Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

191 Oxford Road Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196 South Africa
Traveller (302)
Concierge lounge evening wines
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 79 hotels in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 1 more

Location

191 Oxford Road Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Johannesburg Intl Airport
14.7 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
34.2 km
See all flights
956Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 427
  • 316
  • 124
  • 49
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mjkirkwood47 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hyatt property requires investment in upgrading the rooms and bathrooms. The facility is tired.
The staff are friendly and helpful but spend too much time socialising with each other rather than addressing the needs of clients, particularly in the bar and restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Good morning, Thank you for your honest feedback! We appreciate and value your feedback and will convey your concerns to the dpeartment concerned. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew S wrote a review Feb 2020
Mauritius
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg on a number of occasions both on business and for private stays as well. Over the past two years the hotel which used to be one of our favorites has just continued to go down. The warm welcome we experienced previously is no longer there and there was a complete absence of management during our stay. The breakfast buffet which was one of the best has now deteriorated and staff do not show any interest in serving customers. Housekeeping is also very slack and bathroom amenities are not automatically replaced. I would love to return again as the hotel is so conveniently located for both business and pleasure and hope that they will try and return the property to its former standard again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Good morning, It is with great concern that I get to read about your perceived experience. Our property has recently undergone brand new management and it is with great pleasure that I can share that this shift has enhanced the property significantly. We truly hope to be able to have you experience our true care and service if you could get an opportunity for you to stay here again. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Johannesburg. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saintba wrote a review Jan 2020
Buenos Aires, Argentina
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just wanted to post a review of the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg. I was there on a business trip. I was there a few days and then went down to Cape Town and Kruger and came back the following week.

I'm a Hyatt Globalist. Both stays I was complimentary upgraded at check-in to a King Suite which is a standard suite . The hotel lobby is nice and the restaurant downstairs is nice. The rooms while comfortable are a bit tired and could use some freshening up. But no complaints on quality of sleep, quiet rooms, spacious (750 sq. feet), good shower pressure, etc.

The staff is all friendly. They have a Club Lounge on the 8th floor. They have some food from 6 PM to 8 PM. Decent but nothing too special. They have a breakfast in the Club in the morning but it didn't look too special. Fortunately the company that brought me here paid for breakfast down in the restaurant which was VERY good.
A huge spread that had just about everything. Really good food. I'd highly recommend the breakfast down in the restaurant.

This was my first trip to Jo'berg and I didn't know what to expect. While there are some good parts of the city, I don't think most of the city is that nice. This neighborhood that the hotel is in is really nice and upscale. It's literally right around the corner from the Rosebank Mall which is nice. Lots of food/restaurant options in the immediate vicinity as well.

I'm told this is one of the better hotels in Jo'burg and it was quite busy with both tourists and also lots of people here on business as best as I can tell at breakfast.
I'd definitely stay here again if I had to come back to Jo'burg
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 09 Jan 2020
Good morning, What a wonderful, detailed review to come across. We appreciate the time you took to specifically point out various areas, its offerings and your experience about the surrounding area. We would be honored to welcome you back again when you visit Joburg again. Thank you for your loyal Hyatt support! Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fati666222 wrote a review Feb 2020
Cairo, Egypt
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband booked us here for a night because it was my birthday.I always rave about the Hyatt Regency in Dubai but the service we got here in Johannesburg was just terrible.From the time we checked in there was confusion the lady at the front desk said we are already booked in apparently somebody had the same surname as ours. Then in our room the aircon didn't work and the guest that stayed there before us left moulded peaches in the fridge.So the room was not cleaned thoroughly. I am really disgusted and disappointed. Will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Good morning Fatima, I am so sad to read that your husbands' initiative to spoil you didn't turn out as planned. On behalf of the team, I would like to apologise for our staff's errors as all of them could've been avoided. After addressing it with management, the Director of Operations, Mike, advised that he addressed all the issued that was raised and e-mailed you about them. Hyatt Regency Dubai is such a beautiful property and we don't want you to feel any different about other Hyatt hotels. Best regards, Nadia from the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ariel D wrote a review Feb 2020
Nairobi, Kenya
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is nice but could use renovation, kinda looks like a prison on the outside. The breakfast is okay but service was almost absent. In-room dining had hair in the food. Make sure your room is not near the floor utility closet - it's noisy and you won't get any sleep. I could literally hear a key turning in the door at 4:30am. My neighbor was having "extra curricular" activities with a new friend he "met" in the lobby. Overall I am not impressed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 03 Feb 2020
Good morning Ariel, It is truly concerning to read that you didn't have a pleasant stay experience with us. We truly loved having the Mojapool group with us and wouldn't want you to leave with an unsatisfactory memory of your stay. Your feedback is valuable and will be conveyed to the relevant departments. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil H wrote a review Mar 2020
Reading, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am biased as although I live in the UK and indeed was born there I consider South Africa “home” the hotel fits with the friendly welcome vibe you find throughout the country. Staff go out of their way to please. Rooms are spacious, separate shower and bath, no complaints. Breakfast slightly disappointing in a country where fruit is plentiful the selection lacks imagination. Cannot comment on dinner as I ate in local restaurants of which there are many, located in the mall behind, a safe walk from the hotel. Car parking is shared so chargeable. Hope to return soon. Look at for the roof level swimming pool.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 08 Mar 2020
Hi Neil, Thank you for your detailed review. The specific elements you highlight are valuable and great to note. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We hope to welcome you back home again soon! Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mugisha David wrote a review Jan 2020
Kampala, Uganda
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Johannesburg South Africa for a three days DAIDS Pilot Research Training. Really a memorable experience. They have good conference rooms. Room I was in had a fully functional Air Condition Unit. Room was very spacious, bathrooms very neat. A flat Iron for the room was also provided. The TV was mega size. Though the refrigerator for the room was really small. What I liked about the TV channels was that a number of the DSTV channels I enjoy were available and this included the sports channels, History, National Geographic and other documentary channels. Breakfast was excellent with a variety to offer including fruits.

