We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Curiocity Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Curiocity Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of Curiocity Backpackers
 Click to rate
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed couple days in Curiocity, and it was a real pleasant stay. The manager is nice and gives good tips. Nice view from the terrace enjoying a cocktail from the bar is just perfect ! Fair prices, and the location is great in Jozy ! The street has several good restaurants !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loïc D
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hostel has all the basic necessities, is clean, and has some good chilling areas - particularly the balcony. Staff are insanely helpful and kind - went out of their way to help me find a room when all the dorms were booked up. Location is a bit dodgy but gentrification in the area has allowed for some interesting bars, restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samer B
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I came to Joburg on a whim and expected very little. I chose to stay at Curiocity because of the curated experience they seem to offer. As a solo traveler, I didn't necessarily want to spend most of my time trying to figure out what to do next, so the tours and other activities that are organized by Curio sounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, We are so glad you had a "jol" with us! You've left an indelible stamp in our hearts and we can't wait to host you again. Thank you for bringing your awesome energy to Joburg. Safe Travels, Curiocity Team

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a double bed room. Simple but good. The nice thing about this hostel, are the people who work and stayed there. It is just a great atmospehere. This hostel is located in Maboneng. A great little spot in Johannesburg. If you stay at Johannesburg, stay at Curiocity ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthias P
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Matthias, We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe Travels! Curio Team

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days and joint the free early morning run (including boxing class which is Tipp based). We got to know a lot about the city like this. The city tour organized by the hostel is worth it really. The Hostel itself is clean and the people are really friendly and helpful. I felt save in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mareikeb85
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Mareike, We're glad you had a blast! Hopefully we get to see you again soon. Cheers!

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The room was really great and super compy pillows and covers... it's on the best street in Johannesburg that has everything you want. The staff is too notch and always accommodating to anything you need, if a budget and quality is in mind, stay here it's worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leroy Z
Curiocity B, General Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for such a positive review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Regards, Curiocity Team

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 9 January 2017

1- Bad location and unsafe area (the street where the hostel is located has private security, but the surroundings not. So you will always need to take a taxi or uber to move around). 2- Seems to be a very poor area and the most of stores don't accept credit card. 3- For 2 times I had my food stolen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania_Mangolini
Curiocity B, Front Office Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review. It's very important to us, and we take note & action of every critical issue highlighted, in order to better our services and experiences that we offer We hope to host you next time so that you have a pleasant a better stay with us. Regards Curiocity Team

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The Curiocity Backpackers Hostel is an awesome place ! You meet tons of people doing what you love - travel ! I actually didn't stay at that place and just hung out with the people, but I also booked a sightseeing tour there so you can get in touch with them easily. They offer a great amount of activities so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katharina R
Curiocity B, Front Office Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Katharina Aaah thank you for such a rad review. We are glad that you got to experience a little bit of Curiocity. You are awesome! We look forward to hosting you in the near future! Regards Curiocity Team

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 December 2016

When me and my friend first got there I was bit worried because it felt like we were in a rough neighborhood. The main street that Curiosity is located on is totally safe, there are guards on each corner f the avenue because it is one of the parts of Joburg that is being pacified. With that being said, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmileyRN
Curiocity B, Front Office Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review. We are happy that you got to be a part and experience the urban regeneration that we leading in transforming Joburg. The Sunday Markets are a winner!!! Hope to host you again, when all is bigger and even greater!! Regards Curiocity Team

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 30 November 2016

A very good place to stay, the staff were very welcoming, friendly and also suggested good places to visit. Also this place is in a very good location and we found fellow travelers to hang out with and share good experiences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prabhavmusaddi89
Curiocity B, Front Office Manager at Curiocity Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review. We are happy that we were able to assist and add value to your experience. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip. Regards Curiocity Team

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.5 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
6.6 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
358 reviews
2.1 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
677 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
15.2 km away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#3 of 96 in Johannesburg
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Developed for curious urbanites from all over the world looking to experience Johannesburg hidden treasures, Curiocity invites you to explore an undiscovered world in the heart of one of Johannesburg's oldest suburbs. Situated in the vibrant cultural neighbourhood; Maboneng. Curiocity not only offers you a guided experience through Johannesburg's inner city, but also offers you the opportunity to experience Johannesburg like a local with direct access to the people and happenings of the community. Located in walking distance from a number of independent eateries, quirky retail and entertainment hotspots, you'll never be short of things to do during your stay. From underground hangouts to Africa's tallest building, the best of urban Johannesburg lies at our doorstep waiting to be discovered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Curiocity Backpackers

Address: 302 Fox Street | Maboneng, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: R178 - R571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Curiocity Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Curiocity Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Curiocity Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Curiocity Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I got the cheapest room and they had twin beds aswell as lockers where you can lock your things.”
 of 5 bubbles SmileyRN, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the 10 bed dorm was really spacious”
 of 5 bubbles PincheTravels, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Both singles and dorms are both spacious and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles jazzah, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go on Main Street Walks Tour to Soweto!”
 of 5 bubbles 434tinat, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Looking for a private room? Choose the Loft. Worth the extra $$”
 of 5 bubbles D6454LJerinm, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5