We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
13 5th Street Houghton, Johannesburg 2198 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (51)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (6)

About

#54 of 401 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Foxwood House is stylish and unpretentious. Antique furniture with Wi-Fi and all the modern conveniences. We offer a warm caring service, respectful of our guests' privacy. Conference venues for small to larger groups; superb traditional cuisine; 9 garden suites, 2 in the old manor house; weekend theatre. In large grounds, surrounded by lush gardens and ancient trees. We have swans, ducks, peacocks and Simon, a loving German Shepherd. Centrally situated, close to the M1 freeway connecting Johannesburg with Pretoria. A few minutes drive from the major business districts of Rosebank and Sandton.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
53Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 8
  • 7
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicola K wrote a review Oct 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa140 contributions31 helpful votes
Foxwood House is a beautiful venue to attend a conference or meeting at. The food they make is pretty good, but the highlight of the space is the incredible garden and the interesting old house. The garden makes one feel like you’re on holiday in some beautiful 19th century novel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter d, Owner at Foxwood House
Responded 14 Oct 2017
Thank you. We could not hope for a more charming description of the old manor house and gardens. As you may have guessed, some of the trees are as old as the house itself, and we cannot take the credit. Mother Nature plays a dominant role! We lift our hats to you for taking the time to compliment us, and we are delighted that you you enjoyed being here!
Read more
dansa940 wrote a review Oct 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa4 contributions
I stayed at Foxwood for six nights, and also hosted a weekend event, in September 2017. It was wonderful to be in a relaxed and rustic setting in Joburg and I was sorry to leave this sanctuary. Nikita, Dombi, Clayton and everyone were most welcoming and it was delightful to be surrounded by nature including Simone the German Shepherd, swans, ducks and peacocks. Thanks to everyone at Foxwood and hope to return 🙂
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter d, Owner at Foxwood House
Responded 12 Oct 2017
Recognition is so welcome and so much appreciated - in any walk of life and also in ours. Not to mention Simon's response to an extra long walk as reward! Nikita and all the Foxwood staff enjoy so much receiving such a kind note. Thank you.
Read more
684basild wrote a review Sep 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
You would never say that there is naturally beautiful and tranquil environment. situated in-between a residential area, until you have been there too experience it. The Staff is friendly , service excellent and the preservation of the historical heritage makes it even more amazing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter d, Owner at Foxwood House
Responded 04 Oct 2017
Our most sincere thanks! Good service is always a two-way affair between us and our most treasured asset - our clients!
Read more
andriaan414 wrote a review Apr 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Foxwood House: I don’t normally write to TripAdvisor. As I told the following story to my wife she urged me to respond to what we perceive as undeserved comment,. As I opened TripAdvisor I stumbled over an unfair review from a female who stayed at Foxwood the same night as I did. I was waiting for a guest in the entrance when I overheard the following conversation: The manager on duty was on the telephone with the Johannesburg water department. He was obviously very upset as he realized the situation: The water was supposed to be running at that time. It was 18:00: No estimate time was given to him. According to the water dept a pipe had again burst. Foxwood House had extra personnel on duty to supply buckets of borehole water to all rooms needed right through the night. With
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter d, Owner at Foxwood House
Responded 06 Apr 2017
We at Foxwood House appreciate the time and effort that went into your review more than we can ever express. The charm of the place is something quite unique in the world of hospitality, and your keen observation and pleasure you derived from your visit are a great motivation to us to offer ever more. Thank you.
Read more
707mandiec wrote a review Mar 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Staff was great, they however neglected to mention that there was no water since days before we arrived. Television did not work and milk was placed in a open coffee mug. Support staff was wonderful and the atmosphere and gardens was delightful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter d, Owner at Foxwood House
Responded 02 Apr 2017
Thank you for your feedback. I deeply regret that milk was offered in a coffee jug, and we are aware of a TV set not working on arrival in one of the suites. We did manage to sort it out within two hours. I am afraid it is totally incorrect that we had had no water for several days before your arrival on Wednesday. It was on Wednesday - the day of your arrival - that we were informed that the Johannesburg metro council would be cutting off the water supply to an entire swathe of suburbs in the northern part of Johannesburg - on that very day! And they council did, to our surprise not only for the whole day but also for the entire night, right through till the next day. We had had no prior warning of this, and as you know staff had to run around with buckets of water filling up cisterns and baths all day and night. (We are grateful that we in the fortunate position to have borehole water for our gardens.) It is truly a misunderstanding that we had had no water for days on end before your arrival. It may have arisen as the water had been cut off the previous Saturday and Sunday. We did discuss this, and it may have created the impression that there had been no water continuously for days before your arrival. It was not the case. The water supply was totally normal the Monday and Tuesday before your arrival, and we had no way suspecting that it would be cut off AGAIN on Wednesday. I hope I did not bore you with this extended apology! But your happiness and satisfaction are ours, and I would hate to think that we would ever intentionally inconvenience a guest. Believe me, sincerely, Pieter
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing