We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph CollectionR

Save
Share
1 Melrose Square Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2196 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Autograph
eDreams
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/06/05
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (511)
Room & Suite (202)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21/12/24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®
Updated 21/12/24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 122 in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
937Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 532
  • 283
  • 72
  • 29
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brent B wrote a review 22 May
Kata Beach, Thailand22 contributions22 helpful votes
Everyone at the hotel from the beginning to checkout gave us amazing service. The breakfast was delicious with so many different options. Location is ideal to walk around with lots or restaurants in the vicinity. Rooms are spacious & clean
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Tertiaa wrote a review 17 May
Cape Town Central, South Africa42 contributions13 helpful votes
What a treat! The hotel is gorgeous! Service is excellent. The rooms are stunning. Linen very luxurious and there are lots of extras that make you feel like you are a celeb. A really luxurious experience. Very close to lots of cafes and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ATHEIST wrote a review Dec 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa188 contributions159 helpful votes
First and last time I will visit this hotel. South Africa has got so many nice hotels and guest houses which could be ranked much higher compare with this hotel. Something good: 1. Location - secured and safe area, what is very important when you are in RSA. 2. Lots of nice restaurants 3. Hotel staff trying their best to compensate discomfort of guests and lack of modern features in this hotel Things to look at and work on it: 1. Rooms are very out fashioned, feels like I was in 90s. Hotel do require entire rooms renovations, moving from wooden style to something more practical and clean 2. Small TV screen (my iPad is bigger), position of TV on the wall in such a way that I have to be off the bed in order to watch it 3. Audio system from 90s, with broken and ripped off speakers 4. Broken furniture, full of scratches 5. International hotel in modern times must have international plugs or at least available adapters within room or to be given to guest at check in. Guest must never ask for anything and anticipation of guest needs must be in place 6. Missing Master switch next to bed. Having it - is a must, just like your phone must have a speakers 7. Room service - last order 21:30. So, if I over slept - I will have to fasting till next morning. Am I in summer camp in order to adjust my eating habits to hotel timings? There should be kitchen working 24/7 in order to fulfill guests eating habits. 8. Train front desk staff to be less arrogant and aggressive towards guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Malan, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®
Responded 19 Dec 2020
Dear MrAtheist At the outset, I thank you for the candid and detailed response regarding your stay the African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® . Your comments regarding the interior of the room are all completely valid points. The Hotel would have undergone a renovation during the Quarter 2 and Quarter 4 of 2020 where would have addressed most of the issues in the room. The renovations included new room curtains, improved Audio Visual capability, enlargement of the room by better utilizing the space currently occupied by the wooden features and of course then the removal of the radio system that is definitely outdated. Improved lighting and working spaces as well as modernized amenity offering was all part of the plan. Thus, yes indeed, TLC is what this gorgeous property require. We will be addressing some of these areas soon and hopefully all when the devastating pandemic is over. At the moment all resources is going into the survival of our property and of course the TEAM. Thus the reason that your last comment was completely saddening. Please let me know via mail what exactly it was that deemed the TEAM to be disrespectful to our GUESTS. Due to all the restrictions in place around COVID19, our GUEST Service should be of such high standard that our GUESTS should not even notice the other shortcomings. Looking forward to your feedback and further discussion around this topic in future. Warmest regards Tania Malan Cluster General Manager African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® Tania.Malan@Marriott.com
Read more
Bisnizman1 wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa12 contributions
Terrible experience, even in Covid circumstances. Service is next to non-existant and don’t make the mistake of being white as you get served last on every occasion and given the worst part of the dish (like tail instead of fillet) when you order a fillet. Complete rip off and lazy, slow staff who err on racism. Stay away
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tania Malan, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®
Responded 01 Dec 2020
Dear Bisnizman1 It is with deep regret that I take note of the your experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection. It is completely out of our nature to treat our guests according to the colour of their skin, in fact, a situation that is unheard of and if the case, unacceptable. On behalf of the entire team, I sincerely apologize if this is how the staff made you feel. If in order, please send me more detail on Tania.Malan@Marriott.com, in order for me to address and investigate this situation in full. Your feedback will be truly appreciated.
Read more
Traveller wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa8 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely but the rooms definitely need a bit of the refresh. The pool area is still so lovely ! The breakfast had a nice selection , service was slow but the staff tried to make good effort. I found that “it’s because of covid” was a reason given in response to many requests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
african pride melrose arch hotel johannesburg, african pride melrose arch johannesburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®
Which popular attractions are close to African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Nearby attractions include Melrose Arch (0.08 km), Goliath Comedy Club (0.08 km), and Churchills (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mezepoli Meze and Wine Bar, Pigalle Melrose Arch, and Mr George.
Are there opportunities to exercise at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® have airport transportation?
Yes, African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection® offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at African Pride Melrose Arch, Autograph Collection®?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.