We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Curiocity Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Curiocity Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Curiocity Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Curiosity has an amazing vibe with the friendliest, most helpful, easygoing staff and manager. Located on a very nice/(very gentrified!) street where you, as a tourist, feel safe and can enjoy restaurants, bars, cafes, shops and the Sunday market. Their bar is open to both residents and non-residents up until a certain point during the night, which is great as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sahra T
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Sahra, Thanks for being such a pleasure to host. We hope you visit sunny SA again soon! Cheers!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic, well run hostel. Extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Place where locals meet with travellers. Don't let anyone tell you not too stay in Manboneng. It may have had a bad reputation in the past but it's buzzing of activities, nice bar, restaurants, art and markets. A beacon of hope in Johannesburg, also very safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhlkurstjens
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi! We're stoked that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you soon! Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for a fun but relaxed hostel, right in the middle of an really fun and artsy area you gotta choose this hostel. They have a nice area to chill at during the evenings, with a bar and pool tables. Right next to all the good food places and bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Hugh, Thanks for choosing to stay and play at Curiocity! We really enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you soon!

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed couple days in Curiocity, and it was a real pleasant stay. The manager is nice and gives good tips. Nice view from the terrace enjoying a cocktail from the bar is just perfect ! Fair prices, and the location is great in Jozy ! The street has several good restaurants !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loïc D
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Loïc, Thanks for the awesome feedback. We're glad you had fun. We hope to host you again soon. Safe travels friend!

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Hostel has all the basic necessities, is clean, and has some good chilling areas - particularly the balcony. Staff are insanely helpful and kind - went out of their way to help me find a room when all the dorms were booked up. Location is a bit dodgy but gentrification in the area has allowed for some interesting bars, restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samer B
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Samer, We're stoked that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope that you visit sunny SA again soon. Curiocity would love to have you. Cheers!

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I came to Joburg on a whim and expected very little. I chose to stay at Curiocity because of the curated experience they seem to offer. As a solo traveler, I didn't necessarily want to spend most of my time trying to figure out what to do next, so the tours and other activities that are organized by Curio sounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, We are so glad you had a "jol" with us! You've left an indelible stamp in our hearts and we can't wait to host you again. Thank you for bringing your awesome energy to Joburg. Safe Travels, Curiocity Team

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I stayed in a double bed room. Simple but good. The nice thing about this hostel, are the people who work and stayed there. It is just a great atmospehere. This hostel is located in Maboneng. A great little spot in Johannesburg. If you stay at Johannesburg, stay at Curiocity ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthias P
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Matthias, We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe Travels! Curio Team

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days and joint the free early morning run (including boxing class which is Tipp based). We got to know a lot about the city like this. The city tour organized by the hostel is worth it really. The Hostel itself is clean and the people are really friendly and helpful. I felt save in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mareikeb85
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Mareike, We're glad you had a blast! Hopefully we get to see you again soon. Cheers!

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The room was really great and super compy pillows and covers... it's on the best street in Johannesburg that has everything you want. The staff is too notch and always accommodating to anything you need, if a budget and quality is in mind, stay here it's worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leroy Z
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for such a positive review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Regards, Curiocity Team

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 9 January 2017

1- Bad location and unsafe area (the street where the hostel is located has private security, but the surroundings not. So you will always need to take a taxi or uber to move around). 2- Seems to be a very poor area and the most of stores don't accept credit card. 3- For 2 times I had my food stolen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania_Mangolini
Curiocity B, Front Office Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review. It's very important to us, and we take note & action of every critical issue highlighted, in order to better our services and experiences that we offer We hope to host you next time so that you have a pleasant a better stay with us. Regards Curiocity Team

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.5 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.1 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
350 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
371 reviews
4.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
697 reviews
15.0 km away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#3 of 98 in Johannesburg
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Developed for curious urbanites from all over the world looking to experience Johannesburg hidden treasures, Curiocity invites you to explore an undiscovered world in the heart of one of Johannesburg's oldest suburbs. Situated in the vibrant cultural neighbourhood; Maboneng. Curiocity not only offers you a guided experience through Johannesburg's inner city, but also offers you the opportunity to experience Johannesburg like a local with direct access to the people and happenings of the community. Located in walking distance from a number of independent eateries, quirky retail and entertainment hotspots, you'll never be short of things to do during your stay. From underground hangouts to Africa's tallest building, the best of urban Johannesburg lies at our doorstep waiting to be discovered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Curiocity Backpackers

Address: 302 Fox Street | Maboneng, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: R184 - R763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Curiocity Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Curiocity Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Curiocity Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Curiocity Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I got the cheapest room and they had twin beds aswell as lockers where you can lock your things.”
SmileyRN, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the 10 bed dorm was really spacious”
PincheTravels, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Both singles and dorms are both spacious and clean.”
jazzah, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go on Main Street Walks Tour to Soweto!”
434tinat, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Looking for a private room? Choose the Loft. Worth the extra $$”
D6454LJerinm, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5