Southern Sun Rosebank

Cnr Tyrwhitt & Sturdee Ave Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132 South Africa
Traveller (365)
Panorama at the Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (74)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 05 May
Breakfast included
R 1 503
Fully refundable before Sun, 05 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
R 1 503
Fully refundable before Wed, 01 May
Breakfast included
R 1 470
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#21 of 80 hotels in Johannesburg
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Southern Sun Rosebank is situated in one of Johannesburg’s most exclusive suburbs, this stylish hotel is the perfect base for both leisure and corporate travellers. Ideally located within walking distance of the Rosebank Gautrain Station and Rosebank Mall precinct with various shops and restaurants. The hotel boasts 318 stylish bedrooms and 9 world class conference facilities that can host up to 300 delegates. Our unique new dining experience, The Grill Jichana boasts flame-grilled superior cuts of meat, The Circle Bar & Lounge is the best place for cocktails and craft beers. Come and see what all the excitement is about.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
874Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 298
  • 361
  • 132
  • 47
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Preegan P wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The overall experience was one of poor service delivery, Small bath rooms, Slow dinning service , No major variety on the menu. Standard Breakfast buffet style served, Two onion rings received with meals for supper. WIFI was brilliant and nice pool.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from muhammad_rawat, Manager at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Preegan Thank you for your recent visit to the Southern Sun Rosebank and for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I would like to apologize for the poor levels of service received and we will use these comments to better on our service delivery. The onion rings are seen more as a garnish than a side dish when served a main meal. These comments have been presented to our Head Chef who will further evaluate this. We are however delighted that the WiFi has met expectations and that you enjoyed our pool facility. Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saajidah wrote a review Jun 2022
South Africa38 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was on a business trip with my 4 month old baby, right from the beginning, the staff were very friendly and quite accommodating. Musa at reception made sure we were comfortable throughout the stay, the hotel provided us not only with a cot, but they added a baby towel and reciever, which I thought was quite thoughtful.
Breakfast was amazing, because I only eat halaal, the chef was very accommodating and had made my eggs separately. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madeleine Roux, Owner at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear business traveler, We are so pleased that the team and services met with your expectations. We thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary review, and look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antoinette wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel management and staff provided a lovely & convenient setting for friends and family to gather to celebrate Nina's bridal shower.
Starting with the Kitchen Tea on the upper level of the restaurant, providing a space seperate from other guest yet allowing personal decor to be set up and for the guest to enjoy a great breakfast.
Tranquel rooms were available in which friends & family could visit, followed by a shuttle service early evenung to a nearby entertainment establishment - Beefcakes.

To Madeleine Roux & your friendly & efficient team, thank you for going out of your way to make the Bridal Shower so enjoyable for us all!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madeleine Roux, Owner at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Dear Antoinette, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The kind feedback has been shared with our team, and it will most certainly keep them motivated and inspired to deliver on exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming your family back to Southern Sun Rosebank. Yours sincerely Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert A wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived to be told the phones weren’t working. When enquiring about room service was told it was available but I would have to come downstairs to order it.

Then found no lifts working. After enquiring from a rather disinterested staff member I was told I could use the staff lift. He then disappeared behind an unmarked door which evidently lead to the said lift. This was in a gloomy space with lights flickering on and off and filled with various bits of kitchen apparatus. It then opened upstairs to another gloomy foyer crowded with old beds.
The lift descended first to the basement where it got stuck but where another helpful staff member explained that by putting a piece of paper into the gap near the door it could be forced open. This happened twice which was rather disconcerting.

I reported this to management who seemed untroubled by these issues.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from muhammad_rawat, Manager at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear RobertA5314 Thank you for your recent visit to the Southern Sun Rosebank and for your time in sharing your experience with us. The Hotels telephone system was hit by a lightning strike which prompted an emergency replacement of all the telephones in the hotel. This has now been resolved. The Elevators have also been a constant problem and they are being replaced as we speak. The replacement of the elevators are scheduled for completing in the next 7 weeks. I would like to apologize and make up for the inconvenience and request if you please contact me directly on the details below . Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On the second day of our stay at the Southern Sun Rosebank, we discovered that money was missing out of our money belts which had been stored in our room safe. We knew precisely how much rand we had arrived with and how much we had spent and there was a definite discrepancy in the amount remaining. This disturbing matter was brought to the attention of the manager, after a sleepless night, and given to the head of a security company hired to keep the hotel safe and secure. We were assured that no one, apart from the security company's head man, could possibly have gotten into the safe. Well, that is not true! We are very precise people who keep close tabs and written records of our expenditures and the money was definitely missing. The matter is currently in the hands of our tour group company (they are awaiting the outcome of a polygraph test of the housekeeper), but we certainly learned an important lesson about thievery. Check to see that your room safe is bolted down, don't allow anyone entry to your room, hang a "Do not disturb sign" on your door, take all your valuables with you and lock up your luggage! Quite the welcome to South Africa after travelling half way around the world to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anthony Da Silva, Other at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 02 Nov 2023
Dear E8130ALdianem, As you have mentioned in your review the matter is currently being investigated and for that reason, I will not respond on the comments made on this review at this point. We will be in communication with your tour group company in due course. Thank you. Anthony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Imraan wrote a review Dec 2022
Mpumalanga, South Africa3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Tried booking a room online - It gave a price but when I tried confirming system was under maintenance.

