We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch

Save
Share
42 The High Street Melrose Arch, Johannesburg 2076 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
JW Marriott
US$280
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$280
View Deal
US$280
View Deal
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$280
eDreamsUS$279
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 21/01/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Updated 21/01/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 93 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set within the eclectic Melrose Arch Precinct in northern Johannesburg, Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch vibrates with the energy of the myriad trendy cafés, high-street boutiques, al fresco restaurants and lively entertainment areas located just moments from its doorstep. Step into the Greatroom – an intuitive social hub that revolves around you. Designed to be whatever you need it to be, it’s your space to connect, relax, socialise or reflect. Savour specialty coffees and read the morning news. Work alone or share ideas. Savour signature cocktails and curated wines. Dine at speciality restaurants. Then retire to your stylish room or suite. Ample underground parking, 24/7 security and CCTV surveillance are provided for your safety and convenience. Just 26km from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 5km from Sandton and Rosebank, and close to three golf courses and numerous other local attractions, Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch is perfectly positioned to further our guests’ every ambition.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Public wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
47Restaurantswithin 0,5 km
6Attractionswithin 0,5 km
9Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Daniella_Amsterdam wrote a review Feb 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands44 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff who is well trained. The only things to remark are that in a hotel like this, one would expect room slippers and a bathrobe. But at least room slippers which do not cost much. Also, the fact that the temperature in the room is not really adjustable. We tried to make it colder, but it hardly makes any difference. The central aircon is clearly leading. The thermostat seems to be for show only.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurie Meiring, Marketing at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good day Daniella_Amsterdam, Thank you so much for your kind review and for providing us with this constructive feedback. Our thermostats are definitely adjustable though our sincere apologies if yours was faulty during your stay, we will look into this. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch. Kind regards, Hotel Team
Read more
James wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
I wasn’t sure what was missing during my first visit. I have since realized the hotel is just a protea hotel dressed up in a beautiful international brand. Staff are okay but not 5 star. There is a lot to do.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurie Meiring, Marketing at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Dear JamesM008, thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are so sorry that you felt we did not meet the Marriott Hotel international standard. Please may we ask you to email Karen.Battaliou@marriott.com in order for us to better understand how exactly we did not meet your expectations and how we might improve. We would sincerely appreciate it.
Read more
PaulieTraveller wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa12 contributions14 helpful votes
I have stayed in many hotels and I cannot honestly say that I received some of the best service I have ever seen at this hotel The hotel is also fantastic We were upgraded to a junior suite and it was one of the most beautiful rooms I have stayed in Well done Marriott Exceptional service and an exceptional space I will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The rooms are wonderful. The junior suite was tremendous!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurie Meiring, Marketing at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear PaulieTraveller, Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review, we cannot wait to welcome you back.
Read more
LondonWolfeee wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom245 contributions232 helpful votes
Not even a year old. Good breakfast choice. No meeting rooms with daylight. Branded room design with open spaces and no cupboards. Front office staff needs more training. Placed in a well commercial area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zizipho Hani, Marketing at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Responded 04 Jan 2021
Dear LondonWolfee, Thank you so much for your review and constructive feedback. We appreciate the positive feedback and also the areas where we need to improve. We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Read more
Llueca wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom221 contributions50 helpful votes
I have stayed in many Marriotts and I can certainly say this has been the best one. Brand new hotel with excellent design. I want my room at home to look like one I got at this hotel! Marriott should tell us where do they buy the furniture so we can also get it! The area of Melrose is a very safe area (this is a very important point in Johannesburg) and you can walk around the streets. There’s many bars and restaurants. This hotel made me feel good and I would recommend it 100% to anyone traveling to JBurg. As constructive feedback I would like to recommend the following: - Rooms: make sure TVs have Netflix available apart from YouTube and leave more bottles of water. AC was not working properly - Gym: there were no towels and there are no machines to do leg exercises - Pool: I went every day in the morning (at around 8:30) and there was no one from the hotel. No towels available at that time. Also would be great to have a sauna and Turkish bath.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurie Meiring, Marketing at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Dear Llueca, Thank you so much for your kind review and constructive feedback. We appreciate the positive feedback and also the areas where we learn and improve. We cannot wait to welcome you back to the Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$121 - US$252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
306
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch
Which popular attractions are close to Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Nearby attractions include Johannesburg Zoo (0.3 km), Melrose Arch (0.2 km), and Goliath Comedy Club (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mezepoli Meze and Wine Bar, Pigalle Melrose Arch, and Mr George.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Johannesburg Marriott Hotel Melrose Arch?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.