We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension Off Pelindaba Road, Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$42
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$42
View deal
TravelocityUS$42
Agoda.com
Trip.comUS$43
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#48 of 123 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travelers who seek the tranquility of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel. Lanseria International Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. Lion & Safari Park is only 19 km from Shumba Valley Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
167Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 33
  • 43
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Georgina H wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
When my team choose Shumba Valley Lodge, I reviewed through the reservation agency read it is a 4 Star lodge hence expectation. Over all the place has greater potential if they heed advise on intense maintenance, gardening and having an eye for finer details.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear your remarks about your experience with our hotel. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with our staff so we can continue to improve our services. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
busi978 wrote a review Feb 2020
Fourways, South Africa1 contribution
My booking was initialy for 2 nights, but I requested to check out early because the TV, Wi-Fi was not working and the is no phones in the rooms to call reception, bedding with rust stains, Manager did not want to refund me
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Busi, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
jwalte121229 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nampa, Idaho1 contribution
Nice clean rooms. Good value for money. Good air conditioning and comfortable bed. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Helped us with power plug adapters and accommodated our departure time that was outside their normal 10 am checkout. Good restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
vinoliamahashe wrote a review Jan 2020
Heidelberg, South Africa1 contribution
We were welcomed from the gate to the reception area and the staff made us feel at home, and the rooms we clean and tidy and we got everything that we needed for the weekend. I would recommend the place to other people and hopefully come back 1 day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Vinolia, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
siamese c wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Close to airport. Parking in front of chalet. Poor lighting in room. No bar fridge as advertised on photos. Clean rooms with aircon and fan. Tea making station in room. Efficient and helpful reception
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Zeead, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear your wonderful remarks about your experience with our hotel and staff. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with our staff so we can continue to improve our services. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
devans850793 wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
WE had an overnight stay at the Lodge and was very pleased with our stay. It was only 5 minutes away from Lanseria which was really great. The Lodge and rooms were clean and overall it was a good experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Curious35658829609 wrote a review Jan 2020
George, South Africa1 contribution
I really recommend Shumba Valley Lodge to ALL Romantics looking for a break from reality... The Friendly Staff and Lodge atmosphere was Fantastic... The Breakfast was the Highlight of the day... Will definately return for a family Holiday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Tshabi R wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
The place is quite nice and quite. Good for couples that need a break from everything. The food was nice, the pool and the rooms are clean. The staff was very welcoming and friendly .Would definitely visit there again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
mabecept wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
The place need more attention to attract more guest however the food was good but the service was not up to standard. The new linen is needed and the was a plumbing problem in our room. also the channels need to be added the current ones are not sufficient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 03 Jan 2020
Dear Mabecept, Thank you for your feedback, your comments have been noted by Management and every effort will be made to address the linen and plumbing problems. Please accept our most humble apologies for the discomfort you suffered or any inconvenience caused in this regard. We rely on our guest’s comments to keep us abreast of changing needs & requirements and pride ourselves in believing that precautionary safety measures are necessary for “peace-of-mind”. I am delighted that you enjoyed our food and hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
botsisneo wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Check in took far too long, arrived in our room and it was not very clean, the bedding had ink stains and did not smell nor feel fresh. The staff was not very friendly hardly greeting. The female Chef was the kindest and most friendly staff member who went the extra mile.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire20049728955, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 03 Jan 2020
Dear Botsis Neo, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shumba valley hotel johannesburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing