We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Curiocity Backpackers

Save
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (15)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“soweto tour”(10 reviews)
“walking tour”(5 reviews)
“inner city”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Shuttle Bus Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (95)Write a Review
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
58
13
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
58
13
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoweto tourwalking tourinner citygreat vibemaboneng precinctfelt safedouble roomplace to staybed was comfortablenice staycommon areasstayed nightssouth africabars and restaurantson arrivalhostelcuriosity
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a good place to stay for Baz bus connections and tours to kruger etc. Its basically a bar with a hostel attached. M1 the big dorm is terrible for sleep as its next to the male toilet and there is a big open window...More

Thank harleysargeuk
Response from CuriocityHostels, General Manager at Curiocity BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking trhe time to give us such a detailed and insightful review. Your feed back is very valuable to us and our growth. Please do accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience. Happy Travels Yamkela Zimela

Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I absolutely loved staying at Curiosity Backpackers in Johannesburg. It was a great experience. The staff was very friendly, helpful and energetic. The nightlife was great, the area is secure with 24hr security. My room was amazing, clean and extremely beautiful. I would definitely recommend...More

1  Thank Lisa A
Response from CuriocityHostels, General Manager at Curiocity BackpackersResponded 9 October 2017

Hi there, We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such a lovely review. I am so glad to hear that you had the worlds best time with us. Its great knowing that you took one of our tours to learn more about...More

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

It's a great backpacker! Rooms are comfy and the bar is amazing. I had also a city tour with Jazz and it was amazing too. Unfortunately Joburg is not that safe and so it's almost impossible to walk in the city freely.More

Thank PaoloAiello
Response from CuriocityHostels, Guest Relations Manager at Curiocity BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks a million for the fabulous review. It is so wonderful to know that you had a great stay with us. Better than that is the fact that you had the chance to explore our beautiful city. Upon check in all guest are...More

Reviewed 13 January 2018

Really cool spot. There’s a pool table, very well designed lounge seating, great drinks menu and to top it all, the balcony on first floor has some outdoor seating for folks looking for some privacy. This place has the backpackers club living upstairs so you...More

Thank Aditya J
Response from CuriocityHostels, General Manager at Curiocity BackpackersResponded 17 January 2018

Hi there, WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a amazing review. Its absolutely awesome to hear that you had a world class time with us! Be sure to please come vist us again next time you are in...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

I traveled to 12 countries in 2017... and stayed at plenty of hotels/hostels and Curiocity was definitely the best experience that I've had so far. I stayed at 12 decades... (owned by Curiocity but down the road a few blocks). The rooms are huge, definitely...More

1  Thank Samantha E
Response from CuriocityHostels, General Manager at Curiocity BackpackersResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Samantha, We want you to come back. We were not ready for your departure. So glad to hear that you had such a fabulous time with us. We too had such a great time hosting you. You were and still are a part of...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345615
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tracy L
9 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from CuriocityHostels | Property representative |
Hi there, We have air conditioning in our en suite apartments, but our dorms do not. They are, however, well ventilated. Hope this helps! Cheers Curio
0
Votes
JRutherford1986
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CuriocityHostels | Property representative |
Hi! We have 12 Sleeper , 8 Sleeper, 6 Sleeper and 4 Sleeper dorms as well as Twin, Double and En Suite Private Rooms available. Hope this helps! Cheers! Curio
0
Votes
N Z
25 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Fabian A | Reviewed this property |
Hey N Z, are you sure there´s a loft at curiocity? It says so on the website but i can´t find it on the booking platforms. The doorms are really nice as well. If you´re not sure just give them a call. The staff is really... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"If you are travelling during the holidays ask for a room on the backside of the hotel because the main road..."
Read review
"All rooms are equally beautiful"
Read review
"Higher floors are bit quite and serene"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing