Ninety North Guest House

Ninety North Guest House

90 North Street Ferndale, Johannesburg 2194 South Africa
My broken nail at Ninety North thanks to Lulu and her sidekick!
Traveller (1)
patio dining
Dining (8)
My broken nail at Ninety North thanks to Lulu and her sidekick!
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#34 of 146 guest houses in Johannesburg
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4 En suite bedrooms plus one single self contained studio available in a garden villa in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. Queen, king and twin bedded suites available. Sumptuous breakfast served each morning - dinner on request - and tea and coffee available all day.Close to highway access, central to Randburg, Sandton, Cresta and Cocoa Cola Dome at Northgate. 20 Minutes to Sandton and 30 minutes from Jhb city centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa
50Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
FiornaKroger wrote a review Oct 2019
Bryanston
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a classy Guest House! Friendly but not obtrusive owner and staff, who provide great service-with-a-smile! Owner Lynda provides impeccable facilities, and has obviously selected her staff with much care to ensure guests lack for nothing! A beautiful property, and earns a perfect 5-star review from me! Fiorna Kroger
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Thank you Fiorna! I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and I will pass on your message to the staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
surojitb532 wrote a review Jun 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 3 nights, very good place for a short business trip,
Ninety North is calm, clean and quite guest house with welcoming and accommodating staff around who will make your stay comfortable,
thank you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FilmPrOductiOn_9 wrote a review Jul 2009
Cape Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is definitely a gem in Johannesburg, I would recommended this place for anyone, being it business or leisure. We were doing a documentary on the British Irish Lions tour to South Africa, we actually used 90 North Guest house as one of our filming Locations as well, the staff and owners where extremely pleasant and helpful, the met everyone of our needs spot on.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shaquillauchande wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place was Great, more then the picture shows, it was calm, private with the sound of nature, the view we had from our room was amazing and the rain turned it magical, we enjoyed spending our weekend at Lynda's & John's House.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanineIDAConsulting wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a lovely place to have held our strategic planning sessions for our small business. Lynda and her staff were amazing and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back and would gladly recommend this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana K wrote a review Nov 2019
Beaufort West
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Ninety North on 2 of our visits to Johannesburg. It is well situated, very comfortable, nice big spacious rooms, very clean and has everything one would need. Bathroom amenities the most generous I have seen at a 4 star. Wonderful friendly hosts.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynda van Niekerk, Owner at Ninety North Guest House
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thank you Diana, for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time and hope that once Covid-19 is a thing of the past, that you will come to stay again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
omsyka wrote a review Oct 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ninety North Guesthouse is one of the best accommodation I’ve stayed from my many travels. It’s not a house but a home from home. Apart from a good location, professional attitude of the staffs, especially the kindnesses & genuine interest that Lynda (the owner) show to her guests makes one feel so valued. The top-notch security provided to keep all guests safe is solid & makes guests to be very comfortable. The quietness of the guesthouse & food served is exceptional. I can rave and never stop. The rooms are spacious, neat & clean with modern amenities. The bedsheets are supple & therapeutic! The beauty of the well maintained building is just too good to believe. 90-North, is simply one of the best & I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a short or long stay in JHB. This guesthouse will make you a believer! Many thanks to Lynda & her staffs for an excellent services. Finally, I found a suitable accommodation to stay in, whenever I’m in JHB!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House
Responded 22 Oct 2019
Thank you Bejay for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and I hope that you will return again and again. I appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to recommend us! Lynda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandrine wrote a review Oct 2019
Benoni, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Wedding 05/10/2019
My best friend had her wedding at this venue and we had the most fabulous time. The owner is amazing but her helpers/maids Lulu and I forgot the other lady's name were awful. They insisted in speaking to me and everyone in xhosa and zulu and carried on like this the whole time. When asked for their assistance in setting up up the venue, there was a lot of resistance and they kept saying the owner doesn't want the place like this, had to basically move furnitures around myself which resulted in me breaking my freshly manicured nails, not a pleasant look for the matron of honor! When having breakfast, it felt like a self-catering/self service mode. There was no teas or coffee served on the table. I had to make myself and some of my friends filter coffee because the ladie there wouldn't make any for us, they even went as far as removing the Arabian coffee beans when I asked for it. These two ladies were extremely rude, We had a bottle of sparkling wine in their fridge the night of the wedding, and when all the guess had left, we had planned to have the wine, they locked us out of their room and wouldn't open, they completely ignored us. The next day, it was gone and I know for certain none of the of us took it). I had also asked them to service the groom and his best man's room before their arrival in preparation for the wedding but all they did was pull up the curtains, they didnt make the bed or change towels or vacuum the carpets, it's like we had to do everything ourselves. No warm water on the table for tea, bread was not warm, breakfast took forever to be served, had to make my coffee, my friend had to bring her own coffee from home as they had given us the impression that there was no coffee. Those two ladies were wicked pretending as if they were taking our instructions when their boss arrived. If it wasn't for the wedding, I was going to loose my cool but had to contain myself. They were deliberately doing things to piss us off. They went on gossiping about us in xhosa and some of our guests could hear and understand and so told us. They obviously against serving black, foreign nationals, which is very sad. So in a nut shell, very poor, disgusting attitudes, unprofessional behaviour from the two women ( ladies don't behave as such) my African tradition has schooled me to call those seemingly older then me - Mama, after calling them Mama the whole day on Saturday 05/10, the asked me not to call them that on the Sunday when we were about to check out. We couldn't tip these two at the end of our stay. Although paying everything in full at the stipulated time, the service we got was poor to say the least.
@ Lynda, why wasn't there any lotions in the bathrooms?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Hello Mukaji, Firstly, my staff apologise to you personally for any misunderstanding and offense they may have given you. However, I have to state the following. My two ladies were on duty on the Saturday from 6am, as you had advised that you wanted breakfast on the wedding day at 7am (you only came at about 9am). Once breakfast was cleared, all the dining chairs were removed and the table was moved and set for your cake. This my ladies did. The groom had advised me the day before, that he wanted a couch under the kitchen window for photo shoots, but then we decided it would be better in the garden, off the patio, with plants in the background and where I strung fairy lights for extra effect. I think you wanted to change it and so my staff would have spoken against this. I understand that you also wanted to move all the chairs that were set around the boma fire, but these were left as well. I am not sure where we would have put these and I hope that they didn't spoil your photos. I have no idea how your broke a nail or what furniture you moved yourself, when there were quite a few menfolk around who could have assisted too. I was there from 9:30 and was in and out all day until 4pm, when food was starting to be served. Why did you not speak to me direct? We interacted a lot and I had complimented you on your event organising skills! My ladies ALWAYS and without reservation ask if you would like tea or coffee at breakfast time. This is made fresh for you and tea is served in a teapot to the table. We do not put hot water on the table as a matter of course, but this may be an expectation - you only had to ask. Eggs are cooked fresh to order. The bottle of bubbly that I provided, which was for your following morning's breakfast, was taken out of the kitchen fridge. I do not know about any bubbly that you may have put there and I do not know who took the bottles. My ladies do not drink ANY alcohol, so I would imagine that the wedding guests went hunting for drink and helped themselves. My housekeepers helped during the wedding reception, serving food and clearing up the entire afternoon and evening. They eventually went off duty at 9:30pm, having cleared the living room ready to set breakfast for you the next day - and went to bed exhausted after being on duty for fifteen and a half hours. The venue was booked and paid for 7 hours from ceremony time (3 to 10pm) but with you staying over for the wedding night, the party came indoors. I think it would not be fair to be trying to wake up the housekeepers to serve you further! I stand by the fact that they locked you out of their room! Because of the budget, i did not add a breakages deposit and fortunately no hired glassware was broken. However, the black hair treatment/dies used by a guest ruined towels and pillow cases, which costs I have now absorbed. With regard to the groom's preparation room, the bride brought an extra guest who slept in that room on the Friday night. The housekeepers went in, made the bed, cleaned the bathroom and changed the towels, washed the cups and ensured that it was clean and ready for the groom and his best man. They did not deem it necessary to vacuum due to the busyness of the day ahead. Each of our bathrooms have the following items for guest use: bars of soap, liquid soap, hand cream/body lotion (in a 200ml pump bottle), shampoo, conditioner, vanity kit and sewing kit. I am perplexed as to why your bathroom did not have a hand lotion and apologise if it was not there. We host many foreign nationals at Ninety North, who are warmly welcomed and I can only apologise that offences were taken, when none was meant. I have advised the staff that they are to only speak English in future, and not to take offense if guests call them "mama". My staff have been with me since 2007 and are devastated having worked so long and hard for the wedding weekend but I have asked them to try to be more flexible and not to try to learn different languages from the guests. Lynda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Silvia d wrote a review Oct 2019
