We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Newtown

Save
Share
Cnr Carr & Miriam Makeba St, Johannesburg 2001 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 93 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Johannesburg? Then look no further than City Lodge Hotel Newtown, a hotel that brings the best of Johannesburg to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as City Lodge Hotel Newtown offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service. Plus, City Lodge Hotel Newtown offers a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While staying at City Lodge Hotel Newtown, visitors can check out Carlton Centre (0.8 mi) and Constitution Hill (1.3 mi), some of Johannesburg's top attractions.

If you are looking for a nearby place to eat, City Lodge Hotel Newtown is within walking distance of some popular restaurants including Urbanologi (0.1 mi), Galata Bakery (0.9 mi), and Fishmonger (0.3 mi).

Johannesburg is also known for some great history museums, including Origins Centre Museum, Nelson Mandela Foundation, and Museum Africa, which are not too far from City Lodge Hotel Newtown.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at City Lodge Hotel Newtown as you experience everything Johannesburg has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
31Reviews2Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 12
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mareitumetse M wrote a review Aug 2019
Maseru15 contributions4 helpful votes
Neat, friendly staff, free wi-fi, can even order food from other food franchise shop around and be delivered to your room, we were offered an extra blanket when we asked because the weather at night was chilly
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Terri-Ann wrote a review Jul 2019
5 contributions
Situated in a busy part of town getting to the hotel is tricky, even with GPS Got to the hotel and there was Nobody at the gate. Rang the buzzer for an obscenely long time before the boom finally opened. Used the elevator and it was faulty, door opening and closing while I was in. Honestly was afraid I would spend the night in the elevator The guy bringing my sandwich was nice though.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by other skyscrapers, there's nothing to see
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Thank you for staying with us at City Lodge Hotel Newtown and for taking the time to rate your experience. We are very sorry that there was a delay in the security boom being opened on your arrival, we have stressed to the team the importance of vigilance and efficient guest service at all times. Thank you for reporting the faulty elevator, the fault has since been repaired. We appreciate your compliments of our staff – it means a lot to us to be able to offer a WOW experience. We trust we have alleviated any concerns you may have and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Read more
Maria G wrote a review Jul 2019
Dunwoody, Georgia1 114 contributions272 helpful votes
The hotel was empty when we stayed there over the weekend. We were one of 2 tables at breakfast and dinner. You could hear a pin drop. The room had a shower and a tub which was nice. No water was provided. The vending machine doesn’t give change but has beer. (Which requires a token though not stated on machine. ). The rooms are so noisy- the multitude of sounds come in.... people yelling, cars honking, brakes screeching. The breakfast buffet is good. The mall is attached with less expensive dining options. The staff is very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Kanderri wrote a review Jul 2019
45 contributions9 helpful votes
Great location in Newtown Johannesburg, close to shopping mall with supermarket and food hall, cinema and local attractions. Excellent value with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms comfortable & clean, quiet. Breakfast extra but well worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Responded 08 Jul 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
tembotabu wrote a review Jun 2019
København7 contributions2 helpful votes
Rude staff at check-in. No drinking water in room. I came only to have some hours of rest before my flight at 03 AM - I spent most of my time figuring out how to get a tax at a reasonable price - Staff tried to have me take a taxi to the airport for 600R which is at least double of what it should cost. Out of principle I refused this. Hotel should have been helpful and not extort their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There was street noise - so maybe should look at a room facing away form the street, if possible.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Responded 25 Jun 2019
Thank you for staying with us at City Lodge Hotel Newtown and for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We are so sorry to hear that you were not happy during your stay. Our hotel general manager has investigated the matter with the team that was on duty. Our reception team understands that transportation to and from the hotel is entirely at the guest’s discretion; however, they do offer suggestions of shuttle services if guests enquire. And the mention of our various hotels within easy access of OR Tambo International Airport was made simply to inform you of other choices that may prove more convenient during your next trip to Johannesburg if being close to the airport is a priority. We understand that travelling is exhausting and we do our best to ensure that all of our hotels are a comfortable option for our guests. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about City Lodge Hotel Newtown
Which popular attractions are close to City Lodge Hotel Newtown?
Nearby attractions include Sci-Bono Discovery Centre (0.3 km), SAB World of Beer (0.3 km), and KwaZulu Muti (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at City Lodge Hotel Newtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at City Lodge Hotel Newtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to City Lodge Hotel Newtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Urbanologi, The Marshall, and Panettone Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at City Lodge Hotel Newtown?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is City Lodge Hotel Newtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Johannesburg.
Are there any historical sites close to City Lodge Hotel Newtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (2.1 km), Johannesburg Fort (2.4 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (6.9 km).