away for our anniversary and my husband's birthday on a Saturday. We paid extra for a classic executive suite instead of a deluxe or a superior deluxe room so that we could be sure we would be staying in a very nice room. What a disappointment! There is absolutely no soundproofing measures between the rooms. We could hear every single word from our neighbors while they were talking at a normal volume, but unfortunately, they didn't keep to a normal volume. They had a bunch of drinks, got very loud, put their television on the loudest possible setting and promptly passed out, leaving the tv on until after 3am the next morning. We sent numerous complaints and the hotel simply said they tried to phone them but there was no answer. Of course they won't answer if they are passed out. I didn't hear them trying to knock at any point throughout the night. I sent them an email on the following Monday. They didn't respond for 2 weeks and when they finally did (only after I sent another email) it was to say sorry about the loud guests and to offer me a massage at the spa. 1. The night in question was cold and windy, so I can only assume it was too much trouble for the night staff to offer moving us. I was so desperate for some sleep I would have slept in a tent without complaint. The hotel was very far from fully booked, so to move us would have been easy. 2. To offer me a massage is an insult. We were there as a couple, so why am I the only one being offered anything? I didn't expect anything for free, so I declined their offer, but what gets me the absolute most is the fact that they have apologised for the noisy neighbours, but they don't address the actual issue. 3. Why is there no soundproofing between their very expensive suites? I am not supposed to hear a normal conversation from next door. We have stayed there many times before in other room types, but I am afraid this was the last time, which is a pity. It is a spectacular setting and has so much potential. When I declined their massage, I asked why they didn't address the actual soundproofing issue. It has been another two weeks and I still have no response. The whole hotel is feeling a bit rundown and tired, but I gave them the benefit of the doubt. I understand due to Covid and the lack of guests there would be a severe financial impact, but Covid can't be blamed for such bad client service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Firstly we would like to start by apologizing for delay in responding to your review. WE could have responded much earlier however I had some minor issues that lead to this delay. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with regards to the noise levels during your stay. It is with great disappointment that we read your email of dissatisfaction with regards to your experience at our hotel. Please allow us this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies and we want to assure you that we have addressed this matter with the parties concerned and harsh measures have been put in place with regards to those guest’s unruly behaviour which is totally inexcusable. Our senior management team has taken note of this in high priority and corrective measures have be implemented to prevent the shortcomings you experienced.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We stayed over the long weekend of the 09/08/21. The staff was quite friendly & helpful. The place definitely does need maintenance. The steel rail on our balcony was full of dust not to mention a cobweb we came across in our room. We also had issues with hot water not running from our shower especially in the morning around breakfast time. Carnivore restaurant could also with a revamp. On a scale of zero to ten, I give the place a 4.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 04 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Misty Hills. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are apologise for not meeting all your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra V wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We stayed there for 4 days from 10/08/2021 - 13/08/2021 with the passing of our sister, the staff of Misty hill was so excellent, friendly always helpful we want to recommend Misty hill to anybody go and see the wonderful hospitality that the staff member have absolutely fabulous Big thank you to you all The Muller sisters
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Recreation Africa, Marketing at Misty Hills Country Hotel
Responded 04 Oct 2021
Thank you for choosing Misty Hills for your recent stay. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to host you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
misty hills country muldersdrift
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgMuldersdrift
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Misty Hills Country Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens (6.6 km), The Cradle of Humankind (5.5 km), and Silverstar Casino, Krugersdorp (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include roots restaurant, Bellgables Country Restaurant, and Carnivore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Misty Hills Country Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Misty Hills Country Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Misty Hills Country Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Misty Hills Country Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kromdraai Gold Mine (8.6 km) and Boer War Blockhouse (10.3 km).