The only challenge they had was that we were a very big group for the training and the number a little put a strain on the staff. But they managed. GYM was available with a number of equipment. I enjoyed my stay. A number of super markets are within a few minutes walking distance from the Hotel including many eating joints. I enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review with us. It truly helps to get an understanding about the various factors that had an impact on your stay experience. We are thrilled to read that majority of the elements had a positive contribution. We hope to welcome you back soon again in the near future. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
p2gP2St2d wrote a review Feb 2020
Atlanta
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! The location was lovely. The hotel was situated with nice amenities and aesthetically pleasing grounds. Service was delightful. We had the pleasure of staying on the Club Level, and indulged each day in the morning and “happy hour” offerings. Staff was consistently pleasant and kind. We also received assistance from the Concierge (I wish I remembered his name) in arranging a private full-day tour of the city. If you have the flexibility to do so, ask for (tour guide) Peter— he was not only VERY knowledgeable of the city and country, but also very considerate and flexible with our requests. This was our first stop on a 3-city visit, and my only regret is that we didn’t stay a 4th night.
Even though I originally desired a boutique hotel, I would definitely recommend this property to anyone considering.
Thank you Hyatt team!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Good morning, It is with great delight that I get to read your review this morning. We will most definitely convey your kind words to the waiting staff on the Regency Club floor level specifically. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tshilidzi76 wrote a review Feb 2020
Polokwane, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You will definitely receive the five star kind of treatment, comfort in the rooms and friendly customer service. You will feel like a Queen/King that you are and in someway a home away from home. It is relaxing to stay there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Hi Tshilidzi, Mission accomplished! This is exactly that we tirelessly strive for! As long as you feel pampered and cared for, we did what we wanted to! Thanks for staying with us! Best regards, Nadia from the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sumari Schoeman wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay at the Hyatt they did all the promised for our romantic turn down. The service was good and breakfast was incredible! Only thing that was not that awesome was that they don’t offer free parking and we had to pay for 24hours... also the common areas were not sparkling clean...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NadiaB3570, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Good morning Sumari, What a delight to read that you had a good time at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! What the parking is concerned - We share the space with The Firs Shopping Center and pride ourselves in offering you safe basement parking where you can rest assured that your vehicle is safe. We truly hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sara Y
Israel46 contributions34 helpful votes
191 Oxford Road, Rosebank Johannesburg 2131
Preeti A asked a question Apr 2018
Gurgaon70 contributions20 helpful votes
Can the hotel provide a microwave in room?
Answer from E2049BHdebbiem
Johannesburg, South Africa20 contributions4 helpful votes
Not really, but the hotel will always go an extra mile to warm the food for you on request.
Louise A asked a question Mar 2016
Heber Springs, Arkansas8 contributions2 helpful votes
How far is this hotel from the airport ??
Answer from Adrian Y
Leiden, The Netherlands630 contributions203 helpful votes
without traffic plan on a half hour. with traffic it is about 60 minutes or more. the other answers regarding the Gautrain are accurate. however... the Gautrain does not run late at night. check the operating hours on their website against your flight times.
annak19 asked a question Jun 2018
Milan, Italy90 contributions50 helpful votes
is it safe to use Rosebank Gautrain to reach the airport?
Answer from E2049BHdebbiem
Johannesburg, South Africa20 contributions4 helpful votes
Very safe, the station is just around the corner , trust me you are safe
nilesh m wrote a tip Aug 2019
Leicester, United Kingdom35 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"pick floor with lounge access"
Read full review
jacks24 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Adelaide, Australia2,965 contributions46 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t choose 8th floor (right side hall)constant knocking from plants above. Also terrace rooms smell of smoke From outside"
Read full review
heidi-mervynb wrote a tip Aug 2019
Drakensberg26 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suites a large with an awesome view of the Sandton skyline, lovely walkout balconies and spacious work station with everything you need."
Read full review
Sandra1721 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Capital Federal District, Argentina14 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms are very quiet, clean"
Read full review
Daniel W wrote a tip Mar 2019
United Arab Emirates84 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Club Floor is great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johannesburg area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt regency johannesburg hotel johannesburg, hyatt johannesburg, johannesburg hyatt regency
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HYATT REGENCY JOHANNESBURG - Hotel Reviews (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Nearby attractions include Honest Travel Experience (Johannesburg) (1.1 km), Bedford Centre (0.9 km), and The Zone @ Rosebank (0.00 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mythos Bedfordview, Banjaara, and Salsa Mexican Restaurant & Tequilaria Bedfordview.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hyatt Regency Johannesburg have airport transportation?
Yes, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt Regency Johannesburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.
All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JohannesburgHotels near Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire