We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Max Executive Apartments

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (56)
Dining (17)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 apartment in Illovo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
MAX Executive Apartments offer a range of furnished, self-catering apartments for shorty stays or long term rentals. The amenities are provided to make the trip a comfortable and productive one for any business traveler, whether it be for a quick trip, or someone staying for a long term contract.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
191Reviews2Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 46
  • 12
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Amatullah_2000 ❣ wrote a review Dec 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa56 contributions56 helpful votes
Max Executive should rather change their name. There's nothing Executive about it AT ALL, besides the service from staff. Rooms are pathetic. Dirty and dusty carpets in the corridor. The apartments have really gone down and not well maintained. Smelly rooms, dirty linen, clogged shower drains, coakroach infested rooms, filthy damp furniture. Bedding is worth a 1 star hotel. No aircons. Plenty of flying insects all over. Litter and beer cans thrown aroind the pool area. I would never book again here, even by mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rio wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
Bed sheets were full of hair. The entire floor was filthy with hair. Couches were stained. Stains on my pillows. And it’s basically a shebeen. People screaming outside your room at 1 am. It’s horrible. Hated it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Max Apartments, Marketing at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Dear Valued guest, We would like to send our sincere apologies for the experience you had during your stay with us. At Max we strive to maintain a high level of cleanliness and professionalism, we have investigated the incident and have established where the breakdown in communication happened that lead to a check-in at an apartment that was not ready to be occupied. We would like the opportunity to improve your experience with us and will contact you directly in this regard. Kind regards, Max Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nyeuvo Amukushu wrote a review Mar 2020
Windhoek, Namibia111 contributions4 helpful votes
The executive two-bedroom apartment has E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G that you need while away from home, had a 4 night stay. Close to Sandton and Rosebank. Bathtubs are a thing for me and it exceeded my expectations. My unit had a dishwasher, a flat-screen TV and a washing machine. The on-site laundry lady was a tremendous help, fast working and very cheerful. Noisy morning due to traffic. Top notch security.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NashManz, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Nyeuwo, Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you.We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on all the issues you mentioned.Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gerry C wrote a review Jan 2020
York, United Kingdom342 contributions165 helpful votes
Stayed at WeStay Max Apartments for 6 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The location was perfect for the Wanderers cricket stadium, which was the purpose of our visit. Overall, our stay was decent. Very clean, lovely bed linens and roomy. The showers were massive with big rain shower heads. The water was always hot. On the downside, one of the mattresses was old and saggy and very uncomfortable. However, the other bedroom had a very comfortable mattress. The sofa was very cheap and extremely uncomfortable and there were no cushions. Security of the property was very good and always felt safe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NashManz, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 09 Feb 2020
Dear Gerry C, Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on all the issues you mentioned. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lesoetsa2019 wrote a review Jan 2020
Maseru, Lesotho1 contribution
A very comfortable, secure, clean and strategically located apartment with very good wi-fi. At the heart of Sandton, its proximity to all major points of interest ranging from shopping malls to business centres makes this location fantastic to be based at during your stay in the city. You can even share the cost when travelling in couples. 100% recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Lesoetsa, Thank you for the kind words! We’re so happy your stay at WeStay Max apartments went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who visit Sandton? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome guests like you. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Glyn wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia387 contributions226 helpful votes
These apartments have all you need including a washing machine/dryer which was unexpected but very welcomed! Comfortable bed and good Wi-Fi. Very secure and only a short walk to some restaurants and shops
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Glyn, Thank you for the great review! We’re so happy you loved our apartments and we are looking forward to welcome you back again in future at WeStay Max .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nimble1965 wrote a review Dec 2019
Horsham, United Kingdom55 contributions21 helpful votes
I have stayed at this property eight times this year. It has become my home during my numerous visits to Johannesburg. My room is well appointed , clean and comfortable. The ladies on reception are always professional, helpful and friendly. The star for me is happiness who looks after my laundry and ironing. Great location, great value and great staff. Can not recommend enough. See you in 2020
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 02 Dec 2019
Dear Nimble, Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
amasin348097 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Since this property is now under We Stay the management is poor, the previous companies offered professional management of these properties now its going down. Pool was not working even on the other property they manage at West point executive suites it was also not working, my room had a squeaky old bed
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Amasin, Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of our company. I am very sorry to learn that your experience with us, was less than adequate. Our hotel has always taken pride in ensuring that our guests have the feeling of it being at home away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality service delivery. We take our guests and their well-being seriously and hope to meet our guest’s expectations and we have failed greatly on this occasion. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. It will help us improve our operations and services. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on all the issues you mentioned.! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thompson C wrote a review Oct 2019
Porto Alegre, RS142 contributions17 helpful votes
The only restriction is the Wi-Fi that’s awful...excellent localization, excellent staff, fantastic accommodations (a lot of space and all equipments new, housekeepers works really good, complete kitchen,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 22 Oct 2019
Dear Thompson, Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us, and we will work on the issue you mentioned! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ash P wrote a review Oct 2019
Preston, United Kingdom32 contributions10 helpful votes
Large 2 bedroomed apartment which was clean and well equipped. Situated in Illova and very close toSandton mall. Small mall close by with excellent bars and restaurants. Would recommend the Fish Monger for evening meals. Large menu and food excellent at affordable prices. The staff at the Max Suites were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for looking after us during our 2 night stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela1Niemand, Guest Relations Manager at Max Executive Apartments
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Ash P, Thank you very much for the 5 star review.We work hard to meet expectations like yours. Please like our facebook page WeStay South Africa to receive content updates and promotions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Illovo area.
PRICE RANGE
R 878 - R 1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandtonIllovo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAX EXECUTIVE APARTMENTS - Now R 1 145 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶7̶4̶7̶) - Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Illovo, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Max Executive Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Max Executive Apartments?
Nearby attractions include HintHunt (0.2 km), Bidvest Wanderers Stadium (0.9 km), and Discovery Soccer Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Max Executive Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Max Executive Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Max Executive Apartments?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Max Executive Apartments?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Max Executive Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fishmonger (Illovo), Turn 'n Tender Steakhouse Illovo, and Bellagio Illovo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Max Executive Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Max Executive Apartments have airport transportation?
Yes, Max Executive Apartments offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Max Executive Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Illovo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Max Executive Apartments?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Max Executive Apartments offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.