We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Mitchell Street Berea, Johannesburg 2198 South Africa
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
FindHotel
Destinia.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#44 of 123 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
SUN1 Berea offers budget accommodation that is convenient and comfortable in Berea, Johannesburg and in close proximity to the University of Johannesburg.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
33Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 14
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
simgqu wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Great stay and affordable, easy access and safe. Highly recommended and repeat stay. I recommend this place to anyone that needs a place to sleep in peace and still hear the sounds of Joburg. I will come here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Lesego27 wrote a review Aug 2021
Rustenburg, South Africa1 contribution
Impeessed, although the bed(s) should be a little softer. Flept like I was sleeping on the floor. The vending machine didn't wana take high notes & I was so hungry as my Uber delivery didn't come. They should have tea/coffee in the room, microwave & a mini fridge
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
amzimba624 wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
Very nice place,but wifi did not work at all, couldn't put our stuff on the fridge because the fridge was small.6/10,our rooms were clean all the time and we were not given any hassle by the stuff, easy access when coming in and. Check was a breeze
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear amzimba624, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and for sharing your experience. Your comments have been noted and are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
bmaphumulo43 wrote a review Nov 2019
Pongola, South Africa1 contribution
I had a great time at your Institution I also recommend to my friends and colleagues. The location is easy to find, close to town. The availability of transport is superb. The is excellent, the environment is very friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 25 Nov 2019
Dear bmaphumulo43, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
Sherpa31494053130 wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
all was well except for the mentioned issue of the noise heard during night which sounded lihe water dripping from the shower..it almost felt like it was coming from yhe floor above...dont know how to explain it
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 12 Nov 2019
Dear Sherpa31494053130, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and for sharing your experience. Please accept our apologies for the housekeeping issue experienced during your stay. Your comments will help us improve the overall guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
magayadenis wrote a review Oct 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
I have always chosen Sun 1 every time I am out on Business.The value for money that I experience cannot be overemphasized.There is room for improvement and I sincerely believe Sun 1 is up to it.I will continue to utilise Sun 1 Services throught out the Provinces.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
mokgomolemorongwa wrote a review Sep 2019
Nelspruit, South Africa1 contribution
The service was excellent. The place is convenient, clean and the staff is friendly. They offer free coffee at a Reception area. The gate is locked at night. There are cameras at the place. You can rest knowing that your car is safe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 01 Oct 2019
Dear mokgomolemorongwa, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and for sharing your experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
Passenger54206542335 wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The rooms were clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located within the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg, but we hardly heard any sounds while we slept at night. I loved the hot showers too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Dear Passenger54206542335, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and for sharing your experience. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
olwakhe99 wrote a review Jul 2019
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
No 1 place to stay. Staff were friendly and very informative upon my checkin. We got there at arround abiut 7am, but tgey were able to assust us with an early checkin, the room atmosphere was so good. I would recommend my friends to go there
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 31 Jul 2019
Dear olwakhe99, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and your comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
Compass14875629056 wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
This was terrible place regarding cleanliness. The room actually stinks. Proper maintenance and air freshening is highly recommended. As it is, I certainly would not recommend this place to any decent patron.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from SUN1-HOTELS, Owner at SUN1 Berea
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Dear Compass14875629056, It would appear that our initial response was not posted, perhaps due to a technical error. Thank you for informing us of your recent experience at our Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback as this forms a vital role in our operations. Please accept our apologies for the various maintenance and housekeeping issues experienced during your stay and for having created an unfavourable impression. We consider the points that you have raised very seriously and would like to assure you that this is not the standard on which Sun1 Hotels prides itself. We would like to assure you that the matters raised have been investigated and addressed. Please accept our apologies once again. Yours sincerely, SUN1 Hotels Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$28 - US$29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SUN1 Berea
Which popular attractions are close to SUN1 Berea?
Nearby attractions include Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (1.1 km), The Wilds Nature Reserve (0.9 km), and Johannesburg Fort (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SUN1 Berea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
Is parking available at SUN1 Berea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SUN1 Berea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roast Cafe, Blind Tiger, and Emoyeni Conference Centre.
Are there any historical sites close to SUN1 Berea?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (1.1 km), Johannesburg Fort (0.9 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (3.8 km).
Is SUN1 Berea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.