We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension Off Pelindaba Road, Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$35
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$35
View deal
TravelocityUS$35
Priceline
Orbitz.comUS$35
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#48 of 123 in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travelers who seek the tranquility of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel. Lanseria International Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. Lion & Safari Park is only 19 km from Shumba Valley Lodge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
166Reviews1Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 32
  • 43
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
amajatm wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The place is awesome, the stuff very friendly to help all the time the only dissapointing thind was the bar is very small and the don't have all varieties of beers, please upgrade your bar section and also add more swimming pools for kids
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Thabiso, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortage of beverages in our bar and also your great proposal for us to have a kids swimming pool. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
nkhan142010 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Great stay- extremely friendly staff throughout our stay, breakfast options could be better. Our room was very clean but the aircon in our room was unfortunately leaking which was the only down side. Other than that great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Nkhan142010, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the aircon that was not working properly and your request to improve on our breakfast options. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
tramel673360 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Somewhat disappointed that the place, as on website appeared to have been nice. The reality was a shock. Urgently needs garden service, proper cleaning and services. Would have been nice to have sanitizers in the room. Housekeeping after 13:00 is not on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
lebohangmoshebi wrote a review Jan 2021
Soweto, South Africa1 contribution
I was served same supper and breakfast from Thurday till Sunday I literally had to go out and buy something different though I paid for breakfast because it was the same thing every morning and it's called a buffet but every morning there's ladies there dishing for us limiting our portions, to my understanding a buffet is where you eat as much as you like. then boom a whole manager told us to put on our face protrction masks whilst swimming and when we asked him how does he expected us to swim with masks he just said he doesn't know but masks on, however stupid was that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Lebohang, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
cjansen271012 wrote a review Jan 2021
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
No fridge in room but advertised to be fridges in rooms aftet an hour and a half struggle eventuaoly got one after I was told they did not have enough fridges then demanded a room with one and they gave me one. Aircon soaked the floor of the room literally was a dam on the floor. Food was absolutely terrible. Had the two most expensive items on the menu. Should have rather just taken a toasted chicken mayo because surely you cant mess that up but then once again who knows. Breakfast was the only ok experience except we had to eat it cold as we were waiting that long for hot water for coffee and milk as well. We are still waiting for the resort manager to come see us as he would have attended to us within two minutes after asking to speak to him. Cant really complain because
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
rmoloi388058 wrote a review Jan 2021
Soweto, South Africa1 contribution
I would never recommend the room to any of my family members, it was too filthy. It was very disappointing and we didn't get our value for money. Upon our arrival the key to the room was not working and the sheets were filthy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
kledwa830414 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
The stay was good. Everything was okay. Food is a bit expensive, we had teak and chips, which I felt was not enough, could add another side like veggies/salad. The stuff is friendly and breakfast was tasty.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear your wonderful remarks about your experience with our hotel and staff. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with our staff so we can continue to improve our services. We are busy changing our menu and prices and we hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
tmbath390328 wrote a review Nov 2020
Kempton Park, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our room was filthy when we arrived, there were a lot of bugs and ants. The shower is wack and dirty! The service was poor by the reception aswell because we’ve requested wifi for the whole day saying that they will fix the problem
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, We sincerely regret that your visit was met with such an unfortunate event. Our maintenance team has since resolved the technical issues we experience with our Wi-Fi. We have also shared your comments with our staff so we can continue to improve our services. We hope that you will afford us an opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Muhammad J wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
It was a comfortable stay for one night. The service was excellent by both the evening staff and day staff. Moses from the Restuarant was very good. The room was average, clean, thatch roof. However, the bed was slightly uncomfortable and the pillows not so great. However, it was very close to the airport and safe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Muhammad, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Ruan van der Westhuizen wrote a review Nov 2020
Parys, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
On arrival the ambiance looked very bad from the start, Checking in took long as they very not organized, then the rooms, the bed was not made, the towels was old and dirty, the walls had brown marks on, the floors was not washed in days, the parking lacked upgraded infrastructure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$34 - US$38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shumba valley hotel johannesburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing