We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clico Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Snaptravel
US$264
View Deal
eDreams
US$234
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/02
Agoda.com
US$291
US$178
View Deal
SAVE US$113
Free cancellation until 21/08/04
Hotels.comUS$245
Trip.comUS$229
Prestigia.comUS$291
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/01/11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Clico Boutique Hotel
Updated 21/01/11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 93 hotels in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Dutch, Xhosa and 1 more
326Reviews6Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 56
  • 15
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robin wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
I recently got engaged at Clico hotel and it was a lovely experience. It was one of the only hotels in the area that was open for business during the lockdown. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and has a homey feel. We enjoyed an intimate dining room with a fireplace and the music created a romantic ambiance. The food was delicious, except the fettuccine was very much underdone, not al dente. No vegan options so we had to settle for vegetarian, which was quite disappointing considering it's 2020. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Sibusiso, the waiter, went out of his way to make the day extra special. It would have been a 5 if not for the hard pasta but otherwise, a very pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Wheeler, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Dear rmithcel2, Thank you for your feedback and the fair score. Really great to have you join us for such a special occasion, and congratulations on the engagement. It is fantastic to hear the the staff and especially Sibusiso took such great care of you, however it is disappointing to hear about the pasta being underdone. We do cater for vegan dietaries under normal circumstances, but due to the current situation we as a country find ourselves in, we have a limited menu available, however, should we have known we would have gladly catered according to you needs. Trust we get to welcome you back at another time. Kind Regards Jaco Wheeler
Read more
Patricia2004 wrote a review Mar 2020
Perth, Australia71 contributions19 helpful votes
I stayed 2 nights at this peaceful and quiet boutique hotel. My room was beautiful, the staff were friendly and helpful, the location was excellent and dinner and breakfast were very good. Their driver picked me up at the Airport. I was travelling solo on my way to joining a group in Botswana, and was a little nervous about being in a Johannesburg on my own. The staff at Clico made me feel comfortable and gave me helpful advice re walking around the local area. The reality of staying at Clico matched their website - photos are accurate and the suggested “ Things to do in Joberg” is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco W, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2020
Dear Patricia2004, Thank you for your great feedback. It is lovely hearing how you enjoyed Clico and that the staff took such good care of you, exactly the experience we pride ourselves in offering our guests. We trust you get to visit us again in the very near future. Kind Regards
Read more
normanhnb wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed at the Clico Boutique at the end of a two week tour around Kruger, Eswatini and the Drakenburg Mountains. The hotel is an oasis of luxury in a busy and safe area of town. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Dinner and Breakfast were beautiful. The room was very clean and tidy with a shared balcony looking over the swimming pool, where we sat to watch the sun go down. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco W, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear normanhnb, What a magical review to read first thing in the morning. Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, is seems that you got the experience exactly what service we at Clico pride our-self on delivering. We hope that you return to Clico in the very near future. Kind Regards Jaco Wheeler
Read more
jboer950805 wrote a review Feb 2020
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia1 contribution
A very nice boutique hotel about 15 minutes walk from the Gautrain which is an excellent way to travel from the airport to Rosebank via Sandton. It was quiet, clean, nice outlook over the garden and pool. Staff are fabulous. Restaurant is a pleasant space with good food and attentive service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from JacoWheeler, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Good day jboer950805, Thank you for the review on your recent stay. We enjoyed having you at Clico and that you joined our Valentines dinner. Your feedback has been shared with the team, and I am proud to hear the staff took such great care of you. Looking forward to your next visit when you come back to Johannesburg. Kind Regards Jaco Wheeler
Read more
Kayl_D wrote a review Feb 2020
545 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
This is a very nice and quaint hotel with a delightful and welcoming staff. The location is amazing. Less than 10 minute walk to Rosebank mall with great restaurants and shopping. After checking in I was taken to my room which was spacious. The bathroom didn't have a door, so alot of light came through in the morning and with it being close to the front door and reception area you can hear noise from people coming in and out. I asked to be changed to a room with a bathroom door and they accommodated the request. Although I didn't dine at the restaurant, it looked very nice and was always busy. Since it is a small hotel, noise easily carries from the courtyard when guests are lounging. The shower was very small and tight. The AC unit was loud so difficult to rest while having it on. I had a good experience here. I'd probably choose a different hotel based on my preferences to accommodate late check outs and a few additional amenities, but all in all a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from JacoWheeler, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear Kayl_D, Thank you very much for the feedback. We appreciate your honest and fair score and have shared the details of your experience with the team. Wishing you a happy week. Kind Regards Jaco Wheeler
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clico Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Clico Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Mall of Rosebank (0.2 km), African Craft Market of Rosebank (0.6 km), and Rosebank Sunday Market (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clico Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Clico Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Clico Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clico Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clico Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grillhouse Rosebank, The Local Grill, and Clico Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clico Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Clico Boutique Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Clico Boutique Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clico Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clico Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Clico Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Dutch, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.