We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension Off Pelindaba Road, Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$41
View deal
Hotels.comUS$41
TravelocityUS$41
TripadvisorUS$41
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$42
FindHotelUS$41
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Dining (2)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#48 of 123 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travelers who seek the tranquility of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel. Lanseria International Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. Lion & Safari Park is only 19 km from Shumba Valley Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
167Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 33
  • 43
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Adrian B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Witnessed a truly beautiful African Sunset The fireplace was on point sat outside and took in the African beauty foreigners enjoy our beautiful land more than us locals do yourself a favor pop in and let me know ....as for me I was pleasantly surprised from the staff to the natural landscape #Proudly #SouthAfrican
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bring your device they have free Wi-Fi
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Rene Lombard wrote a review Jan 2022
Gaborone, Botswana1 contribution
Poor service , Nothing maintained , not at all as published on internet , no internet in rooms , rooms need serious cleaning aircon was working properly Staff friendly but they are caught up in management’s mistakes Garmin please remove from App not suitable for pilots to overnight there
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: try another overnight solution in case of arrival in South Africa and you need to spend the night...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Chris wrote a review Nov 2021
South Africa12 contributions3 helpful votes
What a shocker - apathetic staff , the place is run down the linen is old - no covers on the duvets - no coffee in the rooms , no toilet paper in the bathroom - the garden looks like it hasn't been tended to for years - Never again! Horrid ...........
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Drive past
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review us, your comments has been noted by Management and every effort will be made to address these. Please accept our most humble apologies for the discomfort you suffered or any inconvenience caused in this regard. We rely on our guest’s comments to keep us abreast of changing needs & requirements and pride ourselves in believing that precautionary safety measures are necessary for “peace-of-mind”. Although we cannot undo what has already been done, please could you afford us the opportunity of restoring your faith in Shumba Valley, where I believe that you will see a huge improvement. Yours Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa Hotel GM
Read more
motshidisimaleka929 wrote a review Apr 2021
Soweto, South Africa1 contribution
Please fix the problem with the electricity. We stayed more than half of the second day without electricity, and hire enough staff to clean up the rooms in time for early check in Newer looking towels
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We had a power sage in the area which was later resolved. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
CAPE-SCENIC-FLIGHTS1 wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa51 contributions1 helpful vote
There was a burglary at 3am in the shalet next to mine, while the female guest was inside by 4 men. They cleaned her room out within 40seconds from when they kicked the door down because the card access they tried, did work. The burglars was at my bathroom window as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
swyk405360 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
The hotel staff informed us that we are not allowed to stop at our unit but when we arrived later that night, most units had vehicles stopped next to it ... what works for one should work for everyone ?? Please make sure that you check that all drains are in working condition
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
amajatm wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The place is awesome, the stuff very friendly to help all the time the only dissapointing thind was the bar is very small and the don't have all varieties of beers, please upgrade your bar section and also add more swimming pools for kids
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Thabiso, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortage of beverages in our bar and also your great proposal for us to have a kids swimming pool. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
nkhan142010 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Great stay- extremely friendly staff throughout our stay, breakfast options could be better. Our room was very clean but the aircon in our room was unfortunately leaking which was the only down side. Other than that great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Nkhan142010, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the aircon that was not working properly and your request to improve on our breakfast options. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
tramel673360 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Somewhat disappointed that the place, as on website appeared to have been nice. The reality was a shock. Urgently needs garden service, proper cleaning and services. Would have been nice to have sanitizers in the room. Housekeeping after 13:00 is not on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
lebohangmoshebi wrote a review Jan 2021
Soweto, South Africa1 contribution
I was served same supper and breakfast from Thurday till Sunday I literally had to go out and buy something different though I paid for breakfast because it was the same thing every morning and it's called a buffet but every morning there's ladies there dishing for us limiting our portions, to my understanding a buffet is where you eat as much as you like. then boom a whole manager told us to put on our face protrction masks whilst swimming and when we asked him how does he expected us to swim with masks he just said he doesn't know but masks on, however stupid was that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marvellous Chikukwa, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2021
Dear Lebohang, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Marvellous Chikukwa General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$34 - US$41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shumba valley hotel johannesburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shumba Valley Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Shumba Valley Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Croc City Crocodile and Reptile Park (3.3 km), The Shooting Range (5.4 km), and Walkhaven Dog Park (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shumba Valley Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Shumba Valley Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Shumba Valley Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Shumba Valley Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shumba Valley Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bellgables Country Restaurant, Toadbury Hall Restaurant, and Buitengeluk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shumba Valley Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Shumba Valley Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shumba Valley Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Shumba Valley Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kromdraai Gold Mine (15.0 km).