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a lovely wedding here and absolutely loved the venue but I rated it poorly because the staff were not friendly and all the guests who stayed over said the same thing. I had a cousin who came from Mozambique but kept being addressed in Zulu which is unacceptable.They just assumed everyone understood and were always moody.During breakfast you'd never find a pot of coffee or even a simple thing like a jug of water, I had to ask for water to be served on the table, there was just juice. I would never go there again simply because of the staff. The service was awful
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndavan, Owner at Ninety North Guest House
Responded 09 Oct 2019
Hi Silvia, I am so sorry that you found our staff to be unfriendly as I have never had such a complaint before in the 12 years of employing them both. We make coffee and serve as you order - and the filter coffee pot stays hot in the machine in the kitchen. It is rare to put water on a breakfast table - but you only had to ask and I am sure it was served to you immediately. I did have a complimentary bottle of bubbly for your following day's breakfast, but wedding guests had helped themselves to it from our kitchen fridge during your celebration. Did you advise my staff to rather speak English? They are both Xhosa ladies and will be devastated to receive such a poor review, especially as they had advised me that they had chatted each morning with you in the most friendly manner and even joked about learning a different language with your guests. However, I hear you and will advise them accordingly not to automatically speak Zulu. I do hope that you were happy with your wedding arrangements, enjoyed the free night's accommodation and continental breakfast I gave to you and your bridesmaid for the night before and all the preparation and set up that was done for your wonderful day. What a pity that a jug of water and no coffee pot has deemed just a two star rating for what was a great success otherwise. You do have my apologies and my staff's apologies if you found them not friendly, and perhaps the fact that my one lady is dealing with the rape of her 13 year old daughter, stopped her from wearing a permanent smile. Lynda
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
219info wrote a review Aug 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service and the turn around time was fabulous. It was a short notice but she accommodated our guest. Slept peacefully like a baby. Well done Ninety North will definitely refer guest to you guys.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Lyndavan
Johannesburg54 contributions13 helpful votes
Hello, Sorry but we are not a party venue, being in the suburbs - and 60 people is too many for our intimate venue. Sorry to disappoint. we normally do very small garden weddings and elopements.
Illse N wrote a tip Nov 2016
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa51 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a self-catering suite for guests who want to be self-suficient"
Read full review
Tom G wrote a tip Oct 2012
Kolbotn, Akershus, Norway1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I stayed in room 2 and was very happy with it. I suspect all rooms are equally good. No traffic noise at all."
Read full review
Karen B wrote a tip Mar 2012
Spring Hill, Florida5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don't think there is a bad room in the entire villa. A business associate went with us and stayed in another room at the same villa and his room was just as wonderful as ours. The grounds around the villa are quite lovely and we enjoyed sitting out on the patio watching the birds and enjoying the breeze. This place is marvelous and the staff so friendly and nice."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johannesburg area.
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NINETY NORTH GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Johannesburg, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ninety North Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Ninety North Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Liliesleaf (7.9 km), Monte Casino (7.9 km), and Montecasino (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ninety North Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ninety North Guest House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, extra long beds, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Ninety North Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ninety North Guest House?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ninety North Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ghazal, Cafe del Sol Classico, and Mozambik Randpark Ridge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ninety North Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ninety North Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Ninety North Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (14.4 km), Johannesburg Fort (14.7 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (11.5 km).
All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JohannesburgHotels near Ninety North Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire