We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
1 Melrose Square Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2196 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Autograph
US$138
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$136
View Deal
Trip.com
US$224
US$134
View Deal
SAVE US$90
eDreamsUS$137
Expedia.comUS$136
Prestigia.comUS$224
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (511)
Room & Suite (181)
Dining (81)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 20/06/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Updated 20/06/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 93 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning guests who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Our luxury hotel in Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
936Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 531
  • 283
  • 72
  • 29
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ATHEIST wrote a review Dec 2020
Moscow, Russia179 contributions116 helpful votes
First and last time I will visit this hotel. South Africa has got so many nice hotels and guest houses which could be ranked much higher compare with this hotel. Something good: 1. Location - secured and safe area, what is very important when you are in RSA. 2. Lots of nice restaurants 3. Hotel staff trying their best to compensate discomfort of guests and lack of modern features in this hotel Things to look at and work on it: 1. Rooms are very out fashioned, feels like I was in 90s. Hotel do require entire rooms renovations, moving from wooden style to something more practical and clean 2. Small TV screen (my iPad is bigger), position of TV on the wall in such a way that I have to be off the bed in order to watch it 3. Audio system from 90s, with broken and ripped off speakers 4. Broken furniture, full of scratches 5. International hotel in modern times must have international plugs or at least available adapters within room or to be given to guest at check in. Guest must never ask for anything and anticipation of guest needs must be in place 6. Missing Master switch next to bed. Having it - is a must, just like your phone must have a speakers 7. Room service - last order 21:30. So, if I over slept - I will have to fasting till next morning. Am I in summer camp in order to adjust my eating habits to hotel timings? There should be kitchen working 24/7 in order to fulfill guests eating habits. 8. Train front desk staff to be less arrogant and aggressive towards guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Malan, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 19 Dec 2020
Dear MrAtheist At the outset, I thank you for the candid and detailed response regarding your stay the African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® . Your comments regarding the interior of the room are all completely valid points. The Hotel would have undergone a renovation during the Quarter 2 and Quarter 4 of 2020 where would have addressed most of the issues in the room. The renovations included new room curtains, improved Audio Visual capability, enlargement of the room by better utilizing the space currently occupied by the wooden features and of course then the removal of the radio system that is definitely outdated. Improved lighting and working spaces as well as modernized amenity offering was all part of the plan. Thus, yes indeed, TLC is what this gorgeous property require. We will be addressing some of these areas soon and hopefully all when the devastating pandemic is over. At the moment all resources is going into the survival of our property and of course the TEAM. Thus the reason that your last comment was completely saddening. Please let me know via mail what exactly it was that deemed the TEAM to be disrespectful to our GUESTS. Due to all the restrictions in place around COVID19, our GUEST Service should be of such high standard that our GUESTS should not even notice the other shortcomings. Looking forward to your feedback and further discussion around this topic in future. Warmest regards Tania Malan Cluster General Manager African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® Tania.Malan@Marriott.com
Read more
Bisnizman1 wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa10 contributions
Terrible experience, even in Covid circumstances. Service is next to non-existant and don’t make the mistake of being white as you get served last on every occasion and given the worst part of the dish (like tail instead of fillet) when you order a fillet. Complete rip off and lazy, slow staff who err on racism. Stay away
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Malan, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 01 Dec 2020
Dear Bisnizman1 It is with deep regret that I take note of the your experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection. It is completely out of our nature to treat our guests according to the colour of their skin, in fact, a situation that is unheard of and if the case, unacceptable. On behalf of the entire team, I sincerely apologize if this is how the staff made you feel. If in order, please send me more detail on Tania.Malan@Marriott.com, in order for me to address and investigate this situation in full. Your feedback will be truly appreciated.
Read more
Traveller wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa8 contributions
Lovely but the rooms definitely need a bit of the refresh. The pool area is still so lovely ! The breakfast had a nice selection , service was slow but the staff tried to make good effort. I found that “it’s because of covid” was a reason given in response to many requests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Johnny J wrote a review Sep 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
My fiancé and I stayed at African Pride, the service given by Wynard, Pinkie and Maggie was excellent and made us feel right at home. I would go back to stay at the hotel just to talk to them some more. We booked a larger guest room. If you like modern decor, this is the place. Plus you can walk to restaurants, a bar and shops. I really enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Malan, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 08 Oct 2020
Dear 613johnnyj, Many thanks for your fantastic review of our property! Indeed, the passion, warmth and friendliness of our STAFF is one of our strongest assets – we are so happy that this was palpable to you through your interaction with Wynand, Pinkie and Maggie – some of our greatest ambassadors! Indeed, we are incredibly fortunate to call the Melrose Arch lifestyle development our home – a ‘city within a city’ that is the perfect place to eat, stay, work and of course play. We so look forward to hosting you again on your next stay so that we can extend to you yet another outstanding stay! The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Read more
PRATEEK R wrote a review Apr 2020
Sydney, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
I had to move to The African Pride Hotel after Marriott Johannesburg shutdown due to the coronavirus lockdown, and i stayed there for 3 weeks. But, now this hotel will be my first choice every time I am in Johannesburg ! And here are the main reasons for that -1) Their GM, "Tania Malan" who went out of her way to make sure i had a comfortable and pleasant stay. Her attention to detail in ensuring the comfort of her guests is exceptional ! 2) Her entire staff - Hotel Manager, " HEINRICH GöTTSCHE" and Front Office Manager " Chad Louw" , Katharina, house keeping, in room dining and restraunt staff, all made sure that in-spite of the tough coronavirus situation, the comfort of the guests was not compromised 3) Also, the decor and ambience of the hotel is quite nice. A+++. When i Jo'burg and looking for a place to stay........head straight to The African Pride !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from APMelroseArch, Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 09 Jun 2020
Dear PRAO2K1062, Reviews such as yours truly bring the satisfaction of being a hotelier to life. Personalisation of each and every guest experience is what we are here to do - thank you for showing us that this never goes unnoticed. It was such a pleasure to host you, and we are so looking forward to hosting you again on your next extended trip to Jo'burg! Till then, safe travels!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
african pride melrose arch hotel johannesburg, african pride melrose arch johannesburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Melrose Arch (0.08 km), Goliath Comedy Club (0.08 km), and Churchills (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mezepoli Meze and Wine Bar, Pigalle Melrose Arch, and Mr George.
Are there opportunities to exercise at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection have an airport shuttle?
Yes, African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (6.7 km), Johannesburg Fort (6.5 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (1.9 km).