I called reservation got the same rate however on check-in Jones said I would have to pay for 1 breakfast as only 1 breakfast was included.

I said this does not make sense but Jones insisted I would have to pay 1 breakfast.
I threatened to cancel and leave and suddelnly it was fine - I did not have to pay.

Reception decor was extremely nice, modern and inviting.

The passage leading to the room was a bit scary and intimadationg.

The room itself was as expected but the batheroom was tiny for a 4* hotel.
I have stayed in stay easy hotels with bigger bathrroms.

If you wanted to take a shower you would need to take it in the tub buth glass is too short so there was a lot of water on the floor after the shower.

Breakfast staff were pleasant and friendly. Variety was limited compared to sister hotel Garden courts.

My recomdation is too look for other options before booking this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Be vigilant about what is included or excluded from the rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madeleine Roux, Owner at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Dear Sir, We noted that your points raised during your stay and thank you for trusting us enough to resolve these. Yours sincerely Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Food Adventures wrote a review Jul 2022
Cannon Rocks, South Africa22 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was no hot water in the shower, room was dusty, coffee box half empty, was no cups , carpets are very dirty, full of gigant dark steins ,hair in the shower , brown drops in bathroom furniture, very hot aircon ,was blocked, couldn't change temperature, was no possible open window, even litlle bit , very claustrophobic and dirty room space , room service very bed ,my chiken sandwich was empty ... don't know where the chicke went .... ? So far The worst hotel in Johannesburg I've been.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madeleine Roux, Owner at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking my call earlier. I wish to apologize for the experience you had at Southern Sun Rosebank. This is most certainly is not our standard. There is no excuse for the hair in the shower, and the room service delivery which both have been addressed with the team. Unfortunately our vanities are showing stains which we are unable to remove and this together with new carpets and AC units were addressed in the room refurbishment due to start in April 2020, which sadly was halted due to Covid-19. We understand that it creates a perception that it is dirty. With regards to the hot water, unfortunately we cannot increase it past 60 degrees as it would not be safe. It is unfortunate that we could not correct these matters during your stay as this is how we are able to make your stay more enjoyable and meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Kind regards Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ksegotso wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Generally good, reception area is so welcoming. The kitchen was at its busiest and therefore the staff or waiters could not give everybody their undivided attention. the was one chef who was rude and communicated to us in Isizulu though we indicated to her that we were foreigners.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from muhammad_rawat, Manager at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 01 Mar 2020
Dear ksegotso Thank you for your recent visit to the Southern Sun Rosebank. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we look to welcome your return. Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karoleigh wrote a review Jan 2024
North Carolina3,321 contributions526 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s not the most elegant hotel I have ever stayed at. However, the location, the staff, the food, the gym, and the swimming pool area make it a very nice hotel.

We came here to be with a Gate 1 tour. One of the first things we noticed on our first day here was how cordial the staff was. They really seem to like their job and the people they serve. My only criticism of the staff is the fact that there was apparently no communication between the reception and the maid. The maid came to clean up our room and then said that she was not going to clean it because we were checking out. We informed her that we were actually here for three nights, not one night.

The room is fairly nice. It has a comfortable king-sized bed and other furnishings that are typical of hotels. The bathroom is tiny, but manageable. My only criticism of the room is that the outlets I wanted to use for plugging in my phone with a two-prong European plug did not seem to work. They were nice to me at the front desk and let me borrow theirs until I could go and buy a three-prong one.

Breakfast was very good. They had a buffet breakfast, but they also brought you a menu sheet where you could order an omelette and other things. We considered that there was good variety to the menu.

There is a lovely pool with a good sized pool deck. The chairs had comfortable pillows and umbrellas for shade. The gym is well equipped with free weights and typical gym equipment.

The location is excellent. A five minute walk leads you to a very large shopping mall. It is very modern and has many of the stores that we have come to know at home. You can probably buy just about anything at this mall. We ate lunch at the Woolworths Café yesterday and bought some food for lunch at the grocery store today.

We have had a happy experience here
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anthony Da Silva, Other at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Dear karoleigh, Thank you for the visit and the review. We truley appreciate guest feedback. We are thrilled that you had a great time with us and have shared your feedback with our various teams. Im also happy to share that we are undertaking an upgrade on our guest bedrooms this year and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the new look and feel. All the best Anthony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
j0ba39 wrote a review Aug 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom39 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Last night before flying back to UK and we booked this hotel.

Secure parking (additional cost R50 for 24 hours)

Really lovely room.

Had dinner in - nice restaurant that filled quite quickly and good food,

Staff lovely throughout.

Really nice hotel.

Concierge service book tours - I’ll try and review the Soweto tour separately but R1150 per person for a 3-4 hour private guided tour. Our driver Kay was knowledgeable and friendly. Glad we decided to do it as we didnt have the time for the hop on/off service.

Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madeleine Roux, Owner at Southern Sun Rosebank
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Dear UK traveler, We appreciate your kind feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at Grill Jichana. Thank you for recommending us. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma G asked a question Feb 2023
Llanelli, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served please?
Answer from Muhammad R
Hello Mutisyaja The hotel has upgraded its Wi-Fi in January of 2020. on average you should receive between a 2 and 5mb upload and download speed. The hotel currently has a 100mb fiber line servicing the guest Wi-Fi. We can also provide a designated line for your use. If you do require this service please do ask for me at Reception. We look to welcome you to the Southern Sun Rosebank Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat
Sipho S asked a question Feb 2020
Bryanston, South Africa90 contributions38 helpful votes
Is this place suitable to study? I need a quiet place to study for 10days
Answer from muhammad_rawat
Johannesburg, South Africa
Hi siphos546 The hotel does get quite busy during weekdays there is the Zen Garden as well as the swimming pool which may be used for your task. Please do contact the hotel should you require any further information Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat
Asif asked a question Feb 2020
West Midlands, United Kingdom6,319 contributions
Is this hotel no longer a Crowne Plaza? presumably no longer part of IHG at all?
Answer from muhammad_rawat
Johannesburg, South Africa
Good Day The Hotel has changed the name to Southern Sun Rosebank and Is now apart of the Tsogo Sun Brand Regards Muhammad
sophiiannab asked a question Feb 2020
Geneva, Switzerland25 contributions16 helpful votes
What size is the swimming pool?
Answer from muhammad_rawat
Johannesburg, South Africa
Good Day The swimming pool at the Southern Sun Rosebank is 8 x 6 meters. The pool is situated outdoors and is not heated. It is open from sunrise to sunset. Kind Regards Muhammad Rawat
1957 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Ottawa, Canada784 contributions310 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is not heated."
Read full review
Diane M wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!"
Read full review
Aldridge M wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fix your rooms "
Read full review
Imraan wrote a tip Dec 2022
Mpumalanga, South Africa3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be vigilant about what is included or excluded from the rates"
Read full review
Jackson Mutisya wrote a tip Jun 2021
Langata, Kenya261 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room service and Laundry if in a hurry. Tea, especially if East or West Africa (even British). This is not tea. Please order coffee or chocolate and you will be fine🙃"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johannesburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,265 - R 1,476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza johannesburg - the rosebank hotel rosebank
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
318
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUTHERN SUN ROSEBANK - Now R 1 207 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶3̶5̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Johannesburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Southern Sun Rosebank
Which popular attractions are close to Southern Sun Rosebank?
Nearby attractions include African Craft Market of Rosebank (0.4 km), The Mall of Rosebank (0.4 km), and Rosebank Sunday Market (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Southern Sun Rosebank?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Southern Sun Rosebank?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Southern Sun Rosebank?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Southern Sun Rosebank?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grillhouse Rosebank, Tashas Rosebank, and Marble Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Southern Sun Rosebank?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Southern Sun Rosebank have airport transportation?
Yes, Southern Sun Rosebank offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Southern Sun Rosebank?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Southern Sun Rosebank offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Southern Sun Rosebank?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Southern Sun Rosebank?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (5.0 km), Johannesburg Fort (5.0 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (2.0 km).
All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JohannesburgHotels near Southern Sun Rosebank
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire